We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 24/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Updated 24/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#85 of 119 hotels in Calgary
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Calgary, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at Econo Lodge Calgary provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel guests have access to a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage. You can also enjoy a pool and breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Econo Lodge Calgary. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Calgary, Econo Lodge Calgary is located a short distance from the Light Rail Transit that takes you to all the City has to offer! Should time allow, McMahon Stadium, University of Calgary, and Olympic Oval are some popular attractions that are within walking distance. Enjoy your stay in Calgary!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Indoor pool
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
29Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
288Reviews5Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 105
  • 56
  • 26
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Inessa wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We spent few nights in this hotel, rooms 205 and 206 Floor 2nd in the period from September 4 to 6. When we arrived home and found lice in my daughter hair. I really regret that I stayed in this hotel. From the very beginning the rooms and bed seemed untidy. I must to change the hotel immediately when we just arrived, but we stayed. Now I spend over $50 for Lice shampoo, but was much better if I just paid more for the other Hotel. Do not do my mistakes people
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
KSC wrote a review Sep 2020
Winnipeg, Canada1 contribution
As we were on a road trip across the prairies, I booked this hotel particularly for its pool. I especially called the hotel before our stay to confirm that the pool would be open. I was informed that yes, indeed, the pool is open. Great. We arrived at the hotel after a 13.5 hours drive with my daughter looking forward to relax in the pool. Imagine our disappointment when we were informed that the pool closes at 4:00pm! We had arrived at 6:30pm. With check-in at 3:00pm and a requirement to book a pool time beforehand, the pool is essentially closed to anybody staying over for one night. I feel deceived as I would have booked an alternative hotel if I would have been advised honestly as per the pool hours. Additionally, our rom (201) was at the very end towards the street and quite noisy. We will think twice before we book at an Econolodge again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Zeenat Ladak, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded 4 Sep 2020
Our sincere apologies for the miss communication that naturally and understandably that led to your disappoinment in your stay at our hotel. We do have the pool open earlier in the day as we have just re opened it due to the pandemic closure and were monitoring its usage for the safety of our guests. This has been successful and so we hope to increase our "open pool hours to early evening . It will still be with limitations to allow for sanitization between each use. I have discussed this with our team to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope you will give us another chance and might i suggest that you ask for an interior entrance room or a room away from the street . This should hopefully minimize the noise from the street. Once again I really do apologize as I can understand you were looking forward to the pool.
Read more
TravelMeAllTheTime wrote a review Aug 2020
London, Canada44 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked this hotel after seeing the management seemed to have reasonable responses to guests that seemed like they were actually the bad apples. I thought, we are not like that so this hotel should work for us. I called reception to ask a question and she told me to call back when a supervisor is there. I asked if she could take my number and they could call me when they are able. She said, “We don’t call people. . .” And something about how I made the reservation so I need to call if I have a question. Her tone wasn’t sounding so friendly as if I was just a nuisance. I remembered all the reviews about the customer service and thought maybe it wasn’t all the guests’ fault. I would advise being careful, maybe calling with a question first to get a feel for the place. I cancelled because if the service is this poor before getting there, I don’t want to know what could happen if there are any bumps afterward.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Zeenat Ladak, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded 27 Aug 2020
I am sorry to learn of your negative experience . I do apologize for the service you received. I will look into this personally. Feedback from guests is extremely important to us and thus would really appreciate if we could connect via a call. This will truly help us in training. Thank you Once again I do apologize and hope we are able to host you in the future .
Read more
Kipp wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
We were charged twice for 6 days of rental and recieved alot of rude remarks when we tried to get this straightened out. They took no responsablity in the error, nor any refunds. She wouldn't e realized on the first day(of a 6 day stay) and they still wouldn't correct it for the remainder of the stay (reimburse for the most of the week) They kept telling us that the manager wasnt in until there was only one day left.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Deb T wrote a review Oct 2019
Toowoomba2 contributions
Writing this on behalf of Australian friends who had to take an emergency flight to Canada (Calgary) to be by their son’s hospital bedside after a life-threatening accident. (They are currently at the hospital as I write this and do not have time right now to write a review- but this review needs to be expressed!) Their son is in critical condition and they are living on an hour by hour / day by day existence. They articulated this to Econo Lodge staff upon checking in and explained they would need flexibility with dates as they did not know how long they would be in Calgary - it was dependent on their son’s recovery after 4 surgeries in a 10 day period. Whilst sitting by his side in the hospital room after another surgery- Econo Lodge staff removed all of their belongings fro their room- throwing and stuffing everything in plastic bags. They de-activated their hotel key. Upon returning at 1 am back to their room the husband discovered he could not access the hotel. It turns out Econo Lodge staff had kicked them out of their room because they could not confirm with Econo Lodge their date of departure. Desite the fact they had communicated this with staff at check-in that flexibility was paramount due to the circumstances of their son. To add insult to injury personal belongings were damaged, and the hotel failed to return their only International power adaptor. The couple were then forced to seek last minute alternate accommodation on top of the horrific ordeal they were already experiencing doing bedside vigils at the hospital Trauma ward, in a country on the other side of the globe, with no family, or friends in reach. So much for the infamous Canadian friendliness and hospitality renown worldwide. Shame on you Econo Lodge Inn& Suites University Calgary, Canada. I will be spreading this story of your complete lack of compassion and empathy far and wide.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Response from EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review your friends stay and hopefully the hotel will be able to clarify as we tried our best to explain the situation to them. We deal with emergency hospital visits daily and as such we have a specific program put in place to make them as stress-free as possible, including being flexible with a guests check out date. We explained to your friends that they need to book more nights than anticipated, even if it was to secure the room for several weeks or months as they had already stayed 10 days with us. We do not stop selling rooms in anticipation that a guest will extend their stay and hospital stay guests do not get charged cancellation penalties because we understand that they are on the hospitals schedule, not theirs. Your friends were in a King handicap accessible room, which we only have 2 in the entire hotel, and the room had been reserved by a guest who had a wheelchair and needed accessibility. Your friends were due to check out and had not contacted the desk regarding an extension as if they had we would have let them know the room was not available and they would need to move their items. We did not have a phone number to reach them and as such we emailed them to let them know we needed them back at the hotel. We waited until 2:30pm before we had to enter the room to clean it for a guaranteed 3pm arrival, stored the items in our secure storage, and placed the refrigerated items in our fridge so they wouldn't go bad. We also took the liberty of securing another room type that had more flexibility and held that for your friends so they would not have to search out other accommodations as we understood the stressfulness of the situation. Your friends did not arrive until after midnight and were not interested in hearing our explanation, understandably; however the guest who had reserved that accessible room could not be "bumped" for your friends. We would like to point out that we did not steal the adapter, it was found in the wall and returned promptly when we were notified it was missing in the morning. We're sorry you and your friends feel that the hotel has somehow failed you, but we stand behind the compassion and the caring nature our staff and hotel offer our hospital stay guests on a daily basis as stated in the hundreds of online reviews. Thank you.
Read more
US$54 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
econo lodge inn & suites university hotel calgary, econo lodge inn and suites university, econo lodge university, econo lodge calgary, calgary econo lodge
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryNorthwest Calgary
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Nearby attractions include University of Calgary (1.1 km), Olympic Oval (1.1 km), and University of Calgary Outdoor Centre (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big T's BBQ, Juree's Thai Place Restaurant, and Nick's Steak House & Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Calgary (5.6 km), Lougheed House (4.1 km), and Southern Alberta Pioneers' Memorial Building (6.0 km).
Is Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.