We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$119*
US$75*
Great Deal
US$119*
US$89*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 230: English reviews
Start your review of Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
 Click to rate
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location is great, right on the main strip, but not in the middle, so it's not bombarded by noise. I left my cell phone in the room and realized once across the border. They actually took their time to look into express courier options and send it back to me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EarthGopher
Western Finland, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly workers, nice and clean rooms. We (3 adults) stayed in 2 queen bed room and had enough room for us. Beds were nice. Wifi was really slow almost all the time. Nice area, traffic noise was not bothering at all. We didn't have breakfast, but there was a lot nice cafeterias near the hotel. Everything was close, shopping, restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lottao137
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello Lotao, Thank you for your thorough review! We appreciate you and your comments as they help us improve the experience we provide our clients. We aim to please! We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you can enjoy the pool. Kind regards, JB

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one nigjt to go fishing. Slow check in due to only one clerk and one person checking in for 3 people. Real friendly greeting and easy check in. Security guard at entrance and walking distance to all restaurants. Nice bathrooms and smaller room for 4 people but good enough. I will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeGusta O
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate your business and your opinions. My apologies for the slow check-in, we usually have more than one clerk at peak hours, but there are of course, exceptions. We hope to see you again soon, and just FYI we do have larger rooms for four people on the balcony side of the hotel. Kind regards JB

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

me and my friends reserve 4 rooms last weekend, when the reservation was made the price paid included breakfast, 2 margartas or wine, which neither of the 4 rooms recieved, when I asked the last day why, (i knew that day) they told me that I didnt asked for the breakfast cupons, nor margaritas, this is not correct, to offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorena S
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello Lorena, My sincerest apologies to you and your companions for this situation. You are absolutely right that we MUST honor our offers, and I, as the manager agree with you. Noncompliance, and not solving the problem is not how we conduct business. Rest assured that I will discuss it with my staff and correct this. Please allow us to...

Georgetown, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was a decent stay. The front desk was friendly and helpful. I chose this hotel as I was traveling with my dog. The pet fees depend on the size of the dog. I paid $15 per night and that was the lower end with a medium size dog. Rooms were clean. My biggest complaint is it was very noisy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juli O
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello Juli, We appreciate your business, and your taking the time to review us. We are pet friendly because our owners love all kinds of animals, and they understand the importance of flexibility. It does get noisy on busy weekends, but not chaotic by any means, that was surprising, but we apologize for those inconveniences. Kind regards JB

Naco, Arizona
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We must have had one of the recently renovated rooms because it was beautiful. The bathroom was well appointed and lots of hot water. The beds were comfortable with nice linens. We had 2 dogs with us who like to sleep on the bed but I didn't want them on the white comforters. Fortunately I had brought sheets with me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan R
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello Jan, Thank you very much for your thorough review. We are Very proud of our recently remodeled rooms, and we have more surprises in storage! We appreciate your thoughtful consideration of our linens in regards with your pets, we love dogs here so we look forward to another visit from you and your doggies :) Kind regards, Jeannelle Bitterlin

Vancouver
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I stayed here with family over New Years. The rooms have been recently updated - each room is unique, colourful, modern. We had such a great experience staying here; the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The security guard doubled as the bartender at the hotel's bar for guests on the weekend (free margarita + popcorn!). The breakfast served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa R
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hi Tessa, We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our new room Decor. We have put a lot of time, effort and enthusiasm in creating prettier and more functional rooms for our guests, and we are happy that you notice. Now that summer is around the corner, we hope you will enjoy some time visiting us. Jeannelle Bitterlin

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The location was excellent. It was within walking distance to museums, town and grocery store. The hotel is very dated and needs refurbishing. It was rather hard to find. There was an elderly , cute dog there. The breakfast nothing to talk about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimi D
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello Kimi, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am a little confused by your review, though and I think you might have stayed somewhere else. We do not have elderly dogs here, and our rooms have been recently remodeled. Also, you mention we have a great location but you also mention it was hard to find?...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 24 January 2017

It is perfectly located on the Primera. It is a typical US-style motel with a internal courtyard serving as parking lot and rooms all around. The rooms are very old and needing renovation. However, I think it was a decent option for two nights in Ensenada and also good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markoj05
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank for your recent stay with us. We also think that our location is amazing, and we work hard at providing you the best value for your money! You mention our rooms are dated, I think you must have stayed at a non-remodeled room, the good news is that we are almost done with all the room remodels!! So...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Family and I recently visited family in el Sauzal , very close to Ensenada. As we have the previous 5-6 years we booked a reservation at this hotel well in advance. When I reserved over the phone I indicated I wanted the room rate that includes the fast pass. This is the main reason why we stay at this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rickzac
globetrotter60, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review

Hello, My apologies for the inconvenieces you experienced, but most of all for the awful attitude you received from the attendant. I appreciate you reporting this because it gives me the opportunity to improve service and have satisfied customers. In no way do we want you to forget about the wine, or take advantage of your desire for the fast...

357 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Pool (30)
Viewed
Standard Double (25)
Viewed
Standard Double - Alternative (36)
Viewed
Standard Double - Second Alternative (37)
Viewed
Standard Single (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ensenada hotels
3.9 km away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
533 reviews
0.6 km away
Corona Hotel & Spa
Corona Hotel & Spa
#8 of 37 in Ensenada
239 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Cortez
Hotel Cortez
#14 of 37 in Ensenada
129 reviews
3.4 km away
Quintas Papagayo
Quintas Papagayo
#6 of 37 in Ensenada
127 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western El Cid
Best Western El Cid
#4 of 37 in Ensenada
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Avenida Blancarte, 130 | Zona Centro, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Ensenada
Price Range: €68 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from the back parking lot as it can get noisy.”
761kimid, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor is away from the parking area.”
  • King bed room, ground floor, looking in from entry door.
FrequentFlyerFred, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Reserve your room online and get a better price!”
MzElvira, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Perfect location for shopping and restaurants within walking distance.”
rosae658, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor is best if you have heavy luggage”
analuciau2013, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
ABVI.comUS$119
Expedia.comUS$89
TripAdvisorUS$75
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates