We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Walk, Kinnitty R42 K681 Ireland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kinnitty
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ardmore Country House is a tastefully decorated country home located in the lush green countryside midway between Dublin and Galway, Cork and Belfast and less than two hours from the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney, Rock of Cashel, Kilkenny, Killarney. Enjoy a peaceful relaxed vacation, scenic walks, log fires, good food. Meet the real Irish at a traditional music session in the local pubs. Ask Chris who usually goes to play herself where it's at. We are near haunted Leap Castle and can arrange a visit for you. Visit nearby Birr Castle Gardens & Giant Telescope, Charleville Castle, Clononey Castle, Tullamore Dew Distillery or the famous monastic site Clonmacnoise. Kinnitty is at the foot of the Slieve Bloom Mountain which has many looped walking trails, and great mountain biking trails. Bikes can be hired in the village.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
168Reviews0Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 148
  • 8
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
skelly111111 wrote a review Aug 2022
Galway, Ireland9 contributions18 helpful votes
Recently stayed with Chris in her beautiful b&b while attending a nearby wedding. So friendly & accommodating. House and rooms were beautiful, bed very comfortable and water pressure in shower was amazing. Excellent breakfast also.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed the hospitality and my home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
With 4 friends we stayed 4 nights while walking the Slieve Blooom Way. Even before we arrived Chris ensured our stay would be trouble-free, giving us information to arrange a local taxi to bring & collect us from trail-heads each day as well as places to book to eat in evenings. Rooms were spotlessly clean, roomy, quiet & very comfortable. On arrival Chris made time to greet us with a welcome cuppa & Brownie, even though this coincided with the final exciting minutes of Limerick v Kilkenny final hurling match. Everything was perfect…Chris even made space to store our picnic supply boxes in her fridge. Before leaving and commenting on the beautiful display of Lavender in fragrant & full bloom in her garden she generously gave me a bunch…so my memory of my stay in Kinnitty
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Thank you Anne for taking the time to write this lovely review. I really appreciate your kind remarks. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and walking the Slieve Bloom Way.It was a pleasure to host you all.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elaine Hayward wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I had a wonderful stay here for a friend's wedding at nearby Kinnitty Castle. Chris made me feel very welcome and my room was super clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower was absolutely amazing - as was the breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Ardmore House is an absolutely fantastic place to stay in a great location along the Slieve Bloom Mountain Trail. The price was really affordable and great value for money. The choice of breakfast was great and Chris, our host, couldn't have been anymore accommodating. At 6’4 the rooms and facilities were brilliant and after a long day walking on the trail it was fantastic to come back and relax in this beautifully restored home. We had two lovely pubs less than 2 minutes walk plus a beautiful little coffee shop that sold hot food. I would recommend Ardmore House to anyone looking to enjoy a great breakaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Chris also helped us arrange transfers to the various drop off locations along the Slieve Bloom Trail which was one less
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is so rewarding when guests appreciate the effort I put in to making guests stay as comfortable as possible. Glad you enjoyed the lovely village of Kinnitty and the Slieve bloom Way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trstravels1217 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
House was lovely. Very clean and beautifully restored. However, the host was a bit cranky. From our first interaction with unnecessary comments about the luggage to knocking on our door in the morning and scolding us for being 2 minutes late to breakfast, interactions with the host were disappointing. Breakfast times were dictated to our group rather than offered. For being a hospitality professional, the warmth and welcome was lacking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Sorry you found me unwelcoming. For sure when I met you outside at your car I expressed amazement at the huge amount of luggage you had but my apologies if it offended you. What I was thinking was if it was me I don't know how I would carry it all. I invited you in to the house and showed you to your rooms. Then when you had settled in your rooms I offered complimentary tea/coffee and home baking to each of you but you declined. Your Mum and your partner had tea in the garden with me and we had a lovely time chatting. Later on your Dad came in the kitchen for ice for cocktails he was making which I gave him. We chatted about relatives he had in the locality. As both you and your partner were working on line while travelling I offered that you could use the sitting area downstairs as it would be quiet for you. With regards breakfast times , since Covid it is necessary to space out breakfast times for everyone's safety. I had other guests staying who arrived before you. They chose to have breakfast at 8.30am and 9.00am. Your party were offered a choice of times either 8.00am or 9.30. Your Dad chose 8.00am as he said he would like to get an early start. Your parents arrived at the appointed time for breakfast. When you hadn't come down 10 minutes later I knocked on your bedroom door and said "breakfast time" My apologies if you considered that scolding.