We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 720: English reviews
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed recently in The Old Police House and Police House cottage next door, party of 10 people. Cottages are immaculate, and beautiful. Village is traditional, great local pub, ideal location close to fantastic beaches. Good location for other Northumberland beaches/attractions. We have previously stayed in other Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel cottages, all recommended. Always great prompt service/contact via this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 79Clare152
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clare We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Old Police House at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Jewel of a hotel, excellent food, staff first class....highly recommend. Stayed in Cottage, part of Hotel complex as we took along our Scottie, decided to avail ourselves of excellent breakfast and evening meal in Hotel restaurant (best of both worlds). Perfect beach, stunning coast. Left car behind, peace and tranquility.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Harry M
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harry We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Dune cottage, part of the hotel. Whilst very well appointed and clean, there was a lot of mildew on curtains and around windows. Not good for asthma sufferers like myself. The hotel was closed for refurb, so maybe the cottage was due a freshen up too. Cosy and comfy living space, bed was a little hard. Would go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shirley B
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and have taken your comments onboard. Dune Cottage is closed...

perthshire
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Very friendly Hotel Manager with an efficient system. This cottage is allied to the hotel and was very like a hotel suite in its feel. It was well equipped for 4 people but you would need to be good friends or a family as 2 would need to use the sofa bed without much privacy. The place was warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajenkinsPerthshire
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Although the hotel is closed, we had a fantastic stay in one of their cottages, The Hayloft. Extremely comfortable, relaxing and peaceful base to enjoy the village, the beach, and everything else this part of Northumberland has to offer. Thank you, once again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2011bob2bob
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Polite and helpful staff..food excellent..old worldly pub/hotel, comfy and warm and will definitely return. Plenty of good walks along to Low Newton to sample the Ship Inns own micro brewery ales and the other day south to Crasher past Dunstanburgh Castle..beautiful coastline.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christophercL9248LX
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

France
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Stayed at the hotel for three nights on a half board basis. Room was large, very clean and comfortable bed. The breakfast and evening meal were all excellent. Good choice of food cooked beautifully. We hope to return next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E8069IYfionas
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Reviewed 26 November 2016

My wife and I have just had a three night special dinner, bed and breakfast break. It has all been said before but worth repeating. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough, food is a real treat, good quality, very tasty and well presented. Our offer included the restricted table d'hote dinner menu, which we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James B
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. definitely come...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I think that this is our 5th visit to this hotel. Extra enjoyable because of the fine weather. My wife and I stayed the weekend on a dinner/bed and breakfast deal. Accommodation comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. Dinner very good, well cooked and presented. Excellent cooked breakfast. Staff friendly and efficient, George delightfully eccentric. If you like the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter F
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. on a...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here when I was on a training course nearby. Lovely staff, great dinner and breakfast. Room was comfy couldn't really ask for much more. Restaurant staff were spot on and very efficient. Nice, clean well run hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
EmbletonHotelier, General Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. George Knight...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
4.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,143 reviews
10.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
963 reviews
13.3 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
328 reviews
27.2 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
12.4 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Price Range: €100 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 looks across the channel between two sloping roofs...so not the best view, but comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles BronwenS, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 16 quiet clean comfortable bed and bath. Although it is a long way from reception and there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles elaine2454, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a view onto the street, spacious and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles E8069IYfionas, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Self catering cottage fantastic no 4 police cottage very nice, but other residents said the rooms were lovely as well”
 of 5 bubbles janicecahill58, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottages are a good bet.”
 of 5 bubbles mikewI4565NT, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5