We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Ness Backpackers

Save
Share
Coiltie Farm House Drumnadrochit, East Lewiston IV63 6UJ Scotland
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (32)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Loch Ness Backpackers is your Highland home away from home. Owners Patrick and Nikki and their team provide a warm welcome in all weathers, with free tea and coffee, a wood burning stove, a well stocked bar, large guest kitchen and lots of friendly smiles and conversation. The farmhouse itself dates back to the 18th century. You can read about the original owners on the wall in the living room. Nowadays, it retains its charm but has been modernized to ensure that you get a good night's sleep and a nice hot shower in the morning before you head out to explore the spectacular surroundings. Free parking and free wifi. Inverness is just 20 minutes by car or bus. On the Great Glen Way. Ideal location for visiting Urquhart Castle. Breakfast, packed lunches and laundry service are available. Dogs welcome (but please call in advance).
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Game room
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish, German
176Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 39
  • 24
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ruth Q wrote a review Sep 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom7 contributions16 helpful votes
Very nice location, really nice bar with good atmosphere and a great selection of local beer. Patrick was very welcoming and helpful. Room was nice and the toilet and shower area were very clean. 10 out of 10 would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
denise c wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
disappointed during covid that I was charged a single room rate at a special price of 40 a night instead of 55. I still had a bunk in a room with dim lighting, no storage facilities, no bunk light. There was a kettle but I constantly had to ask for milk. There was only access to the bar. The shower and toilets were outdoor from the room had millipedes crawling around the ceilings and walls. Might suit for groups for a single night, but over priced for solo traveller for facilities available, Kettle was provided but had to ask for milk,.Place covis safe. Bunk comfortable, I wouldn't choose to stay here again as there was no drying room, outside facilties, no secure storage if sharing with strangers, very limited faci,it's because of covid. Lounge and kitchen were out of use because of covid and are very small for the number of quests if hostel full. Good location for walking and exploring. During 10 to 4 you have access to only your room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: pay extra for room 8nside lodge if you don't like using outside facilties
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Kipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers
Responded 30 Aug 2020
We are very sorry to read this review. It's a shame you feel so hard done by following your stay with us. I genuinely tried my best to make you happy. Alas, that was not meant to be. Our kitchen and most of our communal areas are closed due to Scottish government guidelines as there is currently a global pandemic happening. Our kitchen is closed for everyone's safety. We are not offering shared dormitories this season, again, acting on Scottish government guidelines. We contacted every guest who had a shared dorm booking to offer a private room at a special single occupancy rate of £40 per night. You decided this was fine, and we gave you a room to yourself. Yes, it was a dormitory, but when you complained to me that you thought you would have a double bed, I told you quite correctly that double rooms are more expensive. You had a full room to yourself, you were given a bathroom that was yours alone, and we provided you with constant milk (which by the way, is an added service, not your right as a patron. We are under no obligation to provide you with constant milk.). I fail to understand why you feel you didn't get your £40 worth. Like many small businesses, hostels are fighting for their survival in the post-Covid world. You complained to me about every hostel you had stayed at in Scotland, and I suspect they all got equally unsatifactory reviews. We offered you a deal to honor your booking, but we lost money due to your stay. Our business is very limited currently. I explained all this to you, and still this is the review you leave for us. Thank you so much for sharing. In the future, perhaps check the government guidelines for the country in which you plan to travel rather than blame the businesses who are following them and sturggling for their continued survival. Also, it is not really proper to review a hostel based on what it might, hypothetically, be like when it's full. All in all, not impressed with this guest. Happy travels. Patrick
Read more
Aleksandra K wrote a review Aug 2020
8 contributions8 helpful votes
We booked backpackers lodge quite last minute as originally were planning to camp but due to the storm decided to stay indoors. Haven't regretted for a second! Our host Patrick was very friendly and knowledgable, he accommodated us quickly, suggested amazing walks In Glen Affric and places for food in the village. The hostel has a bar with great selection of scottish whiskeys and beers! We booked a room with the shared bathrooms but i really liked that we had a rule for each room to only use their own toilet and shower cabin, as well as only one person to be in the bathroom at the time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patrick Kipfmiller, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers
Responded 30 Aug 2020
We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. It makes me so happy to hear that you enjoyed ourt bar and that you were able to appreciate the measures which have been put into place in response to Covid and government safety guidelines. We want all of our guests to stay safe, so we are doing everything in our power to make that happen. It was a pleasure hosting you and we wish you all the best! Happy Travels, Patrick and Nikki
Read more
Miguel A wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Extraprdinary service in differents languages. Specially lovely service. innkeeper and assitants (Hanna, Malta, Sara..) very friendly and attentive. I've been 4 nights and I'll come back with doubts in my next visit to Scotland. Thanks to make feel like home in such amazing place!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
ssshadia . wrote a review Sep 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom79 contributions25 helpful votes
I shared a room with three other girls who were all very quiet mercifully. I had a single bed. All the others were bunkbeds. I found everyone to be trustworthy and friendly. The staff were great. Very knowledgeable about the area. Most of us were walkers and cyclists. I stayed three nights and then camped the rest of my trip. Book ahead as it is a popular spot. Breakfast was available there was somewhere nearby for dinner. The CoOp was near the bus stop and a short walk to the hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get there early to choose your bed or book a room of your own in advance
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLoch NessEast Lewiston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Loch Ness Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Loch Ness Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Village Green (0.9 km), Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition (1.0 km), and Loch Ness Gallery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Loch Ness Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Loch Ness Backpackers?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, an additional bathroom, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Loch Ness Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Loch Ness Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Loch Ness Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Eighty2, The Loch Ness Inn Restaurant, and Ness Deli.
Is Loch Ness Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 km away from the centre of East Lewiston.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Loch Ness Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Loch Ness Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Urquhart Castle (1.8 km).