We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sylvia Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sylvia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sylvia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,236: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015

It sites in front of the English Bay and just off from Denman street and Davie street, such a perfect location. I am not quite sure if it is a standard around this area that the room does not have air conditioning and refrigerator though, the room was spacious enough with high ceiling. All staff were very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick T
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for staying with us from Australia. I appreciate that you took time to write a review. You are correct the rooms do not have air conditioning as the building is 104 years old and we are trying to stay true to our heritage (we have been a heritage site since 1975). Our windows open and with the breeze from...

Toronto
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in November 2014 for 3 days. The staff were extremely helpful, we had to print and scan heaps of form for a new job. They helped us with lots of facilities and questions. The hotel is gorgeous, a little out dated, covered in vines that change with the seasons. Fantastic location. Quiet but still...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank teleab
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I hope that you got the new job you were working on? Thank-you for your comments and taking time to write a review. The location is often mentioned in Guests reviews are we are so close to everything. My staff always try very hard to exceed guests expectations and it looks like you appreciated there work and support while you...

Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Loved this hotel. The outstanding, friendly staff was awesome. My husband and I visited Vancouver to celebrate our 30th anniversary. When we booked the room (of course several months in advance), we asked for a room with a view of the English Bay. They gave us a room on the 8th floor overlooking the Bay. It was perfect! We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johnson9213
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

A well written review, I enjoyed reading it, looks like to covered all the bases. Happy 30th anniversary, thanks for spending it with us. My staff all work hard to exceed every guests expectation and the fact that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service from my crew was appreciated. We do sell sleep so we always make sure our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We stayed at the Sylvia Hotel for 5 nights. It is not a modern hotel but the friendly staff and excellent location make up for that. It is minutes away from Stanley Park and Denman Street where there are so many restaurants. We loved the position in a residential part of Vancouver. It is on English Bay. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robgab
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and for staying with us for 5 nights. Our location is just far enough away from the downtown core but close to everything with out the noise of downtown. We do have kitchen units as well as a number of other room types so always call us directly to get the best rate and room type...

Reviewed 6 June 2015

Simply, a wonderful place to stay on English Bay. The front desk people were attentive and helpful. Everyone I met at the Sylvia had a positive, friendly demeanor. The on site restaurant was very good. Do keep in mind, that The Sylvia is a very old historic hotel and may not be perfect, but this lends to the charm. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Harlee
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I agree with you, my front desk team works very hard to assist every guests and offer the best possible service. The restaurant service and food quality is often mentioned and for good reason, great food great service and a fantastic view of English Bay. We do offer value for the price you pay to stay with us and I...

Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Stayed on the 8th floor, so we had an excellent view of the English Bay beaches. Room was clean & comfortable. The staff of this hotel rates higher than any place I have ever stayed as far as being helpful & friendly. We used public transportation to visit basically the whole city and the location of this hotel is near...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tim43929
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

A short and to the point review, clean and comfortable rooms is what you will always get when you stay with us, thank-you for mentioning it. I will be mentioning to the team your high praise about their service. I will be posting your comments in the lunch room to inform the staff that their hard work is being appreciated....

Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Ate dinner at this restaurant on June lst. The service was excellent, the prices were very reasonable,the view was outstanding, and the food was excellent. The restaurant had a nice ambiance about it as its been there for many years and overlooks English Bay. I would highly recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunlover032
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write a review. Our restaurant has fantastic views plus as you mentioned I feel the food and service is great as well. We get so many guests comment on the views of English Bay. You can always sit in the Bistro and Lounge for the same views all year round to watch...

Reviewed 2 June 2015

Desperately wanted to love this hotel due to its history and great location - unfortunately due to many negatives. Unfortunately, the hotel isn't air-conditioned, and our room while on the east side heated up dramatically to the point of being uncomfortable, even on only 70 degree days. The windows, while they opened, didn't have screens on them making it difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul Z
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for staying with us, I am sorry that you did not appreciate the heritage and history of the building. We are not for everyone, if you want everything brand new and there are other hotels that offer that experience. You are correct we do not have air conditioning and all the windows open wide to allow the fresh air...

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

The historic building has a great deal of charm, a lovely view, and a consistently friendly and responsive staff. The WiFi, however, was accessible only while sitting on the side of the dangerously slippery bathtub (even after multiple attempts to reset it) and our second floor room was directly on top of live music in the restaurant until 10pm each...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ragtimeji
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking time to write a few words about your stay. I am sorry that the sound of the music bothered you during your stay, like you said the music stops at 10:00 and we do not get many guests over the years saying that it bothered them, however I will remind the performer's to keep it down. As...

Port Douglas, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Stayed at his hotel for one night. It is an old world hotel with all the charm that goes with a bygone era. Room spotless and staff had impeccable manners. Restaurant served good quality food. Would stay here again. Close to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BernPD
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review

I love the under stated comments that are true and to the point, the hotel is clean, the staff had impeccable manners and offered great service. I am happy that the crew were mentioned again as they all work hard to exceed guests expectations. I will post your comments in the lunch room for them to read. Thank-you

671 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Bayside Double Full Room (42)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
King Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
1,395 reviews
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
1,249 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
2,071 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 89 in Vancouver
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
A hodgepodge of landscapes, the West End combines verdant gardens and blocky modern architecture, with Victorian bits and Edwardian bobs in between. It is a paradise for takeout food, take-away coffee, and perhaps incongruously, some of Vancouver's most languid lines of beachfront. English Bay and Sunset Beach invite swimmers, strollers, and picnic-lovers to take in dusk settling over the water, or to jog along with the sunrise, offering breathtaking views at any time of day. The West End merges together so many looks and flavors probably because it functions a hub: its the leafy pit-stop between nightlife and entertainment venues along Davie Street, and the shopping paradise that is Robson Street, offering visitors beautiful parkland to rest on, and quick, easy food to re-fuel with in between ventures.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Price Range: €94 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sylvia Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sylvia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front Hotel Rooms overlook the Ocean & Beach”
 of 5 bubbles fortec1, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that over looks the Bay. The sunsets are beautiful and its a beautiful sight first thing in the morning!”
 of 5 bubbles C0ries, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are best for trips with friends with the extra room and the kitchenettes.”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the larger rooms some of our group had very small rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jackiemol, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing English Bay the best”
  • Snow!
 of 5 bubbles 223michaelh, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay