We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winnipeg Thriftlodge

Booking.comUS$74*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$104*
US$74*
US$104*
US$74*
US$94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Winnipeg Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Winnipeg Thriftlodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Calgary
Reviewed 29 June 2016

On the good side: the room was large and fairly clean. On the bad side: it is in a scary neighbourhood, very noisy with other guests slamming doors all night, everything had a foul odour and furnishings are extremely outdated. The waterpark was good but the front desk staff must unlock the door for you as the other doors are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freightcarr
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a no noise policy after 11pm, and if you had mentioned your issues to the front desk at the time, we may have been able to resolve your concerns. Everyone can access the pool via the front desk, where you can grab pool towels. We keep our water park very clean, and up...

The Pas, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 108stepheny
Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Water park was awesome for young kids. The pool was warm for them. Kids could have swam all day. The only downfall is the pool doesn't open till 10am and checkout is 11, so disappointed we couldn't swim in the morning. The front desk staff could have been ALOT nicer, they weren't very inviting.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T1026FRamandam
Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottlH9526OC
Thunder Bay
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This hotel seems to cater to the people that like to drink all night and make lots of noise. I could not sleep thru the yelling and running of drunk people all night; it was horrible! Not to mention the long black hairs that I found in the bathtub and bed!!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 64kenp2016
Emo, On. P0W1E0
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Room smelt bad. Like "wet dog smell". Bathroom was clean but no fan and windows were sealed unit so couldnt air out place. No coffee pot in room. Service in restaurant terrible & also lounge.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl B
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Our hotel is not sketchy...perhaps if you had let us know while you were here, we could have dealt with your concerns. Thank you and have a nice day.

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I had a room booked at Travelodge East but they don't take prepaid credit cards as payment so I called around and the Thriftlodge takes credit cards, cash or debit cards as payment. My sons really enjoyed the pool and water slide. I would definitely stay there again when I make my next trip to Winnipeg.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird61
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We hope you will choose us again on your next trip. Have a great day.

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This place was dirty, it was filled with drunks. Very scary. We ended up leaving, we couldnt stay in there. It was old and the front clerk was a jerk, When I called they told me I could bring my small dog and when I arrived it wasnt the same person and he told us it was not allowed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-lou B
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is very clean and not full of drunks. All of our other guests had a great stay, and though the hotel is not brand new, it has been re-modeled and is very modern. We are pet friendly, and there is always a fee for pets staying in rooms, with the exception of service...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Friday night staff was friendly and found us a room in the back on the 2nd floor where it was very quite, clean, not fancy very basic. It did have microwave, TV, fridge etc. The waterslides were really great, warm water and area was very clean. They also had splash pad and hot tub. Very good for children under 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day!

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Health Sciences Centre
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
511 reviews
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
672 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#52 of 63 in Winnipeg
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great people. Nice rooms. Affordable rates. We offer rooms with 1 queen size bed or 2 double size beds. Close to many attractions and shopping centers. Our indoor water park is a family favorite, also available for birthday parties, with water slides, and hot tubs, and sauna. Our cafe/restaurant is great for coffee, or a completely delicious dinner. Also, the bar and lounge offer great entertainment. We look forward to seeing you ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winnipeg Thriftlodge

Address: 1400 Notre Dame Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Price Range: €60 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Winnipeg Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnipeg Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Thrift Lodge
Thrift Lodge Winnipeg
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Winnipeg Thriftlodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Winnipeg Thriftlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best room is at a different hotel.”
Freightcarr, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dont sleep there”
marieloub543, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs back near door to bring suitcases and such in”
44cherylm, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“I would take a view of the pool. The exterior views are not great”
davidfQ9592RJ, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“check for bed bugs”
brandonwoods77, 16 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$74
CancelonUS$94
HotelQuicklyUS$104
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates