We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nature's Hideaway Family Campground

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Start your review of Nature's Hideaway Family Campground
 Click to rate
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Was looking for a place to camp in the area but everything I tried was full until I stumbled across this one and to my surprise it had room for my trailer. It didn't take long to realize why this facility wasn't full, the place is rough and the bath/shower room was not clean at all, I was afraid to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guy C
Strathmore, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I can only give this campground 1 out of 10.. I understand they were devastated by the flood but I believe that they have opened the park in sections that are really not ready for visitors They are charging too much for what you are getting they're charging too much per dog and a charge for a visitor who is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
nhc1232016, Front Office Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello Lesley, Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. We were unaware of the wasp issue and are having someone look at that as we speak. We would like to point out that there are multiple washrooms throughout the campground. The one located on the beach has showers and toilets as well as a laundry...

calgary
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

This campground was flooded out in 2013 and opened without doing the proper care to site. Taps and power is almost out of reach with done being in pools of water. I know we probably wouldn't come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddennyg11
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is the worst campground we've ever stayed in. Mud and more mud. Everywhere! Rocks and more rocks everywhere!!! There is nothing about "Nature" here at all. Bathrooms are terrible. All 2 of them. No showers. There was a trailer that we assumed was the showers. They were locked. Hip waders and rubber boots are a must. Roads in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christiner754
nhc1232016, Front Office Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at NHFC christiner754, We are sorry to hear that you believe that our campground is the worst campground you have stayed at. We call it Natures Hideaway as we are tucked away in a valley along a beautiful portion of the highwood river where a young camper caught a fish earlier today...

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I do not know why there are so many bad reviews of this place. We had a great time, the staff were super accommodating including Kevin + crew who delivered firewood personally to our site, the ladies at the front desk were incredible too! The beach is awesome to hang out at during the day, and its so nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M122334
nhc1232016, General Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello M122334, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are extremely proud that you enjoyed your stay with us and we cannot wait to see you again in the near future. All the best! -Megan

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Overall I was very disappointed for a river side picnic area that has a per adult and dog cost to visit for even the day. The biggest issue was the washroom facilities. I didn't have the code for the washroom house so I used one of the porta potties and was disgusted by what I found inside! The other issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M_Travel_Family
nhc1232016, General Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello M_Travel_Family, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are a private campground, which means we pay for our own sewage and truck in our own water, as well as general upkeep of the grounds. We offer day passes at a rate which is much lower than what it would cost for the night, that gives...

Calgary
Reviewed 24 July 2016

As the title implies, this place should be hidden. We were here for a day (Saturday afternoon). $5.00 per person so I paid $15.00 for my myself, my husband and my 15 years old daughter. This place is near a river, kids can play in the water and we saw people boating. The main beach according to my friends are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RCATU
nhc1232016, Front Office Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello RCATU, Thank you for your review of our campground. We do offer day passes so that guests do not have to pay the full camping rate. The beach is a sand and rock beach and can in all fairness get muddy when it rains, we have yet to find a solution for this. Some of our sites are more...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I had not been back to this campground since the first year it opened when I was a seasonal camper. I planned a camping trip for 3 days with myself and 2 year old granddaughter as I had fond memories. The grounds staff were very helpful and nice - However I did request information for seasonal rates and booking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pastorjotogo
nhc1232016, Front Office Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello Pastorjotogo, I would like to apologize for your experience here at Nature's Hideaway. Although I am not aware of all of the details of your experience, it seems like there was a fair amount of miscommunication. Our seasonal sites range in price from 2700-3400, and in order to reserve a site a deposit must be given. One of the...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 May 2016

I am not one to complain, I really like to talk about good experiences. I would like to think we just went at the wrong time a year. This place was flooded out 4 years ago and it just reopened why is not fixed yet. We paid almost 200 dollars for full service for the long weekend and left a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carlaneburto
nhc1232016, Front Office Manager at Nature's Hideaway Family Campground, responded to this review

Hello Carlaneburto, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I would like to apologize for your experience here at Nature's Hideaway. In 2013 we were badly effected by the flood, so much so that we were unable to provide camping sites until 2015. Thousands of hours of work have gone into the campground and we are proud...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Nature's Hideaway Family Campground

Address: 261 Ave at Highwood River | DeWinton, Calgary, Alberta T0L 0X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nature's Hideaway Family Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's not a hotel it's a campground”
guyc560, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“this is a campground and not a hotel”
RCATU, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
2 of 2