We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (3)
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist?
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Grande Prairie Airport265 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for HI Jasper
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
18
40
44
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
18
40
44
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm bottom bunk lounge area minute drive nice kitchen light sleeper pleasant stay lockable whistler clerk fi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a private room for two nights and eventually asked our money back and left after one night. The price is high, like normal hotel rates, and you get a dirty bunk bed in a mini room for this price. You have to share...More

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank suzannebF3286ZZ
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, and were not able to sleep. Our rooms are cleaned daily, though they are rustic and basic accommodation. HI Canada has recently announced that...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018

It was out of town and moderately priced. We had a private room which was very clean and the atmosphere was friendly enough. Place to cook was great and having a fire outside was a great way to spend the evening.More

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank 922kristian
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience of HI Jasper. I am pleased to read that you found the hostel to be clean and that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our spaces, both indoors and out at our campfire. We hope you enjoyed your visit to...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival I was overwhelmed by the size of the dorm and felt claustrophobic where my bed was. Without any fuss, I was offered a bottom bunk by both the door and a window which made me much happier. I had the best two nights...More

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank thejoeybeard
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Good stay, despite being in a 28 bed dorm. Kitchen is good, and recycling impressive. Plenty of space and equipment. Ladies washrooms probably need refurbishment soon, showers very awkward. Lights out from 10 pm to 8 am policy perhaps a little excessive, but different visitors...More

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank carolineahs
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at HI Jasper. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We do our best to keep our older facilities working as well...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

There's a bit of a monopoly in Jasper which is why this hostel gets away with charging $40 for a tiny, humid corner in a room of 24 people. Perhaps if the cost was $20 I wouldn't complain, but this was a basic hostel where...More

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank annja2015
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at HI Jasper. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Our hostel Front Desk is very busy, particularly during the summer season. HI does have plans in place to build a new...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Victoria M
22 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
We are located about 7km from town and up a mountain road. During our summer season, there is a shuttle run by Sundog transportation going from the town up to the hostel several times during the day from around 8:30am to... More
1
Vote
Northmandy
17 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
We usually have some space available over the holidays, though it is busier over the holidays than most of the rest of the winter season.
0
Votes
mkenny2016
3 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
Hi Maxine and Steve, The best way to check this is through us directly, on the HI Canada website or to call us directly at the phone number on our website. Our private rooms are already booked for most of August, and much... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Be ready for a very large dorm if you don't have a private room. Plugs only available on one side of..."
carolineahs
12 Sep 2017
Read review
"private rooms good value and best chance of sleep for 2 to 3"
gingericecream
5 Aug 2017
Read review
"Go for private rooms, dorms are like 60+ people in one room"
annaleed2015
12 Jul 2017
Read review
"Ask for a lower bed. I prefer close to windows, if you do not ask for one further away."
sigehaizi
15 Mar 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hi-jasper hotel jasper
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesJasper National ParkJasper
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing