We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,055 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,054: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are actually still here and are looking forward to our depature. The location is very good, the hotel looks lovely from the outside but the room we were put in is a disgrace. You wouldn't swing a cat here and the cleanliness is almost non existent. Our view (and sound) was the road and the passing by cars. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ola L
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are a comfortable, 3-star country hotel and don't pretend to be a 5-star hotel with a Michelin star. We represent excellent value for money for the Lakes, or anywhere for that matter, and we will continue to offer fantastic breaks to our guests. Thanks again.

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel and it was lovely. Very friendly hotel we were welcomed with a nice smile and a happy greeting. Our room had a lovely view over fields and woodland. The room was very clean and well supplied with toiletries and a well stocked tray of the usual beverages and snacks. The food was exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda J
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We couldn’t ask for a better write up of our hotel, ‘perfect’ is what we aim for. Wayne and the team thank you for really kind comments and we hope that you will choose the Damson Dene again on your next visit to the lakes.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went here with a 'living social' deal and we were really pleased with the location. Anywhere we wanted to go seemed to be 10-15 minutes in any direction. This is not what I typically find when staying in the Lake District so was very pleased!. The hotel itself is a lovely old whitewash building that you can see has/had real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GoldenBat
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is very useful to us. Yes, you are right the hotel may seem quite remote but actually we are in the heart of everything, close to almost all the top sights in the south lakes. Your comments regarding maintenance have been looked into and we are carrying out...

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent 2 nights In April 2014 as a birthday break using the Groupon offer. We had a wonderful time and would rate the hotel as a 10/10. We enjoyed a very nice and comfortable room with superb views; our dog also loved the place. We were also very impressed with the restaurant on our first night, staff and wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

5 star review! Fantastic! Thank you for giving us top marks across the board! I am thrilled that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your birthday and that we managed to make it so perfect for you. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just had a relaxing break in the lakes, excellent meal on the Friday evening. Good service through out. Always made to feel welcome by Wayne the manager including our dog. A good base to visit the south lakes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole5033
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your short but sweet review of your stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Wayne was, as always, the perfect host. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

guisborough
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have enjoyed the facilities and the reasonable prices for the food and drink. On the last occasion however, the heating for the pool was not working and the water was for to cold to enjoy. The jacuzzi in the bedroom somewhat made up for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alan h
tntpne, Guest Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed staying with us many time over the years and that you are planning to return to us again. I am sorry that you were affected by the problems we had with the pool, the boiler problems were rectified as quickly as possible and I am now happy to tell you that...

Altrincham
Reviewed 9 May 2014

groupon deal. I must firstly say that the staff at The Damson Dene are warm welcoming and professional. We have had a lovely stay and through the patience and kindness of Helena, the receptionist when we booked in we were upgraded to one of the 3 cottages placed at the edge of the car park. We found the cottage (No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelannieAltrincham
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased your stay was mostly good and appreciate your kind words about our staff. We are further delighted that you enjoyed the food. We do apologise for the one or two let downs. Considering we just got a new boiler for the pool, there is no reason it should be cold. Definitely will...

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my mum have just returned from a 2 day mini break at the damson dene. This was our 2nd visit as we enjoyed it so much last summer. We were made to feel so welcome by Wayne and all of the staff, nothing is too much trouble. The food was outstanding. We both had a couple of treatments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We couldn't have asked for more from a review - thank you so much for posting it and rating us 5-stars. It means a lot. Everyone is so pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and appreciate being mentioned in your review. Hopefully we will see you for visit number 3 soon!

Cheshire
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having just stayed at this hotel on a groupon deal we weren't sure what to expect . This was a lovely cosy hotel with great friendly staff, nice food and well situated. Our room was a family room, the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room. Tea and coffee and miniature toiletries in the bathroom. If I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane758
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and stay. We are delighted you found us to be a lovely hotel and your comments about our staff have gone down well! We appreciate your tips on areas for improvement; rest assured there will be more painting going ahead very soon. Thanks again and we'll look forward to seeing you again.

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I bought a Ling Social deal to stay here for two nights with my 18 year old daughter. It was an excellent offer as we had a fantastic four course meal in the restaurant and enjoyed a delicious breakfast both mornings. We had tickets included to take a boat cruise on Windermere, which is a short drive from the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

What an enjoyable review to read thank you. The hotel does have wonderful character (and characters!) and we're happy you took notice and enjoyed it. Yvonne also thanks you for personally mentioning her as well. we're pleased you will visit us again; see you then.

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
7.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,287 reviews
3.7 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,214 reviews
9.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
965 reviews
7.6 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: €82 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on ground floor small Avoid Room 25!”
 of 5 bubbles stuartbruce42, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stayed in room 11 overlooking the small lake and garden but be prepared we woke up to ducks sitting on the windowsill”
 of 5 bubbles 350KarenT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on a Groupon trip so were on the ground floor as we were the last time, the rooms we had were 24 and 28, both functional and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles geob442, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any room from 13-21 would be the best.”
 of 5 bubbles alanbG8502DF, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“not 28 if you are a couple or have a pet”
 of 5 bubbles mjack2016, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5