We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nelson House B & B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Nelson House B & B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nelson House B & B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was looking for a change of pace on the weekend after staying in a string of business hotels for work during the week and I found it. It was located in a nice neighborhood and close to bars and restaurants. The owners' guide -- notes on places they preferred -- was very helpful as there are many restaurants to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakerohn
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Since you are new to the B & B experience, Jakerohn, I am really pleased that you rated us "Perfectly fine"! B & B s are found worldwide & have been around forever. Still there are some weird misconceptions about the modern-day, independently-run hospitality business. It seems just as odd to me that anyone would settle for the hotel norm...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located in the heart of Vancouver's West End, Nelson House B&B is just a short walk to all the high-end shopping on Robson or the diverse pleasures of Davie. I enjoyed fine cooked breakfasts and good conversation with other guests in the cheerful breakfast room. The adjacent living room is amply supplied with travel guides and other reading. The decor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cacadian
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you "cacadian". You are so right! We like to put the emphasis on fine food & conversation. And when it comes to décor, we definitely prefer comfort & a bit of fun over ye olde chintz. All the best, David

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We didn't have breakfast, so we can't comment on that. The breakfast table was set beautifully, however. We were underwhelmed by the Nelson House. It reminded me of a run-of-the-mill English B&B: It also reminded me of my grandmother's house in decor and upkeep: somewhat shabby; mostly clean but not overly so; OK beds but not hotel quality; worn-out bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vze3dnta
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

The old adage holds true in this age of anonymous internet opinions: "You can't please ALL the people ALL the time". We keep trying though!! We have no idea who posted this review because no one uttered a word to us in person about beds, linens, pillows, décor, etc, Those are the kinds of things that can be so easily...

Manchester
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in the very spacious suite with lots of character. The room was lovely and comfy and the breakfasts were great. The location is pefect, short walk to some lovely restaraunts and the beach front one way and a short walk to the shops the other way.The hosts were very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay! What...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind appreciation and positive comments. We will hope to see you again! Cheers, David

Airdrie, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived the hosts made our stay very welcome. The room was on the main floor and was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was more than we could have asked for. (Eggs and sausage one day, French toast the next). The weather was very rainy for a couple days and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cam W
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We still believe in putting the emphasis on classic B & B virtues - genuine local hospitality and delicious home-cooking & baking. You and other Nelson House guests really do seem to appreciate it. All the best, David

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I were there for a few days in March. The facilities were clean as a whistle, the ambiance was perfect, the breakfasts were outstanding, the hosts Michael and David couldn't have been nicer. What more can I say? Oh, yes. I forget to mention, location, location, location! You don't need a car but if you have one,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jre85
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you folks. We loved having you. Please come back for Vancouver's warm summer weather;) Cheers, David

Florida
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here 6 nights. We were in the top floor suite. It was great! Michael took great care of us. His breakfasts were AMAZING! And you have to try the lemon poppyseed bread- it's the best I've ever had. He knew a lot about the area and things to do. He kept us updated on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisalyn195
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you both again. Cheers, David

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Found the hosts to be helpful and accommodating. The B&B is on a quiet street, but very close to a number of main streets that have anything you might need. Enjoyed the cabin room, with a soft, cozy bed and Canadiana decor, although the door to the ensuite bathroom isn't as private as a full door might be. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllenPhoto
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

"Breakfast" is one half of our name. We are so glad that you enjoyed! All the best until the next time, David

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in the Shangri-La suite. Our first impression was that the house had a lot of character, the person that greeted us at the door was very friendly and accommodating. They have parking (a few spots actually) a short distance up the street, we drove a truck and were able to easily park there. We got a tour of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DNLsBNBreview
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The B&B was clean, cute and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious every morning and the company was fantastic between the guests and Michael and David, the hosts. I am already looking for the next free weekend so I can take my family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CMTJ
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thanks so much! Your taking the time to review us kindly is so important to us here at Nelson House. We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, David

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
2,084 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
3,440 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,376 reviews
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: €56 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nelson House B & B staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Nelson House B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only 2 rooms we saw were very small, with only one place to sit other than the bed.”
 of 5 bubbles CMFriend, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Vienna room was very charming”
 of 5 bubbles jstrassberg, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go for the holliwood room.”
  • out side our room
 of 5 bubbles happyBundaberg, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“loved the Bombay Room. Nephew and husband liked the Hollywood room as well.”
 of 5 bubbles W7014AXleeh, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Choose one with a private bath if available. Hollywood is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles lgenfregeau, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5