We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Royal Hotel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,032: English reviews
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Nice hotel in the downtown Banff with friendly staff and convenient access to the surrounding resorts/services. Rooms are clean. Good value. Recommend to anyone who want to experience the Canadian mountains.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 653huz
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the stellar 5-star review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and recommendation. It is great to hear that you found the staff firendly and the hotel of good value. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We had 2 rooms for a week and the location for Banff and its restaurants, bars and skiing is ideal. Hotel has its own bar and Romas restaurant attached, We didnt use these as so much choice within minutes walk. If house keeping and front of desk staff more attentive this would be ideal and excellent value hotel. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 250Fergus1
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

We truly appreciate the feedback you have given us regarding your stay. We think it is fantastic that you found the location so ideal to experience Banff's dining, bars, and skiing. However, we are sorry that both the housekeeping and front desk service let you down and that the staff were not as attentive as they could have been. We...

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Mount Royal. Ski lift passes and ski hite equipment were all ready and waiting for us at hotel. Thomas on reception was lovely. Helped us out a couple of times and would always call us by out names, great memory. Concierge man was knowledgable in helping us get to the Hot Springs and giving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clareskinner1
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clareskinner1, Thank you very much for the wonderful review of our Mount Royal Hotel! I was very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. It was even better to see that our front desk agent did such a good job ensuring you felt welcomed! Your wonderful comments about him and our concierge will definitely be...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I've stayed at the Mount Royal once before (3 years ago) and I remember the room was WAY nicer than the one I had this past weekend, not to mention the price was only $125 for the night. This time around the room was $179 and the room was crap. Tiny bathroom, random pills on the floor that weren't vacuumed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlh8723
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your second stay at the Mount Royal. We are glad that you returned for a second visit but are extremely sorry that you found the stay so disappointing this time. Our rates will vary depending on season, dates and occupancy. What should not vary is the quality of service. I am very sorry that...

Calgary
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We booked two rooms for two nights. The hotel appears to be undergoing renovations, but our room had chipped paint and banged up furniture so we assumed it was not complete yet. Also the toilet bowl had dark stains around the rim which suggests it is not regularly scrubbed. Although we set the thermostat in both rooms at the lowest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Karen B. It is very important for us to hear what our guests are actually experiencing in our rooms. In this particular case, we are terribly sorry to find that the heat in your room was such a problem. Our maintenance team will give this their immediate attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for...

Alberta Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Pros: great location, discount coupon to Toque restaurant (nice touch) , friendly staff, convenient attached restaurant and bar, easy access to parking lot, room noise was fine (there was noisy customers) but you will get that with other hotels too. Carpet did not seem dirty (other reviews mentioned that). Good Wifi quality, the deco is modern (new vanity, dresser) Cons:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tompat923
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed review and feedback you have given regarding your recent stay. The more we know about how you as guest feel about our hotel, the more we can improve our overall service and product. We are very grateful for the positive comments you have given regarding our friendly staff, parking, Wi-Fi, and location. We also thank...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We have just returned from 10 days staying at the Mount Royal in Banff. I had read some negative reviews from guests before going on this holiday and was a little apprehensive. However, my apprehension was unfounded as the front desk service we received was professional, pleasant and attentive. Our room was clean and spacious and the housekeeping was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christine C, Thank you for your amazing review of the Mount Royal Hotel! It was wonderful to hear that you were able to stay with us for 10 days. That is amazing! I loved hearing that our front desk staff gave you such professional, pleasant and attentive service during your stay. They thrive on positive feedback as it really...

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights so was able to give a reasonable evaluation. Older rooms but bed was comfortable the shower had great water pressure. They supplied us with thin towels with holes and frayed wasn't impressed with that. Had a room facing the Main Street and very loud between 0200-0300 with bar crowd screaming and yelling so ask for back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sall101
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sall101, Frist off thank you for bringing your review to our TripAdvisor page as we believe that all our guest's experience where it be good or bad should be voiced out. This way we can review the information and correct any concerns mentioned in the best way possible so that we don’t have a similar comments in the future....

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Every member of staff that we dealt with were amazing! Friendly and always happy to help! Especially Jaice on the concierge desk and Matthieu on reception. It's so conveniently located to everything, and very comfortable! We will definitely stay again on our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy M
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Kimmy M, Wow thank you so much for this wonderful review! I loved reading that our concierge and front desk supervisor made your stay a fabulous one. They are always happy to hear positive feedback in regards to their hard work at our hotel. I will definitely be sharing your review with them! It was great to read...

Reviewed 17 February 2016

The rooms are fine, not too fancy but nice and clean. The staff is wonderful, so helpful and nice. They really made our stay that much more enjoyable! We had an issue and they were very quick to fix it and went above and beyond. The only real issue I found was that the noise from the hallways is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel .
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Rachel, Thank you so much for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests! I was very happy to hear that our staff made your stay an enjoyable one. Seeing them go above and beyond for our guests really shows us how hard they work to ensure our guests have the best...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
1,124 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,371 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: €80 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates