We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arbutus Inn

Save
Share
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (134)
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Wheelchair Access
Housekeeping
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
89
68
46
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
68
46
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational car rentalroom was cleannight on the townbus routesclose to downtownno elevatorshort staystayed here for two nightsthe staff was friendly and helpfula great place to stayeasy accesswalking distanceenjoyed our stayconvenient locationlobbylinensbc
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The picture I saw of this room was small, but way smaller when I checked in! This room was not re-done like it says on the site. Room was dirty and felt like I was being put in a backroom. To get to the room...More

Thank Kathy P
Response from ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus InnResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kathy P. Sorry that you found the room to be smaller than you anticipated. However, we do describe the room as a small room and even list the square footage. This is why the room is bookable for only one person. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 30 June 2018

We stayed here for two nights. The place is OK but the price is a little on the high side for what a person gets. It was quiet with a couple of restaurants within walking distance. No elevator but the lobby is the second floor...More

Thank Eric L
Response from ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus InnResponded 1 July 2018

Hello Eric..thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Were glad to read you had a nice stay with us. We do try and mention in our description of the hotel rooms that there is no elevator and that your room may only be accessible by...More

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I never write reviews. But I'm disappointed how much money was spent on this place. Overpriced for what you get. After finally acknowledging us while one of two staff were on a phone call, they stared blankly at us when we said we had a...More

Thank Charena B
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

we booked 3 rooms at the inn at a very last minute for our 2 days trip to Victoria, BC. The inn is clean, cosy & the staff is very kind & welcome. They have no elevator but since we travel light & there is...More

Thank LinhVu
Response from ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus InnResponded 22 June 2018

Dear guest. Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Were glad to see you had a nice stay with us. All the best in your travels and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

If you want a quiet place away from the sights and bustle of downtown action, this is for you. However it is accessible by public transport. Don’t stay on the 1st floor. It’s a basement with no elevator.More

Thank Italia0411
Response from ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus InnResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see you had a quiet stay with us. The lower floor rooms are not basement rooms as you mention. The lobby level is the second floor and due to the slope in...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Concierge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$75 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (134)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andrew S
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ArbutusInn | Property representative |
To walk to Chinatown from the Arbutus will take about 15 to 20 mins and then from there to the Empress Hotel which is in the harbor would take about another 15 or so mins. You can always google on mapquest for the walking... More
0
Votes
bobdibidwell
9 May 2017|
Answer
Response from ArbutusInn | Property representative |
Hello. No we are not in walking distance to the BC Ferry Terminal. You would need to take the bus or a taxi. The BC Ferry terminal is located in Sidney BC which is about a 30 min drive from the hotel. There is other boat... More
1
Vote
Nancy M
15 April 2017|
Answer
Response from ArbutusInn | Property representative |
Hello Nancy, At this time the rate for the two days you are asking a rate on is $179.95 plus taxes per night. This price is subject to change. It will only be confirmed once you decide to book. This room would include a... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask the car rental people to move their cars from the prime parking spots so the hotel customers can park..."
Read review
"2nd floor is ground level, not sure about views, we had none."
Read review
"wow, not sure if they have good rooms"
Read review
"Spend more money and get a better place"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing