We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gloria's Shambhala

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zipolite
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gloria\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Roma, Italia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Probably the best view from a hostel I've ever had. We've met Pablo, a brazilian guy, and chat, very friendly guy fro iowa. Definitely one of the best experience we've had in Mexico, straight on the beach.Amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at Shambhala a few years ago and were excited to return. Sadly Shambhala has faded and I wouldn't recommend staying here. The place is empty and appears to no longer be maintained. The restaurant only offers a limited menu. On arrival we were shown very poor room options despite many better rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SpokeyDokeys
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I really like Shambhala for various reasons. The views from the restaurant and the rooms are great. Shambhala is situated on the side of a hill just above the west end of the beach and provides a wonderful vantage point to watch the ocean, the entire Zipolite beach, and surfers. There are a variety of rooms ranging in price and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rand G
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It's dirty, uncomfortable, but the worst part is the terrible service they have, you couldn't pay me to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pelu_juarez
gottakeepup, Public Relations Manager at Gloria's Shambhala, responded to this review

We're sorry you had a less than pleasant experience at Shambhala. During your visit we were recovering from Hurrican Carlotta, which struck Playa Zipolite in June of 2012. We continue to recover from the property damage the hurricane brought.

Copenhagen
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We are traveling on motorcycles for 8 months and normally stay in cheap places, but we fell for the location of Shambala and the view over the entire Zipolite beach. We loved the crazy stairs leading to our house, which was at the very top and the amazing view from our balcony. The beds were clean but not super comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Henriette T
Montreal
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Shambala is primary a spiritual place where monks from Tibet and people everywhere around the world comes for the Karma celebration on evrery new year`s eve. Gloria went tru so many hurricane recovery during her 38 years there, you can feel the energy walking on the land, every thing is relative for the eye or mind looking at it, every...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sidddhartha
carboncat
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We actually didn't stay at Shambala because it was so disgusting. We left feeling like we needed a shower. My friend and I aren't the fancy kind of travelers who need things like air conditioning and daily maid service, but neither are we the kind who like to sleep on FILTHY DIRT-COVERED MATTRESSES!! Tiny, cramped rooms on the side of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank carboncat

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zipolite
2.8 km away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
94 reviews
3.5 km away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
2.0 km away
Posada Castillo Oasis
Posada Castillo Oasis
#4 of 5 in Zipolite
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 9 in Puerto Angel
278 reviews
157.8 km away
Lo Cosmico
Lo Cosmico
#5 of 5 in Zipolite
33 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Nude Zipolite
Hotel Nude Zipolite
#2 of 5 in Zipolite
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shambhala Vision is a rustic spiritual retreat center with basic accomodations, dorms and cabanas, and a vegetarian restaurant serving fresh food. Shambhala has thrived on the Western edge of Zipolite beach in Oaxaca for over 40 years, providing a tranquil and meditative atmosphere as well as breathtaking views of Zipolite beach and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gloria's Shambhala

Address: Playa Zipolite | Apto. Postal 68, Pochutla, Zipolite 70904, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Zipolite
Price Range: €4 - €19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gloria's Shambhala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask someone there to show you the different options”
 of 5 bubbles randg2015, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Get the one with the best view”
 of 5 bubbles HenrietteT, 12 Jan 2012 | Read review
2 of 2