We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Luna Nueva Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Luna Nueva Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Corner Brook, Canada
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hostel part of the area and when I came in the floors were filthy. The guy before me has been there for about 6 days and said the floors haven't been swept or moped when he was there. The bathroom sinks were clogged so the water floods everytime you wash your hands. The staff were pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaffeyj93
Reviewed 8 April 2016

although this is a beautiful hostel with comfortable and clean rooms i have to leave a negative review. we arrived early on a sleeper bus with the room pre booked for three nights. since i made the booking i sent two emails asking if it would be possible to have an early check in but i received no reply. we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamesepstein
Sydney
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This hostel is in a good location to the Museo de Antropologia and Noches Mexicanas fiesta on the weekend. We were disappointed on several other fronts though. We had booked a room with a double bed but they gave us a windowless twin room bed near the communal showers instead and the beds were uncomfortable. The prices for each room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyToday
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Rooms are cheap and clean with a TV and air con.. beds are comfortable.. shower is clean.. small kitchen which is handy.. you can't go wrong for the price.. It's not a typical "backpacker" party hostel but its right next door to the biggest one and half the price 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my boyfriend. A short walk in to Merida town (about 10 minutes). Nice big rooms with air conditioning. Great value for money! Would definitely recommend to anyone planning to visit Merida. Staff were pleasant although could have perhaps provided a bit more information on local events. There was a meridian dance in the main square...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljw89
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I only had the opportunity to stay in Merida for one night, so I wanted something reasonably close to both the bus station and the city centre in order to enjoy the nights stay. The hostel is certainly within walking distance to the main hub, but you will likely need to arrange a taxi or local collectivo to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in luna nueva 3 nights, hostel is well located and recently renovated but I would never recommend it to anyone! Why? The staff is horrilble. Extremely rude people, at least two guys. When at the breakfest I asked for water for tea they said that's it's finished (I just came), then when I started arguing they finally gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maja W
lunanuevahostel, Propietario at Luna Nueva Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Maja, lamento mucho que hayas tenido este mal rato platicaré con el staff, el desayuno no está incluido en el...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was very surprised what kind of hostel could Merida hide :-) Centrally located, close to both sides of Merida (cathedral and promenade), helpful staff and very friendly. Well, you have to speak spanish because knowledge of english is limited.... Extremely hot in the dorm. I was dying but they supplied with 2 more fens after all. The place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michal B
lunanuevahostel, Propietario at Luna Nueva Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por el comentario, seguiremos trabajando para ofrecerles un mejor servicio.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent four nights at the Luna Neuva. It was a bit of a walk from two of Merida's three bus stations (15 to 20 city blocks). The staff was friendly, but only one of them really seemed to speak or understand English. We managed, but just a heads-up if you have zero Spanish. It's an easy walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10flags
Wincheringen, Germany
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Actually we were booking a room over booking.com. All different roomtypes were listed there and we chose a twinroom with seating area, windows to the outside, fan and AC for 800 pesos. When we arrived in the morning we were given a smelly little room with no window, AC and no seating area for the same price!. Unfortunately my spanish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annick F

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#39 of 98 in Merida
626 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#38 of 98 in Merida
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#29 of 98 in Merida
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#13 of 98 in Merida
426 reviews
1.0 km away
Hostal Zocalo
Hostal Zocalo
#1 of 63 in Merida
528 reviews
0.5 km away
Nomadas Hostel
Nomadas Hostel
#2 of 63 in Merida
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luna Nueva has the following ammenities to make your stay more comfortable: Front Desk, A small cafe where you’ll find deli sandwiches, snacks, desserts, and hot and cold drinks. The cafeteria has a microwave and a coffee maker, 2 computers with high speed internet access. Luna Nueva has 1 shared rooms with fans. These rooms have 7 bunk beds each, and each bed has its own locker with a key to guard your personal belongings. Men’s and Ladies restrooms, showers with hot and cold water. 3 double rooms with 1 full size bed, 2 double room with 2 individual beds ad 1 double room with king size. Each double room has a private bathroom, closet, air conditioning and a fan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luna Nueva Hostel

Address: Calle 49 no. 487 x 56 A | col. centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Price Range: €10 - €23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Luna Nueva Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Luna Nueva Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The door rooms are spacious enough to consider instead of a private and the views are far superior”
 of 5 bubbles 172robertk, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street had a window/shallow balcony. Maybe fresher air, but noise from the street. The street is quiet, though, so probably not a big deal.”
 of 5 bubbles 10flags, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Room #6 was a bit noisier as it overlooks the street, but room #4 was perfect for me as it was very quiet with only a window opening onto the inner staircase (this is also the case of room #5 but it comes with twin beds instead of double).”
 of 5 bubbles FranO224, 10 Mar 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay