We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Irwin's Mountain Inn

Booking.comUS$93*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Irwin\\
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
Start your review of Irwin's Mountain Inn
 Click to rate
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been going to Banff, and staying at Irwin's, on and off, for many, many years. (Late '90s, yikes!) It's a outstanding example of that particular species of Banff Avenue 3 to 5 story hotels of a certain age, with the parking underground and, depending on the breaks, various states of ongoing renovation, depending on the timing. Mostly, at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seemac70
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Wifi was so bad couldn't load anything had to go to over hotels to check email. the manager was rude and obnoxious. Rooms where dated and very overpriced. Rooms where very clean and cleaners very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraser D
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Our room with 2 beds was VERY roomy!! Nice street/mountain views. Only a 5-10 minute walk to downtown shopping. Wish they had a pool. Hot tub was small and very crowded with 8 people. Nice staff. Free underground parking. Elevator.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tothelimit
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello tothelimit. Thanks so much for your recent review of Irwin's Mountain Inn. I appreciate you taking the time to highlight our hotel. I do want to draw your attention to a couple comments. Our hotel does make it possible to have use of a pool at the Rundlestone Lodge-our sister hotel. We do make it known at our check...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Comfortable quiet room, we were at the rear overlooking the mountains on the 2nd floor. Spacious room with coffee machine, microwave, fridge. Comfortable bed, clean room. Laundry, gym, jacuzzi, ski storage area, vending machines for treats. Staff friendly and helpful, especially Jason on Reception. Had lovely Chatre Briannd in restaurant La Tosca in hotel. Good location for ski shuttle bus,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Bs_of_2007
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello The_Bs_of_2007. Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. I am very grateful for your honest and kind review. I do hope you will join us again soon. Yes, Jason is one of our Front Desk Agents and has a keen customer service skill for all. Do come again and when you do please book direct with us to...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I am extremely disappointed with a situation I've encountered after staying at this hotel last weekend. I stayed in room 240 on Sunday night (Feb 26), checking out at roughly 10am on on Monday, Feb 27. By my mistake, I left my black Oakley snowboard jacket (gold inside) hanging on the coat rack. On Tuesday afternoon while I was back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashrei
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ashrei. I would like to correct your above posting. You have been reached out to discuss the situation however you have not replied. Subsequent to this is that you accuse us of something that is very derogatory in your post. We take every complaint seriously and investigate thoroughly. A jacket would have been one of those matters of utmost...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2017

we booked online directly with their hotel one night stay in Standard Two Queen Bed room for Feb 14, on arrival we were given room # 346 on the third floor, this was recently renovated large room with cathedral ceiling, room was clean and all looked well maintained, beds were comfortable, WiFi work well, there was a microwave, coffee maker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew154913
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello andrew154913. Thank you for your stay with us and for your post. This is most gratifying to hear of your experience. Thanks for highlighting what mattered to you. I am most pleased and hope you return again soon. When you do please book direct with us for the best price guaranteed.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This hotel is clean. But it is very old and dated. Our room was not the smallest, but it *was* small. It is a pet-friendly hotel so useful as we were travelling with dog. Staff were very friendly. The biggest con was the price. Paid almost $250 for one night. Could have booked other hotels for considerably less, just that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigMack2017
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello BigMack2017. Thanks for your review of our property. I am sorry you believe that the price of our hotel was too much, however you would have been hard pressed to find it lower given the demand cycles in Banff. Our hotel is a budget minded price with the traveler in mind. Our goal is not to provide a very...

Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This by no means is an upscale hotel, yet it was clean and did the trick for sleeping after long days on the slopes. It was a great location just far enough away from the busy-ness of the main drag in Banff, yet no more than a ten minute walk to all of the restaurants and shops. We found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egyptianbluebackpack
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello egyptianbluebackpack. Thanks so much for your review. I am glad that we fit the bill for your stay and our apologies for your noise issues. That is never our intent. However, crowds can be busy on the weekends. Sorry you experienced the negative side of that. I sure hope you stay with us again and when you book back...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is out first time in this hotel, We really enjoyed our stay in Banff especially in this hotel, the room is very clean ad we got new sheets, room was excellent and spacious. Front desk need to smile more often. Perfect location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myneverendingvoyage1
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello myneverendingvoyage1. Thanks for your quick and clear review of our hotel. I appreciate the feedback surrounding our desk staff and I will make sure we note that in our next discussion. Glad you took the time to comment. Stay with us again and book direct for the best price guaranteed. Come again soon.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We were really impressed with how clean our room was. The price was an excellent price point for a hotel in Banff. Great location, quiet and the restaurant was delicious. We will definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJG555
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello JJG555. Thanks for your short and sweet review. Thanks for taking the time to note our cleanliness. We work hard to ensure every stay is like this. I am so glad our price was right. When you stay again book direct with us. Call us direct and get the best price guaranteed.

341 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Family Suite (47)
Viewed
Hot Tub (12)
Viewed
Mountain View Jetted Tub Room (34)
Viewed
One King Bed (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Queen Bed Suite (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
0.1 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
389 reviews
1.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
686 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: €71 - €278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Irwin's Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Calgary, Canada
19 days ago
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
7 months ago
Bryan, Texas
7 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Irwin's Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms opposite Banff Avenue are generally quieter.”
seemac70, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room #346 is great, large, quiet and renovated, facing back side, arrive early if you want underground parking”
andrew154913, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to not be on the main floor. Honestly, the wall are thin for all the rooms.”
BigMack2017, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Call for a reservation - we got a room rate and type better than anywhere else we could find!”
2010JD, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Looking over Banff Avenue is the best view”
724antonioq, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$110
AMOMAUS$99
PricelineUS$93
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates