We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tekarra Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tekarra Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tekarra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
New York, NY
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Tekarra was much nicer than I expected. Was a nice break from hotels to cook and not all bustling with people everywhere. Our cabin was cute. The beds stuffed in alcoves might be a bit tight for some people/couples. We used the sofa bed in our cabin too and you can't feel the metal frame thru the mattress (FlexSteel sleepers)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trippyNYC
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you can return in the future. PS: the northern lights have been dancing in the sky for the last two nights. We hope that you are able to see them during your next stay with...

Nottingham
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We had one of the small cabins. it was ok for us because we were only there 3 nights and we are small people. /The bed was v cosy for two and really needed oven for some home cooking if staying longer. But otherwise- great

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kekia2016
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I believe you stayed in one of our Miette Cabins which does not have ovens. For future stays with us all other cabins have ovens and will make it easier for cooking.

Pacific Grove, California
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We will definitely be back to this lovely Inn, though we will choose a cabin instead of a room in the lodge. The restaurant was quite nice but our room was directly above it so the kitchen cleanup noise was disturbing. We loved the fact that you could walk right out your door and be on a trail in minutes....

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJ203
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping department. We hope that you can come back in the future and try one of the cabins.

Edmonton
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Cute cozy cabins.. Unfortunately, it looks like the took one big cabin and split it in half with cheap plywood and plumping.. the paint lines from the renovation looks like it was done by someone their first time painting. I believe these cabins had a more authentic feel prior to the renovations. Now it just feels like an over crowded...

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylemN8148WT
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would love to speak with you about your stay. Please give me a call at the hotel if you have time.

Edmonton, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Our relatives from Sweden loved the area. Great views and loved the walkways. It was great to have a kitchen for simple breakfast. We only spent one night but would have stayed longer. Price a bit steep for a couple but good for family. Rustic and old but clean and well kept. Yes, Marilyn Monre slept here!

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayJay747474
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us!

La Teste
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Lodge fine. Overal it was good. Although some of the pots and pans were grubby. Bed comfy. Nice to have logs on the fire to burn. Rather pricey for what it was, but I guess weekend prices are higher. Breakfast burger to rave about, but ok.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannehM1494EL
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping department.

Owen Sound
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Great location only 5 minutes from downtown Jasper. Clean, roomy, cabins. Kitchen area fully equipped and enjoyed using BBQ for dinner. enjoyed chairs on deck also. lots of hiking trails close by and not too difficult. Lodge restaurant- fabulous- both food and service.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda K
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are glad that you had an opportunity to try our BBQ's. We think is an added benefit to those wanting to stay in and enjoy the cabins and property. I hope you got to enjoy our smore's for dessert at the fire pit.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I would highly recommend staying at the Tekarra Lodge. It is just outside downtown Jasper and has a beautiful property. We drove past other properties in town and know we made the right choice. We didn't eat dinner there but the breakfast we had was superb! We stayed in one of the rooms above the restaurant and it was what...

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emihole
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Edmonton
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We had an excellent experience the staff and facility was absolutely awesome. Front desk staff were very helpful, the housekeeping and experience staff were excellent. We would recommend Tekarra Lodge to our family and friends. We are already planning our stay for next year. Excellent walking trails, and easy access to Jasper and connecting highways, yet very quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrylw602
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for Tekarra Lodge. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan on coming back next season. I recommend trying some of our guest experience activities during your next stay with us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Open the door,turn the light on, squeeze round the bed and squint. A tiny hut shaded by trees with tiny windows,dark brown walls, dark brown chair and bedding makes for a very gloomy room. Good lighting would have helped but one dim ceiling light and a single bedside light (with a brown shade of course ) didn't do the job....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila c
TekarraLodge, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would love to speak with you about your stay. Please give me a call at the hotel if you have time.

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.8 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
309 reviews
2.4 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
820 reviews
1.4 km away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
5.7 km away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
559 reviews
1.3 km away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Price Range: €257 - €310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekarra Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekarra Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins give you privacy and noise control.”
 of 5 bubbles ihearttheworld, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A selection of cabin size,some have larger kitchens ”
 of 5 bubbles N9684WMdianeb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beds are very soft, at least in cabin 27. I injured my back a couple days before our arrival and had to sleep on the couch as it was the firmest surface. But my back was injured...”
 of 5 bubbles 371milesj, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try a larger room with a bed away from a window/drafts even for two people.”
 of 5 bubbles CherryClift, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cabins 6,7 and 8 have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles dgreenbee, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5