We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Duckworth Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Duckworth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Duckworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

So I made my way to St. John's recently and I booked in for two nights at the Duckworth Hotel. At first glance I thought, oh no what have I done, but I stuck with it and followed the instructions on entry and getting to my room, all of this a bit novel to say the least. However when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moose3737
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again.

Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The room was quite lovely, comfy bed and up to date bathroom. Very clean. Staff were wonderful and friendly. My only complaint is there is no place to get breakfast or lunch unless you went out of the hotel, albeit only next door. However, it was pouring rain and I really did not want to go out. (Not a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewyatt2016
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review!

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We couldn't ask for a better location. It was a stones throw from George Street also the room was awesome loved the comfy bed and large washroom. We stayed in the deluxe queen perfect for my husband and I! We ate at the yellow belly brewery and had the best gravy ever!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine M
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review!

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

8 nights at The Duckworth and we know we'll never stay anywhere else on future visits to St John's. We had their primo room: large with a king bed and good-sized en suite. The room might be considered a bit tawdry by Sheraton or Hilton fans but we loved it and the rate was about half what our friends were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on great service and want every guest to feel at home. I agree, we have a fantastic location, in the heart of downtown. We hope to see you on your next visit.

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We have stayed here many times and always had a good experience (in top level room). This time we were put in the queen room /private bath as requested but what a horrible experience with the main level room!!!! We checked in at 4pm to relax and get ready for dinner. The kitchen and dining area are on both sides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QueenVera
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. Having an onsite restaurant and being surrounded by other bars/restaurants will cause noise. We'd love to have you stay with us again, perhaps you could request a room on the top floor.

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I booked the hotel on expedia and got a great deal (~$86) which is great considering the hotel's location. It is very close to George Street and lots of restaurants, so it's great for a night out. Since it's an older building I think the walls are a bit thin as I could hear some noise from other rooms. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Toronto Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I stayed for a night last weekend , booked this hotel for its location , a stones throw from famous George Street , in the heart of downtown . At first was a little concerned with the procedure , of receiving the door code to enter , it was emailed to me just as stated. The room key was in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScarboroughChris
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response. We pride ourselves on our customer service and always try to make them feel welcome and at home. We hope to see you again.

Collingwood, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I've looked at a few of the negative reviews & feel I had a very different experience. I was advised in advance how the registration took place & had no difficulty at all. In fact everyone I dealt with was friendly & informative. My room, although not luxurious, was what I expected - a taste of history & I felt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly E
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are proud of our staff and I'm certain they always try to be as helpful as possible, I will pass along your comments.

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

I loved the room. 12 rooms in total. The building is over 100 years old. Had to share a washroom but no big deal there. Staff super super friendly and helpful. I left something in my room and they are holding it for me till my next visit. Which could be forever. Great rates as well

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane R
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

I arrived to a locked door. I had to ring the bell which went to a phone line where i had to leave a message. Only by luck did I check my email to find an email from the Hotel giving me a pass code to get in. No one ever called back. In fact I did not see one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
Debbie M, General Manager at Duckworth Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Because we are such a small establishment we have limited staff in our off season. However, each guest is sent detailed instructions on how to enter the building and how to reach an employee. We also have several different room types that are priced accordingly, it sounds to me like you booked an Economy...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
515 reviews
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
354 reviews
Downtown
The Franklin Hotel
The Franklin Hotel
#20 of 23 in St. John's
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hometel on Signal Hill
#8 of 23 in St. John's
182 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Downtown
Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 room boutique hotel located on one of the two main downtown city streets. Fully renovated in 2012, this property boasts the onsite award winning restaurant & bar, Magnum & Steins. Besides the convenience of this location and the onsite restaurant and bar each room amenities include mini fridge, free wireless Internet, in room coffee maker, HDTV televisions, telephones with voice mail & wake up calls, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Late check ins welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duckworth Hotel

Address: 331 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: €48 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duckworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Duckworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duckworth Hotel Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duckworth Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Senneville, Canada
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Duckworth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think all rooms come with private bathroom which for me is a must. We had a good sized room with modern spotless bathroom.”
  • Sorry about the unmade bed, but you get the idea.
 of 5 bubbles edgarg841, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for upgraded Queen room on south side.”
 of 5 bubbles nursenorah, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is parking right across the street. Restaurant is good, and there is a well known pub around the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles LoganK330, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room was on the 1st floor (no stairs to climb) but I understand things might be noisy in that room if there were many people upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ewyatt2016, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“very top floor away from the street, restaurant and kitchen noise.”
 of 5 bubbles QueenVera, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay