We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
 Click to rate
Peterborough Ontario
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 711bryanp
Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we chose this place as it was the lowest price we could find close to downtown. it is extremely dated. the room was decent size but the bed was rock hard, the tv was tiny, the pool was dark and dingy. the worst shower ive ever had. one minute the water is burning you the next its completely freezing. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank attomicdawg
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Me and my girlfriend came to Victoria from Vancouver on a whim, and found this place by accident. The location of this hotel is near downtown, and there are public transports near by. What great was that the staff here really know how to make their guests happy! We came in and we're both taken by surprise on how funny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warrantmm
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I originally booked a two night stay through Expedia, prepaying my stay. Parking, I saw a gathering place where people who smoked was littered with discarded butts. There was no can provided or clean up of this area. Upon arriving, I saw the bar/restaurant had a huge "Suspended" violation on the front door.Having been Food Safe certified, I can only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinkMM
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean had a new TV with Cable which was nice. For a room facing the parking lot on ground level some shears would have been nice so we could let some light in without being on display. Bed was very firm, not sure if softer beds were an option. The pool (the reason we chose this hotel)...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 491zb
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the Hojo at Victoria city center many times. The experience here was always fantastic. Rooms were nice, beds were comfortable. The facilities are all clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and approachable. Told them I forgot my toothbrush and what not, and they send someone to provide us what we needed quickly. There is an indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raychan0077
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff friendly easy to get along with and are very accommodating. Would stay there again and would recommend to anyone to stay there as well.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurentG9191FR
Bracebridge, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria is the best deal you'll find in beautiful Victoria B.C. The hotel is everything you need for a nice stay in a beautiful city. The rooms are a good size and clean with new comfortable beds and flatscreen tv along with free WiFi, centrally located with good bus access to Victoria. The rooms are fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bushboy49
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The building and furniture are dated, but the room was clean and staff friendly. The bar/restaurant was closed during my stay due to a liquor license issue. The location is good, lots of walking trails, close to the main roads downtown and fairly quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David W
Comox, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Terrible. Constant noise, pool ice cold, restaurant closed. Dismissive front desk staff did not really care as they have plenty of long term tenants. We left a day early & moved to another hotel. Room was clean and bed was comfortable these were the only redeeming qualities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bikeman02
christy z, Assistant Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Dear bikeman02, We were surprised and disappointed to hear of your experience during your recent stay with us. We were especially surprised by your comments about our staff as we rarely get negative comments about their behaviour. We would like to hear more about your stay and understand what constant noise you were referring to. Our pool is within Canada...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 52 in Victoria
813 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
700 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 52 in Victoria
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Address: 310 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson City Center)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range: €54 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria Canada - Vancouver Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of Hotel would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles M3661FUdavidw, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We booked the Home Office room with a king size bed. Only down side was really no place to sit if you had a guest visit.”
 of 5 bubbles 4Laura, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“business king room is better than standard room”
 of 5 bubbles garththorup, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!!”
 of 5 bubbles mastersbaby, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get one with a kitchenette on the 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles blimit, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5