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
galofmanycities wrote a review Jul 2022
Dallas, Texas231 contributions65 helpful votes
The owner is helpful and kind. This is not the place to come if you expect luxury and a grand abbey or manor. The home is well kept, the food is good, and the home is in a convenient location. We stayed one night. Pros: Price Location Comfortable sleep Food Cons: She's a stickler for 4:00 arrival, sent us away at 3:42 pm, and told us to return at 4:00 pm. We had been traveling for 4 hours at that point. So, arrive after 4:00 to be sure. Bathrooms and showers are small No hot water upon arrival, then we had no water during the husband's shower the next day
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 2 weeks ago
So sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. When you arrived earlier than you had said you would your friend suggested if the room wasn't ready for you that you would take a walk and I agreed that would be a good idea as I just wanted to give a final check to the rooms. As I had been away for a couple of days the water was turned off and takes a little while to heat. However in the meantime I offered you the use of the electric shower in the bedroom next to you. Thank you for the nice comments about my breakfast and home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rich G wrote a review Jun 2022
Austin, Texas2 contributions
Chris and her home are WONDERFUL. She is most hospitable and the home retains all of its historical character...but provides guests with modern amenities. Breakfast was fantastic as well! Couldn't ask for more!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for the great review. I really appreciate you taking the time to write it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren W wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I loved our stay at the Ardmore. Chris was an amazing hostess! She greeted us warmly and had a fire waiting for us in the sitting room. She also helped us with our dinner plans. She even walked down to the local pubs and called the nearby castle on our behalf. Our room was clean and comfortable with a peaceful view. We enjoyed dinner at the castle and met wonderful people in the pub a short walk from the home. Chris made us a tasty breakfast the following morning that we enjoyed with a view of the garden. The Ardmore is a beautiful home! Our stay with Chris was by far our favorite during our time in Ireland. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 9 Apr 2022
Thank yo Chris and Lauren for taking the time to write this lovely review. It is so nice when someone shows their appreciation for what I do. Looking forward to meeting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John O wrote a review Oct 2021
County Wexford, Ireland2 contributions4 helpful votes
Ardmore house is a beautiful old country house. Chris, the landlady was an excellent host. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast. A stones throw from the pubs and cafes in Kinnity village. Great walking trails in the Slieve Bloom mountains- a hidden gem.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John wrote a review Sep 2021
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions
I think like a lot of people in Ireland we had forgotten about the charm of bed and breakfasts for breaks in Ireland. After a very disappointing stay in a notable nearby hotel we decamped to this wonderful guesthouse. What we had probably forgotten was the human touch, from the scones and coffee and tea on our early arrival to the local knowledge and directions that saved us many a detour. It’s a beautiful setting apparently the house was built by the former Lords of what is now called Kinnitty Castle for their GP. Beautiful gardens, beautiful view and a wonderful tasty breakfast in a room with a view. Chris was an excellent hostess, book with confidence.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Byrne, Owner at Ardmore Country House
Responded 12 Sep 2021
Thank you for the 5 star review. It is so lovely to hear. I enjoy having people to stay and work hard at trying to make it as enjoyable as possible. I truly love this part of the heart of Ireland and I am only too delighted to share my knowledge of the Slieve bloom Outdoors with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty OffalyKinnitty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARDMORE COUNTRY HOUSE - UPDATED 2022 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Kinnitty, Ireland) - Tripadvisor