We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Poets' Corner

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 288: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Poets' Corner
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely pub nice grub, good beer, nice log fires. What more do you want? Oh yes you can take the dog in. There is always a nice welcome and it is clean. Every Wednesday there is s quiz and food is always provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaynebw
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called for a quick drink but the food smelled lovely so we ordered quite late. This was no problem for the staff and we were served promptly and courteously with lovely food for four of us. Two lots of fish and chips - beautiful fish 'real chips' mushy peas and fab tartar sauce which tasted home made it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
oldpoets, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit we strive to make our customer feel welcome. Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor.

Burton on Trent
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Group booking - made nearly two years ago - what a disappointment. This was a special occasion for two 50th birthdays and to be honest it was so bad that we didn't hang around after the meal. Good initial impression upon arrival and drinks in the bar. We were then taken to an upstairs function room. There were only two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The_Simnetts
oldpoets, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for your night being spoilt and the delay in responding to your review. My wife and I have taken over management at the Old Poets from the 23rd January and did not witness what happened on this night but understand how poor service can ruin an otherwise good night. We understand that we are...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We were advised by the host of our B&B who had phoned to make a booking, that this pub was excellent. Not so. We arrived for our booking at 6pm and were told there was a limited menu, being New Year Day evening. We were disappointed as we were not told that, nor was the host of our B&B. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela B
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This was perfect! Three open fires with a star shaped interior meant a cosy, intimate setting. Friendly welcome. Clean interior. Great ales on tap. The food was delicious - generous hearty servings. I had the stew and herbed dumplings and my husband had the trio of sausages. Two drinks each and the mains came to £36.80. Thoroughly recommend the old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debmcc2013
Nottingham England
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

After reading the below review I strongly felt that I had to review our stay. We stayed with friends New Year's Eve in The Byron Room and The Burns Room. I cannot fault this accommodation. They were both good sized doubles with lovely fireplace features. Great en suite facilities and plenty of tea and coffee, biscuits and bottled water. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen_Barrett
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Well were do I start we have visited the pub a few times got no problem with the staff or pub as a place to drink or eat however we stayed in the the Kipling room with our two very well behaved dogs . We were shown to our room by a very friendly and helpful member of staff ....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda M
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub....excellent food and dog friendly. We called boxing day lunch pub was quite buzy but we didn't have to wait long for our food. Nice real fires so it was warm,cozy and inviting. Would definitely recommend ☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I visited on the 28th December with my Dad, my dad speaks very highly of this pub but my first impression wasn't great. I forgive the service time as it was extremely busy. Allowing dogs in the pub is fine but i don't agree with them being near your food. After waiting 30 mins for our fish and chips to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annice B
Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Lunch with 5 friends, in a friendly, warm & cosy pub. Good choice of pub grub and interesting sandwiches. Great beer from the pub's own micro brewery. Top that with a lovely warm fire burning in the grate. Lovely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashover
4.2 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
679 reviews
23.8 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
14.4 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
189 reviews
10.5 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,251 reviews
9.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional British pub in the heart of the Peak District. Surrounded by beautiful walks and spectacular views. We offer five en-suite rooms and also have a three bedroom cottage attached to the pub. Only a short drive from Bakewell, Matlock and Chesterfield you will always have plenty to do. We offer an excellent menu and a warm welcome and our staff will do everything to make our stay memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Poets' Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Poets' Corner staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Derby
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Poets' Corner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't say a good thing about the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles L3342WLamandam, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there would be a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles caroledd328, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think there are 5 rooms in total 4 of which are double and the other is a twin room.”
  • Beautiful Country Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 840millieh, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“always stayed in the same room !!”
 of 5 bubbles Pog_66, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The room I was in was lovely it was Byron very red”
 of 5 bubbles flawson1952, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5