We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MacKenzie Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MacKenzie Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MacKenzie Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

After spending a lot of time online to source out the perfect property for a special birthday surprise for my wife, I cannot say how disappointed I/we were with the property - from the moment we drove along a very rough road, could not find the address on the property, then to walk into the two bedroom beach cottage I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank islander112
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Yes, I agree our road does need some more maintenance, and the District does their best but the pot holes seem to appear almost overnight after it is graded. We are now in our slower season doing upgrades to the property and the cabins. The stairs have been repaired as one step had a little movement to it and as...

Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Mediocre Cabin. Clean, Bed poor. Exterior full of debris. Pool too cold to comfortably swim. Hot tub okay. Beach is lovely. This is very much too expensive for what is provided. Will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William W
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

The cabins are rustic, but with maintenance being done on a regular basis they are cozy and inviting. We have replaced our beds in several cabins and do understand that beds are such an important part of your stay. Our pool temperature is kept at 82 - 83 degrees, but during your stay with us it did develop a leak...

Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We had planned a little trip to Tofino with some hopes of storm watching. This place was recommended to us by a neighbour. We arrived at this place in the pitch dark and the pouring rain. Signage could/should be improved. The road off the highway is riddled with horrible potholes (I expect this is simply due to the location, however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honesty and comments on our Resort. For your large RV I can understand needing more than one site to accommodate you for sure. And yes the cabins are great especially for the off season when rates are lower. It is great to be in a beachfront cabin to watch those fantastic storms come in with your...

Barry's Bay, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2016

It was pouring rain ...could not find a lodging for the night. Last chance phoned this resort and they had one cabin available. The hostess was so warm and friendly. Walked into our cabin ...it was lovely...clean and lots of space. We started a fire in the fireplace and had a glass of wine on comfortable furniture. We had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 912anne59
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

So nice to hear you had a great stay at our Resort. And that the weather co operated to give you a very special day with sunshine and a world class view.

Reviewed 17 September 2016

I recently stayed at the MacKenzie Beach Resort in there pool cabins. I didn't really know what to expect from previous reviews. I was pleasantly surprised with the cabin. It was large, clean living, dining and kitchen area. A deck with picnic table in the front. The cabin was not on the beach, but in a quiet area. The separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA S
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Pleasantly surprised is what we want to hear, as our guests satisfaction is what we are all about. Fires being allowed right on MacKenzie Beach is such a bonus, especially for those in cabins or camping sites that have no view of the ocean. The pool suites have been recently upgraded and the wifi has been upgraded as well. Hope...

Edson, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Quaint little hotel right on the beach! Called ahead for a room and the girl was very nice. She held our room with no credit card. We had a cabin with a beach view, not a big room but the bed was comfy and clean. Draw backs were, hot tub was down and the pool although it was warm, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherieC82
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at our Resort. The rooms are smaller for sure but what they lack in size they make up for by being cozy. The Pool had some issues for sure and is currently being renovated extensively. It is a salt water pool and our customers love it so much that we are...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Where to start... yes it is on one of the most beautiful beaches around, that being said, the cabins are old and not well kept up... The cabin we stayed in had issues. The patio has sunken so for anyone with walking or stepping issues, trying to get through the main door was a huge task. The bed was hard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank irish_elfin
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Yes, we are one of the oldest resorts in Tofino and that definitely has its challenges. But that being said we are always doing upgrades and improvements to keep everything in good condition. Patios have inlaid bricks which once in awhile decide to pop up and have to be reset and we do our best to keep on top of...

Chemainus, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Have stayed here many times before. Cabin number 1 needed a littl cleaning. Dishes were a bit greasy we needed to put them through the dishwasher.....not hard! Could also do with the cobwebs removing. However after that the cabin is right on the beach and has pretty well everything you need. We upgraded from cabin 9 as that one didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vince L
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your concerns and for taking the time to let us know where we have to improve. Cobwebs are a constant thing in Tofino, and we do try our best to stay on top of them. It seems like they reappear overnight. Cabin #1 now has a brand new Hot Tub as the one previously there had a pump...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Amenities were a bit tired; cabins are in a great location with a beautiful beach and bay. The cabins were in need of updating and repair, but the were spacious and cozy for those seeking a "cabin on the beach" experience. The kitchens were pretty well equipped, enough so that when we wanted to cook our own seafood meal from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charles k
MBR_Manager, Owner at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your response and details about your stay with us. We are currently updating and renovating our cabins this winter as well as doing extensive maintenance on our Pool. Our resort is older and rustic but we do updates and maintenance during our off season for sure.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Facilities are disgusting and badly need an upgrade. 3 toilets, 2 female showers for hundreds of people. $20 deposit for a key to access dirty, stained showers. Tiny ocean side camp sites are packed together with people walking on top of each other to get to their site. You can hear everything going on in other tents and realistically you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona B
MBR_Manager, Manager at MacKenzie Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to voice your concerns about camping at our Resort. The ocean front sites are for sure very small and that is why we ask all customers to view the available sites and chose the one that would work best for them and their tent size. Tofino is so busy during the summer and most days...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.6 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
998 reviews
1.1 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.5 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool and hot tub for guests Open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range: €107 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacKenzie Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from MacKenzie Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view cabins amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles mwinkler1965, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cabin 1 is lovely; the mattress in the master bedroom is pretty soft, but there are lots of other beds.”
 of 5 bubbles Hawkwoman64, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This is the only resort at McKenzie beach that actually has the cottages ON THE BEACH.”
 of 5 bubbles trindagajek, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The camp sites on the beach to the right along the fence are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles Stacielouuu, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for a renovated room or cottage, as cabin two was in need of a major renovation.”
 of 5 bubbles islander112, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5