We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Petit Lafitte

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Petit Lafitte
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Petit Lafitte
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,134: English reviews
Andover, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent staff. Polite and helpful. Quaint little resort right on the beach. We stayed in one of the bungalows and it was perfect. I am extremely picky about hotels/resorts and this rustic little cabin was perfect for what it was. By that I mean, if you are looking for a rustic little bungalow at a small resort, this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 14Carin
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Gracias 14Carin, We hope your trip back to the State with 10,000 lakes was a nice one. You must be entering a delightful summer about now. So I know you won’t miss us, but keep you map handy when the winter comes and find your way back to us! We passed your comments for David and Luis. Kind Regards, I.Fuentes.

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I just got home from Petit Lafitte, this hotel is nestled away from all the big hotels and it is the most beautiful treasure we found. We stayed in one of the bungalows, it was being in your home right on the beach. The food was amazing and the service is outstanding. Free internet access made connecting with the outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Hola Michele, Thank you for your brief, but very positive review. We are honored to be considered a beautiful treasure found for a vacation among friends. Our idea when creating the concept of Petit Lafitte, came from the original Lafitte experience of Capitan Lafitte on a pristine beach and the hospitality you would receive when visiting a far away friend...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I chose Petite Lafitte because I wanted to stay in a Bungalow. They do have hotel rooms, though I was looking for a different vacation experience. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor, and hence my choice Petite Lafitte. I cannot say enough for the warm welcome from Luis the personal assistance from every one and the lovely accommodations. Our bungalow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula B
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Dear 791paulab, We’re honored that you chose Petit Lafitte for your special celebration among friends. Nice that you stayed for 8 days. I think that always the first and last days are to unwind and to travel. So around 6 “free” days are awesome. Glad to hear that you are no longer the large resort types, and definitely a 60...

NJ
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just returned from Petit Lafitte. Stayed at this hotel from 4.02.14 to 4.10.14. Great vacation. This is a small resort hotel on one of the best beaches I have been anywhere. We stayed in the 2nd building from the beach. It does not matter where you stay at this resort, you are under 1 minute walk away from a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulguns
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Hola paulguns, We hope your return to New Jersey was a pleasant one. Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your 9 day stay and the uncrowded beach. We too enjoyed your company, and nice personalities. Thank you for blending in so well with the nature of things here and for sharing your review....

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lisa and I stayed a week at Petit Lafitte at the suggestion of a friend, and we were so very happy with almost everything. We had been looking for the perfect spot to get away from the snow and cold, and Playa Del Carmen in February sounded devine. We first went the route of looking at all the big all-inclusives,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cycling_Man2009
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Dear Cycling_Man2009 Wow, so you made your reservation for next year’s return before you left?? I mean…what a great honor!!. Thank you so much. That is the best reward for our efforts in trying to create special moments for our guests. We are so glad that you and Lisa liked our little hidden spot on the beach for your week...

seattle
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had been here once before, for only 2 nights, and we got invited to join a wedding reception happening that night! Almost everyone there had been coming back for years. This visit was for 3 nights, on the tail end of a seminar week at another hotel in Playa. Our next visit will definitely be for longer. So many...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chefnd
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Mr. chefnd, Are you a chef? It sound like it , not only because of your nickname in this forum, but also because of your appreciation for something like poached eggs!! I mean we’re delighted you found such pleasure in the care for details, as delivered by our staff. We hope next time, your stay, as you intend, is a...

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a nice six night stay at Petit Lafitte which included incredible views of the azure ocean, good food and friendly staff. Most people miss the pleasant small private zoo (well kept exotic birds and a few animals just next door, ask the guard). Our only complaint was the rooms. Although clean, they are old and not remodeled (our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpjpsp
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Dear kpjpsp, We’re glad you chose Petit Lafitte for your 6 day, family vacation and wish to thank you for your kind review for the staff, the food, the service and the location. Yes we are in the process of remodeling the rooms, but as the hotel is open and busy, it is a lengthy process and there are still...

Windsor, Colorado
Reviewed 9 April 2014

For our visit Petit Lafitte was nearly perfect. I didn't want some mega, highly populated, lines of chairs grand hotel. Just simple, nice, small ...boutique. It fit the bill. If you want quiet, close beach access, and a place where the staff cares ... this is it. If you want a lot of activities, modern (US style) amenities, etc. this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juwila
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Hola juwila! Thank you for your review, that even while it was brief, it depicts our style in comparison to that of large resorts. We are so glad that you considered it nearing perfection. I often tell our coworkers that perfection lies in the eye of the beholder (like beauty) so basically I am admitting that we clicked! Thank you...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent 5 days at Petit Lafitte. Driving down the road to the hotel I could feel the concern of my family about whether we had made the right decision, but as you walk into this hotel you feel instantly at home. The place is small, it is simple, staff is generally kind, and it is wonderfully peaceful. Great morning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mai M
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Dear Mai M, Ever since you left the access road has improved dramatically. The damaged sections, have been repaved completely. It had been a long fought battle to get the authorities to give us a good road, but finally the result was worth it. So hopefully that will not be an issue in the future. We are glad that you...

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Small hotel, nice beach, decent food, friendly and helpful staff. Perfect for our family who wanted to lie on a beach, read books, walk on the beach and go for a swim to cool off. The front desk was helpful, gave some good advice about renting a car to go to Coba instead of a cab or a tour van...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CR B
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review

Dear CRB, Thank you very much for selecting Petit Lafitte for your Mexico vacation. We are glad to hear that all in all you had a very enjoyable vacation with your family and that you visited Coba and Playa del Carmen, even when you were mostly looking to enjoy the beach and basking in the sun. We hope that you...

982 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (969)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (231)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (168)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (328)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.8 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
419 reviews
4.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,226 reviews
6.1 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,065 reviews
3.0 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,165 reviews
2.0 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €183 - €338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Petit Lafitte staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from Petit Lafitte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We love the bungalows!”
 of 5 bubbles tjmb1414, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms have TVs the bungalows do not.”
 of 5 bubbles Dpp41386, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I much prefer to get a bungalow over the standard room!”
 of 5 bubbles gypsy001, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance if you want a king size bed (vs. 2 doubles)”
 of 5 bubbles Tropiczul, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bungalows 1 and 9 are closest to the water, we were in 11 and it was perfect for us”
 of 5 bubbles katiem380, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay