We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Overview
1 Skytram Road 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for HI Jasper
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
18
39
42
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
18
39
42
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormbottom bunkcommon spacelounge areaminute drivelockableclerkfiwinter
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Good stay, despite being in a 28 bed dorm. Kitchen is good, and recycling impressive. Plenty of space and equipment. Ladies washrooms probably need refurbishment soon, showers very awkward. Lights out from 10 pm to 8 am policy perhaps a little excessive, but different visitors...More

Thank carolineahs
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at HI Jasper. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We do our best to keep our older facilities working as well...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

There's a bit of a monopoly in Jasper which is why this hostel gets away with charging $40 for a tiny, humid corner in a room of 24 people. Perhaps if the cost was $20 I wouldn't complain, but this was a basic hostel where...More

Thank annja2015
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at HI Jasper. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Our hostel Front Desk is very busy, particularly during the summer season. HI does have plans in place to build a new...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

This hostel was around long before my first visit 28 years ago and it hasn't changed much. There are 3 types of rooms a large female only dorm; a large co-ed dorm and private rooms for 2 to 3 people. The walls are thin and...More

Thank Ginger I
Response from Michel T, General Manager at HI JasperResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your review of HI Jasper. Your description of our property is quite accurate, and captures some of our strengths and limitations. The proximity of sleeping areas to our common areas is one of the main reasons for our quiet time of...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is definitely the worst place I have ever stayed in and I have traveled a lot! Last year me, my boyfriend and friend stayed at the Hi Hostel in Maligne Lake and it was awesome! We had high expectations, especially because of the brand...More

Thank Annalee D
Response from Michel T, General Manager at HI JasperResponded 5 August 2017

We are very sorry to read that you had a poor stay at HI Jasper. Our hostel does have large dorms, the shared dorm with 44 beds (numbers 1 though 28 are in another room), with a current non-member rate of $47.96 including taxes, as...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017

My girlfriend and I checked into this hostel last year in July 2016. We enjoyed our stay in Jasper National Park. That night I asked for a wake up call for 6 in the morning, but one of the female desk clerks mentioned that they...More

Thank John Z
Response from Michel T, Manager at HI JasperResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. As our front desk is not staffed from midnight until 8am, we do not have a staff member available or on duty to provide wake up calls. We do have an alarm clock available to borrow when...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front ...More door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$26 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper
Location
Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$26 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper
Location
Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Jasper
Maligne Lodge
826 reviews
2.46 km away
Mount Robson Inn
1,841 reviews
2.52 km away
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
987 reviews
2.55 km away
Jasper House Bungalows
470 reviews
2.90 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 94 restaurants in Jasper
Patricia Street Deli
931 reviews
3.24 km away
ALBA Restaurant
277 reviews
3.25 km away
Syrahs of Jasper
769 reviews
3.29 km away
Downstream Restaurant & Lounge
685 reviews
3.28 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 75 attractions in Jasper
Maligne Canyon
3,949 reviews
3.11 km away
Jasper SkyTram
2,533 reviews
.85 km away
Athabasca River
80 reviews
2.90 km away
Freewheel cycle
12 reviews
3.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Victoria M
22 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
We are located about 7km from town and up a mountain road. During our summer season, there is a shuttle run by Sundog transportation going from the town up to the hostel several times during the day from around 8:30am to... More
1
Vote
Northmandy
17 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
We usually have some space available over the holidays, though it is busier over the holidays than most of the rest of the winter season.
0
Votes
mkenny2016
3 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Michel T | Property representative |
Hi Maxine and Steve, The best way to check this is through us directly, on the HI Canada website or to call us directly at the phone number on our website. Our private rooms are already booked for most of August, and much... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Be ready for a very large dorm if you don't have a private room. Plugs only available on one side of..."
Read review
"private rooms good value and best chance of sleep for 2 to 3"
Read review
"Go for private rooms, dorms are like 60+ people in one room"
Read review
"Ask for a lower bed. I prefer close to windows, if you do not ask for one further away."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing