We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI Victoria Hostel

Save
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent6%
  • Very good28%
  • Average38%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“great location”(15 reviews)
“dormitory”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for HI Victoria Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
5
24
34
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
5
24
34
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcentral victoriadormitorychinatownharbourparliament
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

We made our booking on booking.com. But when ee came at The hostel we suddenly had to pay more. They say that they cant help it. But i'm pretty sure that booking.com brings in The biggest part of their guests. The hostel was clean but...More

Thank Fitah
Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 9 November 2015

Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable to us. Please allow me to respond to some of your concerns and comments. First, we have been on Booking . Com for 3 weeks, so no, at this time our client base generated from booking.com...More

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. It's a big dorm but quiet. I slept one week and everything was good. The hostel is located well. Breakfast 7.3 to 8.3 Good value for money. there are lockers which has provisions to secure our stuff. The showers do...More

Thank wywy34
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I stayed there for one night in July. It was hoooorible! The staff was not friendly at all. Rooms are overcrowded with over 20 beds in one room. There was supposed to be breakfast from 7.30 to 9.30 am. When I came to the kitchen...More

Thank Ungva
Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 23 September 2015

Hi, sorry your experience with us was so negative. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service and have a very good customer service rating. The summer is very busy but we always try to answer questions and give good advise on a one...More

Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

This place is cheap dirty and nasty. Drug addicts, homeless and general riff raff,the staff were rude and unhelpful. Unfortunately its a place Intrepid Travel/Peak Adventures take people to, clearly to save money but its truly a horrible place. Expect poor service, horrible staff and...More

1  Thank nancy v
Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 23 September 2015

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay but I feel your judgement of people staying here is a bit sewed. We do not knowingly house drug addicts, the homeless or other people of this nature. If fact unless you have official gov't ID with picture...More

Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Avoid this place if you care about hanging out with seniors, homeless, senior rude staff and you enjoy the ambiance of a shelter for seniors. There is a lack of cool traveler ambiance here, people cooking at 4am that probably were sneaking into other people...More

1  Thank Penelope P
Response from HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria HostelResponded 23 September 2015

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We cater to all age groups and do not discriminate by age as others places might. All guests we accommodate are not from Victoria or area because we do not allow locals to stay here. There are many travelers in...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Vancouver Island
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from HI Victoria Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Avoid J-Dorm unless you can sleep through loud noises."
Read review
"Probably upstairs would be quieter than downstairs dowm"
Read review
"Be prepared for bed bugs"
Read review
"Didn't seem to matter - noisy everywhere"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing