We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Marlborough Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marlborough Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marlborough Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

My sister's, cousin and I stayed at the Marlborough Hotel when we went in to Winnipeg for a concert. This hotel is in need of major renovating because it's so run down! The room was dirty totally not worth the money they charge to stay there. A lot of questionable people hanging around the outside and even inside, thank god...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackieL02
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JackieL02, Thank you for your recent review of our property I truly appreciate the feedback whether it's positive or negative. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us as we strive to ensure all guests are 100% satisfied. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of doing some major renovations...

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Was booked in here by a secretary for a conference (not going to make that mistake again). Gangs hang out right outside the lobby doors super sketchy people going through the hotel. Rooms are NOT CLEAN found hair in my bathtub and the shower was super dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jesse D, Thank you for your recent review of our property, I appreciate all feedback. Not sure about the gang reference you described as we try and keep the front of our building clear from any undesirables hanging around with 24 hour security. I have also notified my executive housekeeper about your cleanliness issues and that has been addressed...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked our stay at the Marlborough through hotels.com, we read mixed reviews but enough recent good ones to let us look passed the negative. Plus the pictures of the place were great. This place is a faded rose, a beautiful historic building now rundown and filled and surrounded with questionable characters. I'd just like to note...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Touguizi
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Touguizi, Thank you for your recent review of our property as I do take all very seriously. I can tell you that the mass amounts of people in and outside of the building were for a banquet that was taking place in one of our banquet facilities. As we don't allow smoking within the building, we do offer...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

PROS: Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, big rooms, good price, nice old school charm, clean rooms, pet friendly. CONS: Homeless clogging up lobbies/front doors. In the worst section of Winnipeg for crime (not the hotels fault, they are trying). Hotel is in slight disrepair, our room didn't have cold water only scolding hot on both taps (couldn't take shower/brush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zachary I
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zachery I, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel I certainly appreciate the feedback and I do take all comments seriously. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we consistently try to ensure all of our guests have a safe and comfortable stay with us, and it seems like we missed the...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed here while our place was being insulated. The rate was very good. Great Winnipeg location near everything downtown and walking distance to several pubs and restaurants. lots of vehicle traffic and in the area and significant pedestrian traffic. The bed was comfy, room was clean and bright, pool area was fun, bar was good, breakfast was spectacular. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnipegguys
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Winnipegguys, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate the positive feedback and I will pass along to our staff on a job well done. I look forward to your next visit with us as we continue to meet and exceed your expectations. Sincerely

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel cannot control the people outside, and while I was coming in, a man was standing in the middle of the sidewalk talking to some women. I had to squeeze past him with my luggage, and I suspect he may have not been totally alert, but did not move at all. The internet has no security so perhaps others...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMahdis
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning PMahdis, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel I truly appreciate the feedback, whether a positive or negative I take all very seriously. We are working with our IT department to offer a much safer and more dependable WiFi for our guests comfort. We are also in the process of completing our renovations to our hotel,...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

we stayed here for 3 nights this july, what a hovel, dirty rooms, bathroom fitments falling off the wall, cracked tiles , mouldy windows and this was an upgrade god alone knows what a standard room is like. people outside the main entrance drunk and smoking so everyone gets a good lung full! white powder around the skirting boards which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kenburns
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning kenburns, Thank you for your recent review of our property, whether positive or negative I do take all seriously to try and correct any issues. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Did you bring any of your concerns to a manager while you were staying with us? If you were unhappy with...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Marlborough on our way to the airport. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is old but that gives it part of its character. We especially enjoyed our free breakfast in the very charming dining room. For the price and location we felt that this hotel was very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Shannon M, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate any feedback which helps with our goal of complete customer satisfaction. We are in the process of completing some renovations to our hotel and I do invite you back to see the transformation in the fall. Thank you once again for your kind words...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

It was my first time in Canada and we had a horrible experience. The hotel has suspicious people in the front. Definitely not a place for a family. I didn't feel safe in any moment during my stayed. I don't know if those people stay in the hotel but they were in and out of the hotel. But I really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tifany T
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tifany T, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel I certainly appreciate the feedback and I do take all comments seriously. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we consistently try to ensure all of our guests have a safe and comfortable stay with us, and it seems like we missed the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time! It was okay last time, but good this time! For the price we paid it was amazing, I actually would have paid more! Clean 100 year old hotel, but great charm from the tiny old original elevator, to the large windows! Bed was amazing! Appears that renovations are taking place! Breakfast was awesome and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon James M, Thank you for your recent review of our property and I am certainly glad that it was more favourable than the last. I have taken your advice of the security and we will ensure that the front of our hotel is more closely monitored, and also make it more inviting to all of our guests. I...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#16 of 63 in Winnipeg
460 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
163 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Hotel Royal Plaza
Hotel Royal Plaza
#52 of 63 in Winnipeg
29 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,044 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Price Range: €69 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marlborough Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Marlborough Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“506-507 are the rooms we had and they were good”
 of 5 bubbles ltn2252, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you do get the best room available worth the upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles jessed488, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a floor in the middle”
 of 5 bubbles 970zacharyi, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the higher the better”
  • Bed and easy chair
  • looking at the desk and TV
 of 5 bubbles PMahdis, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kenburns, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5