We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Deer Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Deer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,367: English reviews
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

My wife, 2 children and I stayed at the Deer Lodge recently for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is situated a 5 min walk away from the lake but we did not experience any of the noise or hassle of being so close to a major tourist location. The rooms were very pleasant, beds comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the service you received. We will bear your comment regarding lighting in the hallways in mind as we plan future improvements to the property. Thank you again for your feedback,

Worthing
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

We read the poor reviews on the hotel and decided to still go ahead and book a two night stay as part of our tour of the Rockies. We did not have a car so we wanted to stay near the Lake and the chateau was too expensive. Negatives - no lifts, which isn't necessarily a problem. But there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JailbreakJas
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disturbed night of sleep. I will review your comments with our team to ensure that we are enforcing our quiet hours as efficiently as possible, and communicating useful information clearly to all of our guests. I am glad that we were able to provide some compensation...

Mannheim & Toronto
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The room was tiny. There was no table or chair in the room (unlike the picture tells you..). The Hottub and Sauna were way to cold and disgusting. The Bathtub was moldy and you could only have very cold or extremely hot water, nothing in between. Before our trip we wanted to change the reservation, but the Hotel needed 8...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BenjaminAndJohnny
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. While we feature images of all of our room types online, rooms do vary in size and layout, and third party booking agents may not display the full range of images. I am very sorry for any confusion or disappointment...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Ok, from outside it may look a bit rustic, but that is why we booked it, we wanted something charming and we definitely got it here. Quick efficient check in, a beautiful room, spotlessly clean, two lovely big beds, sumptuous bed linen, thick fluffy white towels, free wifi. So there is no TV, but with views and all that nature...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debs G
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a good time at Deer Lodge, and that Miles helped to make the experience special. We hope you'll be able to join us again in future.

Applecross
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The Deer Lodge has plenty of old world charm. Our room was tiny but we did not mind as we did not spend much time in it. We spent most of our time in the generous character filled lounge with fire place. The food and staff were very good. We were very glad that we stayed there rather than in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelmU194KS
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the unique charm of Deer Lodge and were pleased with the food and service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Minutes of walk to Lake Louise and famous hiking trails, despite the minimum lodging facilities: no TV, no microwave, no kettle or fridge, and the bathroom is extremely small, except for free wifi. But you could borrow a kettle or culinary stuff from nice reception. Considering the low price, good budget stay for real travelers;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that Deer Lodge served as a good base for your hiking adventures, and that we were able to help out by providing additional items as needed. We hope you'll be able to join us again in future.

Reviewed 1 September 2015

The hotel is beautiful, but NOT worth the price they charge. We had the heritage king room (the best room there) and it was not worth the ridiculous rate we paid. No heat in the rooms at all (the weekend we stayed in august was super cold. -1 in the mornings, high of +10 during day) no TV or bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deena G
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, but appreciate your feedback as this will help us improve in future. I apologize that the heating in your room was not reactivated in time to make the temperature comfortable for you, and we will review our procedures to be better...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Deer Lodge is ideally situated just a 5-minute walk from the beauty of Lake Louise. The rustic lodge has outstanding food, and a relaxed ambience without TVs in the guest rooms. Indeed, the chance to read in a large room with historic photos with a buffalo head mounted over a fire place, while enjoyijng the beauty of the mountains through...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_S154913
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Deer Lodge and were able to relax and get away from it all. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Reviewed 31 August 2015

my room was not updated, every shower was interrupted by water turning cold, then too hot, Difficult, Major problem however ----- they have a policy of placing a hold on your credit card for 20 business days. My room was PRE-PAID, no charges were made to my room. Yet it took one month to clear the $400 hold they placed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winifred G
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. To clarify our policy regarding credit cards; in common with most hotels in the area, we pre-authorize a credit card for each room upon arrival, to cover any incidentals. This applies to all guests, including those who have paid a third party booking agent for their room rate. For guests who prefer not...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2015

1. No amenities---heat or cool control, TV, fridge, very poor internet connect 2. Clean???.....carpet had marks all over, tile in bathroom needed regrouting or replacing came with spiders in bathtub. 3. Food.....was OK but highly overpriced not a memorable experience. If your looking for rustic this is it, at a ridiculous price. But if you would like decent accommodations avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dale452015
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As noted, our Lodge rooms are older in style with limited amenities, and while they are a great option for the budget traveller, they are not to everyone's taste. We do also feature our upgraded Heritage rooms, with...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (346)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (422)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Heritage Room One King Bed (38)
Viewed
Heritage Room Two Double Bed (53)
Viewed
Hot Tub (11)
Viewed
Lodge Family Room (50)
Viewed
Lodge Room One Double Bed (41)
Viewed
Lodge Room Two Twin Beds (28)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Tower Room One Queen Bed (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.4 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,222 reviews
2.2 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
894 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,240 reviews
0.8 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
679 reviews
6.0 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
Cuisines: Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range: €98 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Deer Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, Arkansas
9 months ago
Exeter, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Hong Kong, China

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Deer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family Rooms are large and sunny.”
  • Lovely old door with antique fixtures.
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, big and bright and clean (plus a sofa)
  • Deer Lodge - Family Room, the corner with the single bed
 of 5 bubbles 475cindyw, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesnt face the road”
 of 5 bubbles happytraveller413, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure where best rooms would be it was so quiet where we were”
 of 5 bubbles JoanneM4848, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at 2nd floor with beautiful mountain view”
  • From Dinning Room
 of 5 bubbles hcbreeze, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor will be better because no lift”
 of 5 bubbles choc601, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5