We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Victorian Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Victorian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Victorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 627: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We booked a room via Wotif for a 2 nights stay. I cancelled the booking the same day by emailing the hotel directly. They advised me I had to cancel with Wotif which I did and thought nothing more of it until I was charged for the stay. Both the Hotel (GM Brian) and Wotif blamed each other and bombarded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ericvine06
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Sir, I understand your frustration, the problem is, you did not cancel your reservation with the company you booked it with and as a result we held your guaranteed reservation (on a night which we were sold out). Just the sheer number of reservation transactions we handle compel us to adhere to the basic booking procedures which you, unfortunately failed...

Berridale, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Beautifully restored hotel with very comfortable rooms and roomy new bathrooms. Friendly and knowledgeable staff are eager to help. Also has a convenient location within walking distance of the waterfront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Neil, it sounds like everything went well so we hope to see you again very soon.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We were initially a bit sceptical while booking this hotel. We checked in and it blew our mind. We stayed at one of the King room which was newly renovated. I am a Project Manager in the hospitality industry working with lot of hotels regarding their design and furniture. This one was a complete surprise for me and my wife....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amarsmen
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for your comments. They are high praise from someone with your back ground. I had to giggle about the cold floors as I new we couldn't be perfect. I should point out that there is an older hotel in town but it now operates as a hostel. Thanks again, and please don't be a stranger.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent location near Gastown . The room was beautiful, clean and comfy. Next time I'd not book the room based on the "supplied continental breakfast" - the bread was defrosting and only one cereal was on offer. Overall we would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noeleen H
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Noeleen, your comments are greatly appreciated and have resulted in us adding a variety of yogurts to the continental breakfast. Another cereal is next. We'll see you next time around, thank you.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Came to BC to go to Conact2016 Music Festival. We found the Victorian Hotel through AirBNB & booked a double room with the shared bathroom. The location is close to stadium & the entertainment district, no more than 15 minutes walking distance. The room was very small, but we didn't travel to stay in our room all day. We used...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simonnicolec
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for your appreciation Simon. You're the first AirBNB guest to submit a TripAdvisor comment. That makes you first in our hearts. We'll see you next time through.

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Lovely staff. Clean facilties. Location easy to find and great for walking to attractions. Continental breakfast was ordinary nothing exceptional. Rooms were clean and well accessorize. Not handicap freindly . Overall we had a fantastic stay thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debrah H
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Debrah, "fantastic stay" is music to our ears. Please hurry back.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Really clean hotel, period architecture and quiet! Close to bars and shopping. Great price for the location. I choose a smaller room with a bathroom down the hall, was great for a single guy looking to do some bar hopping and walk around the city. Parking is available as well, which is useful in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karlmeller
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Gastown bar-hopping and a little shopping-you're my kind of guy! Thanks so much Karmeller and we hope to see you again for another round. happy New Year!

Reviewed 23 December 2016

A central, cozy hotel in Vancouver with lovely rooms. The hotel has pretty much everything you need and is perfect for a trip to Vancouver. The only thing to mention is the breakfast that can be improved.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casper H
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Casper and your comments about breakfast are duly noted. Please come back soon.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016

A very old hotel that has been kept up quite well. We stayed here just one night as we live out of the city and had a Christmas party to attend. It was close to the center of the action. The hotel itself is quite comfortable, friendly staff, and a decent breakfast. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom. All of this tied...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlie C
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you, Charlie C. I hope you had a great time at the Christmas party and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

The price was extremely decent for the location. We also loved the bed. It was super comfy! The showers were relaxing with the water pressure and soothing lavender shampoo and conditioner. We loved this hotel and we would definitely come back in the future!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brianna V
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review

What a sweetheart Brianna. Thanks so much for your lovely review and we can't wait to see you next time. Have a very Merry Christmas.

497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
European Style Double Room (33)
Viewed
European Style King Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Superior Double Full with Carpet (37)
Viewed
Superior Double Full with Wood Floors (34)
Viewed
Superior King Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,456 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
1,654 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gastown

Neighbourhood Profile
Gastown
A visit to Gastown is like turning back the clock and stepping into a bygone era. With the distinction of being Vancouver's oldest neighborhood, the many plaques that stud the cobbled streets of Gastown tell the story of its colorful past, giving Vancouver's history a more lively presence here than anywhere else. Having been originally founded around a popular worker's saloon, it's no wonder that today some of Vancouver's best micro-breweries, creative cocktail joints, and corner bars can be found in this area. Classical charm suffuses its many vintage boutiques and the brick-built structures that an army of creative professionals call home.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Price Range: €71 - €205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victorian Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Victorian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have shared bathrooms. Be sure to ask if you want an ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles oldkoot1, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the rear facing rooms don't have as nice of a view but are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jessyukon, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the front would have a better view but might be noisier - we did not have a view”
 of 5 bubbles MKE239, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get rooms 14, 15 or 16”
 of 5 bubbles amarsmen, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Homer Stgreet.”
 of 5 bubbles 152jamese, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5