We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (309)
360
Panoramas (10)
Pool & Beach (33)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge and comic books in the bathroom ...
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
HOTEL CLASS
457Reviews
542Photos
10Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 167
  • 187
  • 66
  • 27
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
After staying in Vancouver in a fancy hotel, we were not sure what to expect. We spent two weeks travlling around on Vancouver island and in comfortable hotels, but Zed had it all: not far from downtown, free rides with the Zed van, and the pool ( I know that people complain
Read more
Response from Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed
Responded 28 Aug 2018
Hi Laura R, Thank you so much for the awesome review and I couldn't agree more with you on the leave a book, take a book program. I will suggest it to our manager and see if we can make it happen! Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
Read more
Another stay at Hotel Zed, been there numerous times, first time renos not quite finished, no pictures etc hung. Always helpful at check in and out. Would be a great place for families, activities to keep kids busy right in the Hotel. The Restaurant, Ruby's is just off the Hotel
Read more
Response from Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed
Responded 28 Aug 2018
Hey Decogran, Thank you so much for the great review and for being such a loyal Hotel Zed guest. Sounds like you where with us in the very early days!! Take care and we look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
Read more
Stayed here for a night while visiting Victoria. My son found it and it looked like a fun place to stay. Positives; Bright, colorful and their shuttle bus is an old VW van. Staff were great. Has a pool and hot tub. Rooms have fridge/microwave. Negatives - surprised at the cost
Read more
Hotel Zed is great for the family. The decor, amenities, restaurant and location are top notch. There is enough to keep both adults and children busy and happy. Beautiful downtown Victoria is just minutes away. There is a lot of construction in the area which can be noisy but it
Read more
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Zed
Responded 12 Aug 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review, Frank C! We love it when our guests are happy. So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us again soon. Thanks again, Rebecca Hotel Manager
Read more
+5
They have converted this old style motel into a funky 1970s vibe hotel, complete with 1970s furnishings. While the idea is great, it falls short on some keys areas. The rooms are small and dingy, and very run down. There is NO air conditioning, and very little airflow in the
Read more
Response from Rebecca H, Manager at Hotel Zed
Responded 7 Aug 2018
Hi Katnelson, Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry to hear you did not love your Hotel Zed experience. We are the best motel chain in BC, but we understand that isn’t for everybody. While we certainly don’t advertise that we have air conditioning, interior hallways, etc, we understand that if you were hoping for a different hotel experience, it would be a disappointment. As for the vending machines and the plumbing concerns, I’m really glad you flagged that for us. That’s unacceptable and we will look into fixing these issues ASAP. We’re sorry. Hotel Zed is a fun motel with TONS of extras (free bikes and longboards, vintage shuttle, waterslide, lawn games, etc) that make us the perfect spot for family getaways and for rebels of all ages who want to try something different. Our pool area does get popular during Victoria’s hot summer days, but we have plenty of room for everyone to enjoy! We understand that you chose to check out a little bit early and find somewhere else to stay. We were sad to see you go, but we want you to enjoy your vacation time to the fullest! I personally reversed any charges made to your credit card as I know you were not satisfied with your Hotel Zed experience. If you do see charges made, please contact me right away as I do not think you should be charged for your stay with us. Thanks, Rebecca Hotel Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Zed
The Zed Twin Room at the Hotel Zed
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Zed
The Two Bedroom Cottage at the Hotel Zed
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Zed
The Sweet Suite at the Hotel Zed
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Zed
The Bachelor Pad at the Hotel Zed
Photo provided by managementHotel Zed
Zed 2 bed Hotel Zed
PreviousNext
12345639
No major noise issues. Had a good sleep.
1 vote
Show all answers
The Hot Tub is open until 10 pm just like the pool.
0 votes
Show all answers
The climate in Victoria is very mild. We were there on some of the hottest days of the year at the end of June, but the room stayed cool thanks to two cooling fans and a small meshed window in the bathroom.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there A/C in the Rooms?
There was in our room
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Fontaine! The Rad Pad has a queen bed in the bedroom, along with a pull-out couch in the separate living area. Please let us know if you have any more questions. Thanks! Rebecca
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Our room at the far end was very quiet. Some traffic noise with the window open, but almost silent with it closed."
"The doors made a loud bang sound when closed from outside."
"There are room behind the pool that face away from the street"
"If You Don,t have your own transport or difficultly with stairs stay else where"
"Try the mobile home"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue ridge hotel victoriablue ridge motel
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaBurnside
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing