We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amansala Eco Chic Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amansala Eco Chic Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amansala Eco Chic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Jaw dropping service and accommodations. From start to finish the staff, food, spa, excursions, and service was perfect. Totally enjoyed my stay and I did not want to come home. I'm looking at coming back before summer ends.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wendy W
New York
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

Amansala is a fantastic place to spend a relaxing vacation!! We were a group of three girls and shared a 3 bed room which was perfect for us. This is a beautiful but very basic Eco chic hotel so if you are looking for something plush I would not recommend Amansala but if you are looking for amazing scenery, great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eli3437
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I stayed at Amansala for a yoga retreat and decided to spend my extra night here too. The food was delicious, the staff was super friendly, and the swinging beds on the beach are heaven. It's a small style resort so it never feels crowded. I visited other places on the strip and I feel that Tulum had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Nosara, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 April 2015

The location is beautiful, its Tulum, hard to go wrong. You can't really swim at Amansala though because of the seaweed and the reef so if ocean swimming is important to you, you might pick a place down the beach with better access. The facilities are fine. Super eco-chic rustic so if you're wanting A/C and all the amenities, this...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank armyofme108
DarleneMonique, Manager at Amansala Eco Chic Resort, responded to this review

First of all I am so sorry you had such disdain for the front desk staff and the people that run the show at Amansala. We are sort of like a family down here and have all been working together for a long time so sometimes there may be too much shop talk in front of guests but we like...

Park Ridge, Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Despite the mixed reviews of Amansala, I decided to trust the beautiful pictures and book the deluxe ocean view room in the Chica section of the resort. I dreamed about relaxing on the beautiful orange pillow covered patio featured on the website, I figured the $365 a night would be worth the romance this ambiance would inspire! The day of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Inna B
Reviewed 7 April 2015

i recently attended a 5 day yoga retreat at this resort. I t is located on a beautiful white beach outside of the town of Tulum.. It operates on solar power so there is no air conditioning and dont expect hair dryers. there is however a beautiful breeze all the time off the ocean which keeps your room cool...... as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toronto196
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

When I brought a yoga group on retreat, I loved this place - despite some hiccups along the way. The location is gorgeous but the owners attitude was dismissive and terrible. That seemed to be the overall perspective of most of the people I talked to during my time there. I could look past the slight mistakes that were made...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sarahyoga
DarleneMonique, Manager at Amansala Eco Chic Resort, responded to this review

It is hard to please everyone and there are many things we can control but the weather and mother nature is not one of them. You felt you should have gotten a discount due to Mother Nature or the hotel should have as you suggested "invite everyone for a massage" but we were not able to do that for your...

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I came for a yoga retreat in February and had a wonderful time. Clean rooms, wonderful service, fantastic food. The beach is pristine, and there was a very laid back atmosphere. I also got the best massage of my life. There were a couple of windy days that brought a bunch of seaweed onto the shore, but the staff did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh P
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I loved my stay. Great food, great rooms, massages, with a laid back friendly setting. Came for a yoga retreat and found the whole places steps above any other retreat I have ever been on and I have been on a lot. If you want fancy shmancy in general Tulum is not for for you but if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jlock11
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 March 2015

I came to Amansala looking forward to a beautiful view, endless walks on the beach and swimming in the ocean. The first thing I noticed was that the beach was covered with a swath of seaweed with garbage in it about 10 feet wide and over a foot deep. There was some kind of seaweed die off and the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Linda T

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#29 of 87 in Tulum
519 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#46 of 87 in Tulum
267 reviews
1.4 km away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#63 of 87 in Tulum
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
0.4 km away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#17 of 74 in Tulum
89 reviews
0.3 km away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#18 of 104 in Tulum
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amansala is an eco chic resort located on the beautiful beach of Tulum. Set amongst the palm trees and white sand, the 24 rooms feel like you have stepped into a perfect little village. Attention to detail set Amansala apart with stylish spacious cabanas, a beachfront terrace lounge, great food, massages and tours. Perfect for a relaxing vacation, beachfront wedding or any kind of gathering. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amansala Eco Chic Resort

Address: km 5.5 Carr Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Price Range: €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amansala Eco Chic Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Amansala Eco Chic Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean front room with the view is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles exhaleyogar, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Probably not worth being here without an ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles cjs58, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask to see your room. Variable quality. Rooms near the reception have a lot of road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 545ollieb, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a direct ocean view are best.”
 of 5 bubbles nei06306, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go for the beachfront deluxe for sure!”
 of 5 bubbles Skiergirl81301, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5