We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,078 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,009: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect downtown location. Beautiful building, well maintained. Crown moulding, solid wood doors, cool architecture. Free wifi. Rooms are clean, not very big though. Also bathrooms were small. Being an older hotel there were not many electrical outlets which was annoying to charge phones. Free parking but limited spaces. Other people complained that it was loud, the hotel provide ear plugs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany T
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bethany T, Thank you for your review on your last stay with us. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Mount Royal, as well as the free parking and the free Wi-Fi. Your concerns about the size of the bathroom and the number of outlets were forwarded to our Management for their information, and...

Summerside, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Mount Royal recently, as we always have when visiting Banff. Even though it didn't have the amenities of some other hotels and the decor was dated, we never minded because it was centrally located, historic and CLEAN. However, this visit was a huge disappointment in that area. We arrived and settled in, and noticed some concerning...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lynn1413
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very sorry about the cleanliness issue, and as I have mentioned in another guest review, our housekeeping management have already schedule a deep cleaning for all the rooms. We hope that despite this issue, you will give us another chance to show you that our quality of cleanliness and guest...

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The mount Royal hotel couldn't be better located in the heart of the town of Banff. We only stayed one night but wish we had been able to spend more time there. Staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We spent a week in Alberta and it was by far the best accommodation we stayed in . We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinwU1183HI
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colinwU1183HI, We thank you very much for your highly rated review. Our team will be very pleased with nice comment on the quality of their service. We hope you will be bale to stay longer next time! have a wonderful day, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On our annual trip to the Banff Mountain Film Fest we usually stay at the Mount Royal for proximity and convenience. It is budget priced, friendly and good value. Our son booked it this year, making a silly request. We didn't know about the special request, walked in to our room to find they had actually done it. The housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeandHank
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DeeanHank, All the pleasure was their! I know they did have a lot of fun creating your surprise, and they were very exited by your reaction. Thank you very much for sharing this experience with us. We will be more than happy to welcome you again. please do not hesitate to request another surprise in your room! Cheers! Estelle...

Lacombe, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed here several times because of the location. You can park and then walk everywhere. We ask for a room overlooking Banff Avenue, which is nice but can be noisy during busy times. The rooms are becoming dated and our bathroom this time was disgusting! Lots of mould on the tiles around the shower/tub and the drain was broken....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy E
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy E, We thank you for the time taken to review your stay in our hotel. Yes, our hotel is ideally centrally located, and our free parking is very convenient, as you can walk everywhere without taking your car. The cleanliness issue was already addressed to our housekeeping team, and a deep cleaning of the rooms was already scheduled....

SE England
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here twice ...on our way to Jasper & on the way back. The room were up to the standard we expected at the price we paid...They had done a good job in keeping the place up to scratch. Does what it says on the tin. Ideal location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 48Fred48
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your nice review with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays at the Mount Royal. We work hard to make sure we offer the best stay to our guest, and we did it with you twice! We hope to welcome you again on your stay in Banff! Regards, Estelle lo...

manchester england
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had a 5 night stay here and booked following a stay here 3 years ago. This time we decided to treat ourselves and book a premium room. The room we were allocated was very disappointing and certainly didn't match the description on the hotel's web site. It was very small with a tiny bathroom and didn't have facilities that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manc48
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear manc48, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on your last stay . We understand your frustration, and we are sorry that the room you were in didn't match your expectation. This will be followed to the management for their information. We are glad that you liked the central location and the cleanliness of the hotel. Thank you, Estelle Lo...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Our room overlooked the main street and was smack in the middle of town... Perfect for shopping and eating... Our room was comfortable, near the lift and the staff helpful... Breakfast was served in the restaurant up some stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K C
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K C, Thank you for this 5* review! It is always a pleasure to read a happy guest. We thank you for your nice comment about our staff. We will be happy to welcome you again on your next trip in Banff. Have a wonderful day, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Red Deer, Alberta
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This is my second experience with a Brewsters property, and I have had the same problem with both locations: cleanliness. I was a single traveler staying in a room with two queen beds. When I checked one of the beds, I noticed there were many long, black hairs on my pillow. I wasn't even planning to call down and complain,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 326jay
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry for the lack of cleanliness in our rooms. We have already addressed this to our housekeeping team, and deep cleaning of rooms will be scheduled soon. Sincerely, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This hotel was in the perfect location, close to restaurants and shopping. The rooms were newly renovated and at a very reasonable rate. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future and recommend it to those looking for a good room for a good deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 120allisonk
Brewsterhospitality1, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 120allisonk, We thank you very much for this high rated review! Our guest satisfaction is very important for us, and we work hard to make our guests happy and offer them the best stay ever! We will welcome you again with a great pleasure. Sincerely, Estelle Lo Piccolo Front Office Manager

497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#19 of 32 in Banff
870 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 32 in Banff
371 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.7 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: €63 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
11 months ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay above ground level”
 of 5 bubbles IDWiner, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay