We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel El Punto

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel El Punto
Hotel El Punto
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Punto
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We only had hot water 1 out of 4 days. At check in, there was no water at all and faucet was loose in the small bathroom. Switched rooms, still no hot water, found a roach, soft apples in lobby. No gym, no pool, but VERY convenient to everything and good price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bfreetosave
LUIS F, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comment, you have no idea how helpfull it is to be better, unfortunately our boiler operation was broken for only few hours, this problem happened because the main water pipe of the city was broken for 2 days, then our water tank has been working under low conditions. Every hotel on fifth...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Larissa, the General Manager was very helpful with answering all of my questions months before our vacation. She helped with arranging transportation from the airport as well. Victor, our driver, was also extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about Playa del Carmen and different activities for our trip. He arrived on time picking up us, and provided complimentary drinks for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelistamom
LUIS F, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Dear guest. We are very pleased for your comment, on behalf of me and my staff. Our property feels proud to offer you always an unforgattable experience. We hope to see you really soon and me and my staff will be more than happy to host you once again. Cordially. Our friendly team.

Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

I have been to Playa del Carmen many times so I did know what to expect staying at a hotel right on 5th Ave. The hotel room was clean and we received clean towels everyday. The Internet was not a problem for us at all and there was a safe available for us to use in the room. The people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steady2Eagle
LUIS F, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Dear Guest Just a short note to express our deepest apologies for the noise , the fifth avenue in high season its a liitle noisy, the bar above will be receiving a warning to remain the music according the county rules. Once again thank you for your comment , if you back any time me and my staff will be...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Poor customer service. Booked through Hotwire with already expenses prepaid. At the end of my stay, the hotel charged me again. It's been painful and annoying. Hotel staff is rude. I even had to call the police. The hotel doesn't cooperate. They argue that is my responsibility that Hotwire pays them. I've been on the phone for more than 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebzap77
Førde
Reviewed 8 March 2016

There's lot of pros and cons at this hotel. The pros are the location at 5th avenue, and te cons are the constant noise from the 5th avenue and the construction site just a few yards away from the hotel. The workers are working nearly everyday and also some days at midnight. so you are lucky to get a hole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odd123
LUIS F, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

First of all thank you very much for your comment, On behalf on me and my staff we sorry because of the construcition noise that issue is out of our reach (major city) but finally they will stop in one week , nevertheless regarding your comment we are working hard on wi-fi problems, changing modems,lines, etc. Also we spoke already...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 29 February 2016

this is a Mr Bigotes Funday in Isla Mujers,who is Mr Bigotes, ,well he is always in hiding,this tour was named after a Scottish Terrier,who's name is mr bigotes,in Spanish bigotes means Beard....He is more well known than the Pope or even the Presient of Mexico, you might get lucky and see him... .Look What is included in this tour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank raymond h
LUIS F, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are truly disappointed that your stay this year in our property was less than optimal. For almost 4 years , we have enjoyed having lot of repeat guest every winter. We can not stress the importance o unattended every room while visiting the beach club and enjoying tours. . I Our staff has been with us for...

montreal
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

I am a 49 yrs Old woman,I was there with my husband, after 2 days with no tv,no Wi-Fi and no hot water we decided to Say something to the reception.The guy said I Will talk to the manager to fix it. Finally when the manager came he started screaming at me and wanted to kick us out and call...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michele l
LUIS F, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Thank you for comment, believe me or not in a tropical storm (your stay dates) wi fi and tv signal falied, its hard to sustain the service because of the rain.I remember very well your behavioral problems with your husband, we ask you to check out because we received several complaints from other guest because of disturbing ,screaming my formt...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Location is on 5a av, so is central but the construction and noise made my stay terrible. Hotel appeared to be rather run down. Management were not very helpful either. Better hotels nearby available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William A
LUIS F, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Dear Mr. William A First of all thank you for your comments. We are deeply sorry for the drawbacks you had during your stay. Unfortunately we are passing hard times because of the neighbour construction, for this reason and not another one we are out of reach to control these noises, so there was no much we could do about...

Yuma, Arizona
Reviewed 21 January 2016

The pictures that appear in the web its not the real, the room sting , Bath room was dirty, Customer service in the reception its not to efficient . they took an advantage with my reservation. when I arrived to the hotel , I mentioned that it not was that I saw in the web. the employee mention that I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Alberto M
LUIS F, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review

Dear Alberto Thank you for your comment , I just want to clear your issue, next time please do not book anyhotel with 2 different companies , this is not fair and just looking for a better rate. also no one took advantage of your reservation, and our front desk manager charged you 1 day and half .as you were...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location (if you're prepared to tolerate the noise) but we had a terrible stay. Firstly, construction was going from 8am to 6pm and was very loud. Secondly, we had no running water for 24 hours due to a pipe leak. The internet didn't work and we were lucky we could use the wifi from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank clairecammm

410 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (235)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Street View (42)
Viewed
Master Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#91 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
110 reviews
0.7 km away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#99 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
591 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#106 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#117 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
79 reviews
0.5 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#59 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
619 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#116 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Price Range: €68 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Riviera Maya, Mexico - Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Punto staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Punto staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not take room 20 or 26”
 of 5 bubbles KentLeKiwi, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Comfy beds, great location, 1 block to the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles lisarA8264VT, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“All hotels hard to find, packed in the city.”
 of 5 bubbles bfreetosave, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“rom 19 og 29 er de eneste med balkong, men også de rommene med mest støy.”
 of 5 bubbles Odd123, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“A room at another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles williamaF2887MC, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay