We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 902: English reviews
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We began our Rockies vacation in June 2011 with a 4-night stay here. We saved $40 per night by booking early. The room was very spacious, with a patio and wonderful view, the kitchen had everything we needed. Our first night we had a minor problem in the room and after we called the desk a technician arrived within 10...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank golouis99
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2011

chalet run down and in need of repairs; door hinge falling off; balcony in need of paint; no chairs available outside; enjoyed the property but not the chalet; considered it over priced for the quality; would not recommend to a friend or stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank waynemichael
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I orginally booked a 1 bedroom condo, when i arrived and found out that the one bedroom condo's are part of a fourplex and are in the basement with little view and there was quite musky smell. after talking to mgmt had room changed to main loft unit at an extra charge. this room was clean but diffidently out dated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank macmor90
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The waterslides/pools and playzone were a hit! Great way to burn off energy for the kids and suitable for both our toddler and schoolager. Really appreciated the life jackets. Three MINOR suggestions: 1. Include the "Last load into the washers by 8:00 p.m." rule in your info handout. It just says the laundry is open 'til 11:00 p.m. 2. Ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dancin_Annette
winnipeg
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at the Douglas Fir at the end of June while we were in Banff. The rooms are large, spacious and clean. We stayed in one of the smaller regular suites. The resort itself is a little on the old side and needs some updating. Trying to find your way around can be a little confusing. The parking stalls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DarthHiggy
Brownsville, Oregon
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We enjoyed staying at the Douglas Fir Lodge while visiting Banff. When booking, I was concerned that its family-oriented image would mean noisy kids, but that wasn't the case for us. We stayed in one of the "Bachelor Suites" in the main lodge, which is upstairs from the lobby. The room was spacious and had a full kitchen. We took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelVet61
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The layout of the hotel was confusing. There were no acceptable accomodations for the physically impared. Inadequate amount of safety handels in the bathrooms. The stairs were almost unmanageable as they were too steep for myself let alone my 83 year old mother. This been ssaid... The hotel ws very clean. The room was very clean. There were a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OverworkedBoss
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments in regards to our location, amenities and cleanliness. We do not have rooms that have been specifically designed for the physically impaired. We do have over 30 rooms that are elevator accessible with no interior stairs. Our hotel was built to meet or exceed all existing building codes. Our insurance company and the local fire...

Deventer, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We enjoyed the good service. Nice clean chalets with all the utilities that you need.We have no complaints at all. We travelled across Canada so it was nice to be able to do our laundry just around the corner from our chalet.We used their barbeque's which were nice and clean. Such a beautiful place to stay! We will come again...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carrie058
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. It seems like you had a big journey and we are glad that we were able to accommodate you with such ease over this leg of your stay in Canada. Our kitchens and laundry facilities make for a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again.

Marshall, MI
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Once again we had a great stay at the Douglas Fir Resort. We always look forward to returning to this wonderful resort in such a spectacular setting. Everything is top notch and the staff is very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mgmMarshall
Launceston
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Staying in the mountains at Banff was just great. We had a family of ground hogs that we could watch from our balcony and saw deer in the grounds. The complimentary use of the Roam Bus made our travels so easy. We have a daughter who uses a wheelchair and the buses kneel and then there is an electric ramp...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank musicorn

703 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (438)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Executive Suite (106)
Viewed
Family Suite (135)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Loft in Lodge (63)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Studio (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,040 reviews
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,001 reviews
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
791 reviews
1.8 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: €109 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends what your looking for the A-Frames and Condo Style rooms are good for Family Outtings”
 of 5 bubbles Hispeed986, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the rooms attached to the heated garage are very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles NilimaK, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some have stairs so it would depend on your level of fitness”
 of 5 bubbles LeeLane, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building...You get underground parking and don't have to shovel your car out of the snow!”
 of 5 bubbles 584andreaj, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back facing room is the best view!”
 of 5 bubbles jamespP3273CZ, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay