We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Met Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Met Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great price, great customer service, great size rooms, great cleanliness. I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night and we honestly didn't expect much, but what we got was a great hotel, at a great price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
Melody E, Guest Relations Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. It is these little stories that make us love the Met Hotel. we are so happy to hear you liked us. Please come and see us again. Regards, The Met

Vernon, Canada
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Price was the major factor in considering this hotel. Between the room, parking and dog we paid less than half of anything in Vancouver. The room was nice but the cleanliness left something to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dennis B
Melody E, Front Office Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked the price you paid. Can you elaborate on any cleanliness issues? We take great pride in the cleanliness of the Met Hotel and if there were any issues that can be dealt with we would love to hear more. Please phone...

Victoria,Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We were looking for a clean, quiet, reasonably priced hotel room on a long weekend and the Met fit the bill. Friendly helpful desk staff. Stay away from the dingy smelly smoky pub and head down the street to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iMelanie
Melody E, Guest Relations Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review we appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am wondering about the issue with the pub. Like us they are 100% smoke free and we usually get excellent reviews on the food and service. Thank you once again,

United States
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This property has huge potential. The staff is excellent, very professional and friendly, and you cannot beat the location and value. It also has a ton of character in the rooms (the common spaces not at all). It is really badly outdated -- it could be a gem if it was updated nicely. The skytrain is literally next door --...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trientalis
Melody E, Guest Relations Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Met Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a nice stay. The area is wonderful and very family friendly with a fantastic park just across the street. Just want to make you aware that are duvet covers are washable and are changed out regularly after each guest has checked...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Met Hotel in New Westminster is a hidden gem located about twelve miles away from Vancouver. It's an older hotel with large size rooms and comfortable beds. It has a small lobby with a check in desk, but makes up for it with a sitting area in the middle of each floor. I was fortunate to have a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 43callum
Melody E, Guest Relations Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

We do appreciate your kind words about the Met Hotel. We are happy to hear that the staff treated you well. The Met is located in a great area and you obviously took advantage. Please come and stay with us again. Thank you

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Three couples in our group recently stayed one night in 3 rooms (it was the day before Thanksgiving). The street outside is a little rough. The front entry isn't encouraging, small, dingy, and old. The check in was friendly if slow. This is an older property with a faded charm. Each floor has a large middle open area for lounging...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick B
Melody E, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. All of the feedback we recieve from our guest's is important to us. We are located in the older part of New Westminster, BC's first capital. The building is 120 years old the 2nd oldest in New Westminster and is a heritage building being only 1 of 2 that...

Kusadasi
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The only good thing about this place is that it is situated right next to the skytrain station. But anything else is really terrible . At the reception,during opening hours, you are lucky if you find anybody. Anyone can get in and out of the hotel as most of the times nobody checks. The neighborhood is also ,in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bikali
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

We take all reviews good and bad. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We work hard to make our guests comfortable like you were at home. There is a lot to talk about with your review and we would love the chance to talk with you about any of the issues you might have had during...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This hotel is adjacent to Columbia TransLink SkyRail station and hence only 25 minutes from Pacific Central station where long distance Amtrak and Via Rail trains arrive. It has a dingy reception area but my room 437 was beautifully restored and a true heritage icon with partial views of the river and huge suspension bridge across to King George. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victorianlad
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Met Hotel. Also thank you very much for singling out our staff as they work hard to give the best service possible. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Met Hotel and especially our beds which we do get lots of compliments on....

Donegal
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed two nights in The Met in the height of summer and were happy with our choice. The front desk staff was friendly and the room prices were very good for the location, time of year, and proximity to Vancouver. The rooms were very dated but clean and served our needs. Our room was at the back of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FTGirl
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Met Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. New Westminster is a great city with lots to do and a short trip from Vancouver. Thank you once again. Regards

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Great little hotel that met our needs for a week in the Vancouver area. The price was reasonable; rooms were neat and tidy and well maintained. Its location was great, steps to a Sky Train station. If you do stay there make sure you take an evening to walk on the board walk along the river. Staff were all very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roy S
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Met Hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. You are correct that we are in a great location and New Westminster is a wonderful city. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review the Met Hotel. Please come again. Thank you.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Westminster
0.7 km away
Inn at the Quay
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
433 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
334 reviews
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
128 reviews
4.4 km away
Ramada Coquitlam
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
311 reviews
4.8 km away
Executive Plaza Hotel Coquitlam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Address: 411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Price Range: €54 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Met Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Met Hotel New Westminster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Met Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room overlooking the river.”
 of 5 bubbles rosss54, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the river. The rear rooms are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles N8261IVdennisb, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Riverview is really fun and lovely but noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles trientalis, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If your looking for a clean,comfortable,value for money hotel this is the one”
 of 5 bubbles jf2712, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms as the rear is the skytrain station”
 of 5 bubbles global3adventure, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay