We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Calgary University

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Calgary University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Calgary University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Kimberley, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I stayed here for one night on a quick overnighter to Calgary. I was looking for something inexpensive and comfortable. This hotel was both. For a room under $100 it came with a comfortable king size bed, A/C and flatscreen tv. Only complaint is the air conditioner was a bit loud. Bed was comfortable, room and bathroom were clean. Cant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Mike S, Thank you very much for your nice review. I am sorry about the AC being loud. I am going to look into it and see what we can do about it. Have a wonderful day and we will see you next time!

Drayton Valley, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steph s
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 259olafo
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Pros: Clean, spacious, lots of free parking. Breakfast is free, however, it's in such a busy area ( at the crossroads of the front desk, the back door, the elevator, and the ice machine/ fitness area hall) that I couldn't be bothered. I like a a modicum of privacy when I eat. Even if there was a partitian it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stiklette
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Stiklette, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are happy you liked our hotel. I want to apologise for the inconveniences you had. I know breakfast was a little crowded, which for us to see that many people is wonderful! As we got busy in the breakfast area we always...

Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42karyl
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is acceptable for its budget price point but this by far the worst bed I've ever slept on. At least 20 years old and warped/bowed into the centre. Will be checking out from my stay a day early. Everything else is sorta clean and acceptable but the bed is everything and it's horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Scott G, Thank you very much for not checking out early and for giving us the opportunity to get you a better service. Like I said in another review, this is a hit and miss situation; some customers love soft beds and some love firm beds. You can always check our previous reviews. I am going to give you...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This hotel is well worth looking into during Stampede. Great value for the money compared to other high priced hotels. Clean, large, comfy room with a mini fridge and micro. The TV worked fine everything else seemed to look great. The only concern would be the A/C. It seemed extremely loud so all we did is turn it on all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zigie
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear Zigie, Your review is fantastic! Thank you very much for taking the time to do it. I am very sorry about the AC being loud, we will look into start buying the ones that are not as loud. As per the pool, you are right, we share it with the hotel next door since is the same ownership and...

Balfour
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed the down-home hospitality of the management and staff. Didi in housekeeping went above and beyond! The room was spacious and comfortable..and very clean. I recommend this property snd would stay here sgain.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jake M
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello Jake M, On behalf of my staff and myself we want to thank you for mentioning us and for taking the time to review us. It makes me so happy when customers mention my staff, that for me means they made a good impact on you. and yes, rooms are clean and comfortable!!! Thank you and I do hope...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

stayed for 2 nights from july 5 to 7. clean and large room, fast wifi, near the train station, free breakfast, in-room microwave, fridge (with free bottled water) and coffee maker. 'will definitely stay at this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marilou g
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Dear marilou g, I thank you very much for letting other people about our property. I am sure we will see you next time you are in Calgary. Thank you and have a wonderful day!!!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Overall rating is only based on the hotel being a low budget hotel, should it think it is anything else than that - it would be poor overall rating. Firstly, upon arrival, the standard mistake of guest agent - can I help you? Well, I have my bags- how about a WELCOME and appear happy to see me! Then the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencertraveller
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello Spencertraveller, Thank you very much for your review. The only way we can get better is to get feedback from our guests and believe me, we always do our best at this property to please each customer that walks in! Thank you for being a Wyndham rewards member, I do love this program because it has a lot good...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
167 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#43 of 109 in Calgary
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range: €55 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Calgary University staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
HUGHENDEN
over a year ago
Prince George, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Calgary University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rates under $90”
dwaineg2016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I found our room in 325 to be very quiet and comfortable.”
220marceld, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“better to be on third floor so no footsteps will be heard”
older72wiser, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the room would be less smelly if you ask for a room that was never a smoking room. Like never.”
Stiklette, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms can be warm and the air conditioner is noisy, but the windows do open.”
hollyb754, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5