We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Poets' Corner

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Poets' Corner
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in the Burns room. A small room but with a very comfortable bed providing a really good night's sleep. The breakfasts were great and the evening meals were wonderful. I had the rump steak which was one of the best I have ever had and my partner loved the steak pie. The staff and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roselynelewis
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had evening food here the barmaid was very friendly, even offered to add extra lime in our drinks if needed. The food was nice, had the veggie chilli, mild option, but was quite hot, the gallium I salad was a bit heavy on the onions, but has potential.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is in an amazing location away from the hustle and bustle of life, great choice of ales and selection of food. We popped over on a Monday and it was very busy, this wasn't over crowded but warm and atmospheric and is obviously doing better than ever before. It's great to see so many people enjoying ales, food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited early January with adult family, the pub its self is nice, 'olde worldy' in a lovely part of the country. the beer was good and we thought we had discovered a little gold mine for our next visits. However, looking closer, we found the glasses,plates, and table wear grubby which was a bit off putting. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rooms07
oldpoets, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review

We are sorry that your visit to us was so disappointing, my wife and I have taken on the management of the Old Poets from late in January and we are working very hard to make your initial impression of the pub into the one you leave with. I would be very sorry if you missed the opportunity to see...

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If anybody can find a pub better than this please let me know! The beer is first class, as is the food, service, ambience and accommodation. The pub is situated in beautiful walking country with fine views from the lounge. The well kept beer is supplied from Ashover brewery plus guests, and some is even brewed in the small brewery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 342SteveO
oldpoets, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, it gives us all enormous satisfaction to read such positive reviews. The owners & staff are driven to provide good value and to leave us looking forward to the next time.

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub nice grub, good beer, nice log fires. What more do you want? Oh yes you can take the dog in. There is always a nice welcome and it is clean. Every Wednesday there is s quiz and food is always provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaynebw
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We called for a quick drink but the food smelled lovely so we ordered quite late. This was no problem for the staff and we were served promptly and courteously with lovely food for four of us. Two lots of fish and chips - beautiful fish 'real chips' mushy peas and fab tartar sauce which tasted home made it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
oldpoets, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit we strive to make our customer feel welcome. Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor.

Burton on Trent
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Group booking - made nearly two years ago - what a disappointment. This was a special occasion for two 50th birthdays and to be honest it was so bad that we didn't hang around after the meal. Good initial impression upon arrival and drinks in the bar. We were then taken to an upstairs function room. There were only two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank The_Simnetts
oldpoets, Manager at The Old Poets' Corner, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for your night being spoilt and the delay in responding to your review. My wife and I have taken over management at the Old Poets from the 23rd January and did not witness what happened on this night but understand how poor service can ruin an otherwise good night. We understand that we are...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We were advised by the host of our B&B who had phoned to make a booking, that this pub was excellent. Not so. We arrived for our booking at 6pm and were told there was a limited menu, being New Year Day evening. We were disappointed as we were not told that, nor was the host of our B&B. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela B
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This was perfect! Three open fires with a star shaped interior meant a cosy, intimate setting. Friendly welcome. Clean interior. Great ales on tap. The food was delicious - generous hearty servings. I had the stew and herbed dumplings and my husband had the trio of sausages. Two drinks each and the mains came to £36.80. Thoroughly recommend the old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debmcc2013

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashover
4.2 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
691 reviews
23.8 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
14.4 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
158 reviews
6.4 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
209 reviews
7.3 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional British pub in the heart of the Peak District. Surrounded by beautiful walks and spectacular views. We offer five en-suite rooms and also have a three bedroom cottage attached to the pub. Only a short drive from Bakewell, Matlock and Chesterfield you will always have plenty to do. We offer an excellent menu and a warm welcome and our staff will do everything to make our stay memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Poets' Corner

Address: 1 Butts Road, Ashover, Chesterfield S45 0EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Ashover
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Poets` Corner Hotel Ashover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Poets' Corner staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Derby
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Poets' Corner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Burns room has views of the village and is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles roselynelewis, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Byron is a good double room”
 of 5 bubbles 342SteveO, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can't say a good thing about the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles L3342WLamandam, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there would be a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles caroledd328, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think there are 5 rooms in total 4 of which are double and the other is a twin room.”
  • Beautiful Country Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 840millieh, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5