We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magoebaskloof Hotel

Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the dramatically beautiful Magoebaskloof area, this charming country hotel offers guests a chance to enjoy an idyllic and relaxing break in the countryside. Arriving guests are welcomed by an attractive entrance square with a magnificent mural and bronze bust of King Makgoba. Beyond the square lies the expansive view of the legendary leader's famous valley. The Coffee Bean coffee shop has outdoor seating, as well as a comfortable indoor lounge with cosy fireplace. It serves all-day light snacks and meals, tempting cakes, gourmet coffees and freshly squeezed juice (in season). Walk through to the impressive Tlou Restaurant, where an extensive à la Carte menu will whet your appetite. The expansive balconies offer al fresco dining, with views over the fertile valley. The Phoenix & Fireman Pub has an impressively long cedar bar, and huge fireplace for those chilly winter evenings. Relax and enjoy the warm and inviting ambiance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Free parking
Room service
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
206Reviews
106Photos
4Q+A
64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 58
  • 44
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A quick visit to somewhere we had been in the past to embrace the beautiful view, tea on the terrace and dinner. A disappointment regarding service level, food quality, and old decor but the view never fails. Very average home cooked food, the pub had a nice and cozy atmosphere
Read more
Response from General M, Marketing Assistant at Magoebaskloof Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for visiting us and for the time taken to submit a review based on your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of service and quality of food that you found to be disappointing. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with top customer service and anything less is unacceptable. We are glad that you enjoyed our Bar, we are very proud to have such a beautiful and cosy bar and hope that you were impressed by all the historical memorabilia we have on the walls. We hope that you did enjoy your stay with us and look forward to your return in the near future. Warmest regards, Magoebaskloof Hotel
Read more
My colleagues and I from school were hosted at Makgoebaskloof Hotel for a 2 day writing retreat. The halls are great and some stationary were provided for. We were well catered for. The food is top notch and I loved it. The place is almost always misty every morning and gives a
Read more
Response from General M, Marketing Assistant at Magoebaskloof Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time taken to submit a review based on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that overall you had a positive experience with us and are glad that waking up with us in the mountains was a new experience. Thank you for your honest feedback regarding the wifi and our rooms, we will continue to work hard to provide our guests with the most comfortable stay. We hope that you truly enjoyed your writing retreat with us and look forward to your future return. Warmest regards, Magoebaskloof Hotel
Read more
We were very disappointed with the room we were allocated - no view and looked out on a wall that was covered in damp. So do not believe all the pictures you see of the rooms looking out over the valley. The room was clean but carpet needed upgrading Staff were friendly and
Read more
Response from General M, Marketing Assistant at Magoebaskloof Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting to stay with us and for the time taken to submit a review. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the images that you saw online. We will work harder to portray the rooms in a more realistic manner although it may be a difficult task as we have a lot of different rooms. We are pleased to hear that you were still able to enjoy your stay and that our staff were friendly during your stay. We look forward to your future return where you can request for a room with a view and you may then have your coffee on our deck overlooking the magnificent Magoebaskloof Forest. Warmest regards, Magoebaskloof Hotel
Read more
I booked two nights stay, I left after the first night (early check out). The rooms are clean but the stuffy and mouldy carpets do not make for any good experience. I asked for a tiled room, due to my sinuses, this request was declined. I had to douse myself with a bottle of
Read more
Response from General M, Marketing Assistant at Magoebaskloof Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2019
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us as your accommodation destination of choice and for the time taken to submit a review based on your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the level of service you encountered during your stay. The behaviour you have detailed from our front desk is unacceptable and we take full responsibility for the lack of staff morale that you felt during your stay. We appreciate your honest feedback as it will help us improve our customer service for our future guests. Although your experience with us was not of a high standard, we do hope that you will consider visiting us on your next trip to Magoebaskloof as we are certain staff morale will have improved. Warmest regards, Magoebaskloof Hotel
Read more
had an amazing weekend at the magoebaskloof hotel staff were excellent the food was excellent the price is very reasonable and they even washed the car before we left. the rooms are also very spacious and spotless highly recommended
Read more
Response from General M, Marketing Assistant at Magoebaskloof Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Many thank for selecting to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us and that you were met with friendly staff. We hope that you will return for another visit in the near future. Warmest regards, Magoebaskloof Hotel
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
The view from our balcony.
Beautiful views!
How is this view?!!
Just look at it!
PreviousNext
123456
Do you have secure, undercover parking?
Dear Mr.Ali. Halal can be arranged, we do utilize an outside company for this. We also have a Self catering option which you could make use of. Should you wish to inquire further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 015-276 5400. Regards. Jacques Slabbert General Manager
0 votes
Hello, in which part of the hotel are these refurbished rooms located ? Wing, floor maybe even roomnumber(s) if possible ?
Dear Valued Guest. Not sure if you have visited us before but we have done work on the section opposite reception as well as some of the rooms below the swimming pool. You are welcome to contact me directly for further information or to make your booking. Kind regards Jacques Slabbert General Manager Magoebaskloof Hotel
0 votes
"Nice views"
"We've stayed in a family room and a deluxe room and both are good."
"Take the luxury suits. Worth it"
"Ask for a pool view"
"Rooms 29 and 30 have views of the swimming pool,as well as the valley."
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceMagoebaskloof
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing