We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 250: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Came for last minute Sunday lunch. They fitted us in and booked us an easy access table to accommodate my elderly mother. Excellent choice of three meets beautifully cooked. Plenty of choice of veg, roast potatoes, roast parsnips, red and green cabbages, roasted veg (onions, peppers, celeriac, courgettes ...) mixed carrots (traditional, purple and white) Yorkshire puds and stuffing, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DancingJaynie
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Yesterday my family and friends had lunch here. I had a very good carpaccio, however the rest of our group had hot dishes. The quantity and presentation was fine! BUT unfortunately the plates were stone cold which meant that the food was quickly so! They expressed their concern at the end of the meal; if I had had a hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahKingsbury
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would just like to thank all of the staff at The Kings Arms for a lovely experience and great meal. The conservatory area was especially nice. The wide range of food available on the menu was impressive and beautifully presented. Thank you again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonCider
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Wanted a good sat night meal with my wife Arrived 15 mins early and ordered a red wine shiraz not forthcoming and had trouble understanding his voice I settled for merlot which was very good Ordered a chicken dish for my wife and a rump steak medium rare After some 5 mins dinner was on the table but mine was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanlane083
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Kings Arms however every effort was made to make it a pleasant experience. Unfortunately Shiraz is not a wine we stock and you were offered alternatives at the table of wines we sell and your drinks were promptly brought to you. Unfortunately we are...

East Budleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

lovely surroundings, pleasant staff, and beautiful food. not your pop in for a cheap bite kind of place, real attention to detail on presentation as well as taste. would certainly recommend for special occasion meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

On arrival the staff were very friendly and showed us to our room which was clean and well maintained. After settling in we went downstairs to the restaurant for a lunchtime meal which was excellent and the service could not be faulted. Breakfast the following day was superb and plenty of it. I will certainly use this hotel again if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and cooked to order. However the bedroom was very snug, although it was clean, and the mattress was dreadful with a dip in the middle which did my back in - it needs a new mattress!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7Sarah61
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, all comments are helpful positive or negative. If you could give me a call and let me know what room you stayed in I can have a look at the mattress, nobody has mentioned anything on checkout. I look forward to hearing from you.

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Calling by this lovely refreshing looking place on a Sunday lunchtime showed many people having what looked like a good meal or maybe just a drink. My wife and I were just looking for some refreshment but believe we were definitely stitched up. We ordered a pint of bitter and asked what lager they had. We were offered San Miguel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I would like to confirm prices that you would of been charged. For a pint of beer its £3.50, if it is a guest ale then the price is £3.70. A half of san miguel is £2.00 and crisps are £1. Your order totalling £7.50, or £7.70 if you had a guest ale. Our minimum...

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I chose this accommodation online as we were attending a celebration lunch in Sidford but found the hotels there a little pricey for one night, and the Kings Arms was only £80 B&B for the two of us. Our room was immaculate and very clean, the bathroom had a heated floor and the bed was comfortable. The village itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We parked in Budleigh and walked along the river in the glorious winter sun. Incredibly busy walk. Arrived at the pub and was told it was heavily booked for lunch but could squeeze us in for an hour prior to the table be required which was nice but as we had the dog suggested we sat outside even though it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterton
4.7 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
399 reviews
3.1 km away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
83 reviews
4.7 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
4.3 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
12.6 km away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Kings Arms Otterton. Located in the beautiful village of Otterton Devon. A stones throw from the river otter is our 18th century 15 bedroom Country Hotel. With our stylish interior throughout, comfortable clean light accommodation, locally sourced quality food, friendly service and real ales this is defiantly a place not to be missed. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Kings Arms Fore Street, Otterton EX9 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Otterton
Price Range: €69 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Otterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms on 1st floor just request your preference.”
 of 5 bubbles 348JenniferP, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in garden room”
 of 5 bubbles Ian266, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 overlooks the carpark but was not noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Nerakb, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“back rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Russlambie, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Family room as overlooks garden”
 of 5 bubbles zacheyben, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay