We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mayan Palace

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mayan Palace
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 640: English reviews
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The premise of the Mayan is to get you to spend much more money than you planned to upgrade or buy more weeks so they can fund expansion. If you get past the fact non-owners get to book rooms before owners (we call on the first possible minute available to book 6 months out and get told the resort is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarquetteCPA
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So much solitude and beauty! And service! We were well taken care of at this beautiful resort. Just one well-maintained road 90 minutes south of Arizona. So easy to get to. Rooms are clean and have a great view. Also, golf course is immaculate! Ride your bike down to the estuary and go sell collecting on the beach. The entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thaitinsel
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This property is 40 minutes from Puerto Penasco. Very isolated. There were a lot of problems with the room we had. Very noisy furnace fan. Microwave was broken inside therefore unsafe. We had to ask to,have the floors swept, they were never mopped. The bathroom had a strong odor. Really bad entertainment most nights. Very few guests. On the very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Property - lovely, well kept. Everything within walking distance but half an hour from Puerto Penasco. Other Vidanta properties we've been at are larger and you needed a shuttle to get around. This was better. Golf course - excellent course, nice clubhouse, had an awesome lunch Rooms - clean, good maid service. Bed was the absolute worst we've ever tried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SlQuilter
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well we had a two bedroom over looking the pool. The only problem you couldn't open the doors to let in the breezes because the pond or lagoon they have before the pool lets in thousands of bugs. I would suggest bringing Deep Woods powder spray to kill some of them. I sprayed the curtins and thousands of knat like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank realteeguy
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a timeshare property that tries to pretend that it is a 5 star resort. That being said, it is better than most of the competition in Rocky Point. They have a great outdoor recreation area. They have multiple swimming pools, hot tubs and a lazy river. They have a pretty well equipped gym area as well as a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A to Z
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience while visiting our resort. We deeply regret that your stay at Mayan Palace was not as you were expecting. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance. Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don't even know where to start: The property is quite lovely in a location so far from everything you are very nearly trapped here. And you don't want to be trapped here. The main restaurant that you are stuck eating at is awful! Really terrible. The front desk check in and out is an absolute nightmare. They will add...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Charity D
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent vacation to Mayan Palace. Please accept our sincere apologies. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance. We will make every effort to see that this never happens again. We generally receive very favorable comments about our restaurants;...

Florence, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our fourth visit to this property. This visit showed improvement in the construction of the center section, but it is not finished yet. Maybe next year. Be aware that there is a Mayan Palace section and a Grand Mayan section. The Grand Mayan rooms have a larger kitchen and a full size refrigerator. The patios also are larger,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dheuer999
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The property is well appointed, well maintained and the view is amazing. Unfortunately it was bitter cold when we were here, use of all the outside facilities (pools, beach, etc) were not usable. The inside pool was closed for repairs. Hot tubs were not hot, just lukewarm. It would have been great to have a nice hot tub for relief...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahorton1
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay with us. It is nice to learn you think our property is beautiful. We regret that your stay was not as you were expecting. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at the Grand Mayan from Dec 19th to 23rd and we had an amazing time. I've stayed at other places in Puerto Penasco but the facilities at the Grand Mayan is by far the best no doubt!! It was a true resort and kids stayed at the kids club and Loved it! ! They asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adeola A

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (571)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (153)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
28.0 km away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
645 reviews
30.1 km away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
661 reviews
28.9 km away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#12 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
126 reviews
26.6 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
36 reviews
31.0 km away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#8 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Mayan Palace

Address: | Km. 24 Carretera Penasco-Caborca, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Price Range: €93 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mayan Palace staff and other travellers.
116 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (116)

Questions? Get answers from Mayan Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Half rooms face Sea of Cortez, but it is not that big of a deal. We are generally at the pool or beach during the waking hours.”
 of 5 bubbles MarquetteCPA, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the Sea of Cortez.”
 of 5 bubbles 808pamelan, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view! Otherwise your view will be the desert and estuary.”
 of 5 bubbles SlQuilter, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles realteeguy, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher up the better the view.”
  • Sunset from the room
 of 5 bubbles AtoZ_12, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5