We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marykirk Hotel

Save
Share
Main Street Montrose, Marykirk AB30 1UT Scotland
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Marykirk Hotel is situated in the charming village of Marykirk, just 6 miles from Montrose town centre, and 30 minutes drive south of Aberdeen along the A90 dual carriageway. The Hotel nestles in the rolling Aberdeenshire countryside only 200 metres from the River North Esk, world famous for its salmon and trout fishing. A former Coaching Inn, the hotel was built in the mid 1800s. As a Grade C Listed Building, it still retains original charm and character although tastefully modernised: all guest room accommodation have en-suite facilities, central heating, flat screen TVs, and tea/coffee making facilities. Standing in an acre of grounds, the Marykirk Hotel has a landscaped beer garden plus a small front car park and a rear car park for 20+ cars. Both car parks are monitored by CCTV. The Hotel has a full Hotel Licence and a Children's Licence. Families with children are particularly welcome in both the bar and restaurant. As well as our cosy Stables Bar serving bar meals every lunchtime and evening, the Marykirk's Esk Restaurant seats 35 persons and is open in the evenings from Friday to Sunday, offering quality dining at competitive prices.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Golf course
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Malay
92Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 15
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Tourscotland wrote a review Dec 2019
5 contributions1 helpful vote
The worst hospitality I have ever experienced. After one of our dinner party did not show, we were berated by the owner and his partner(?) Aren't 'no-shows' not part and parcel of hospitality? We even offered to pay the extra but even this didn't help. This was a yearly occasion but we will NOT return here. The atmosphere was dead and it is such a shame. At one point in time this place was probably a bustling village pub hotel but is now dusty, worn out and definitely a place to drive by. I must say however that the young man and young woman serving were very lovely and attentive trying their best to make up for the unnecessary drama caused by Mr Faulty and his assistant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon P, Owner at Marykirk Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It would be remiss of me not to respond and give the public our side of the story. As is always the case there are always two sides to every story. Last year you also made a booking for a Xmas meal, all food pre-ordered, and as was the case this year a number of your party who had ordered food did not show up. It would appear that for your particular party no-shows are quite common and in your opinion "inevitable". In the majority of cases that would be something that we can live with in the hospitality industry, however during the busy Xmas period, and particularly in your case where the food was pre-ordered, I'm afraid it is simply not acceptable. In both instances your party did not call to inform the hotel of the change in numbers or even advise us which dishes needed to be cancelled or added, the end result being food arriving at the table and the waiting staff being told that the order was wrong. This not only confuses the waiting staff but puts additional pressure on an already busy kitchen. All of our other guests who book for large numbers, bar none, and who pre-order food have the good manners and decency to call and advise if there are any changes and/or let us know what the missing party had ordered so that we can take the appropriate action. We did not receive any such notice from you on the previous occasion or on Thursday last. On both occasions the staff were left feeling that the confusion that followed with the food orders was their fault when a simple phone call could have made such a difference. I would also like to thank you for the email that you sent to me separately, in that email you mention (quote) "No matter how much planning goes into a large dinner party you cannot guarantee everyone will show up, and therefore it is sometimes inevitable that one or two dishes will be prepped and may be wasted." I'm afraid we do not factor this sort of thinking into our meal pricing as it would not be right for the rest of our customers to be unfairly penalised for someone else's lack of etiquette. It may be an unnecessary drama for you but for myself and my staff, particularly the chefs, who besides catering for you were also looking after another 20 guests in the bar it creates added stress that they do not need. We take what we do very seriously and always try to do our very best to make sure customers keep coming back. In hindsight perhaps our reaction, in the heat of the moment, was too strong and for that I apologise. At the end of the day the entire scenario could have been avoided with little bit more thought on your part.
Read more
Harry B wrote a review Nov 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom15 contributions18 helpful votes
11/11/19. approx 8pm. 1st room freezing,ok 2nd room kirsty put heating on 466 corridors were cold, kirsty said heaters should be on. they are renovating, fair enough,but who painted bathroom-door standard had paint.heaters were either very hot or cold if you regulated them. shower had poor pressure . breakfast time- eggs & mushrroms not quite ready, ok , eggs came no mushrooms no explanation why. told reception on check out, tried to get manager, but we gave up after a few minutes. the hotel charged full price, if it was on chnl 4 four in a bed they would be lucky to get £ 75- 80. might be ok when finished but dont charge full price not worth it
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: at present go somewhere thats finished when they charge full price
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon P, Owner at Marykirk Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Dear Harry B, I don't know which hotel you were in on 11/11 but I doubt that it was The Marykirk. We have not had any double rooms booked in the last 2 weeks (all singles with no complaints), and we did not have any couples staying on 11/11/19? In addition we are not currently renovating and we do not have anyone working reception. As a family run hotel it would have been myself who served your breakfast, handled any complaints and would also have taken your payment on checking out. My partner and I cook all the breakfasts so I think we would remember if there had been an issue with someones order not being to their satisfaction. I can understand getting poor reviews for substandard service but to get a poor review from someone who apparently did not stay in our hotel is a bit much. Kind Regards Gordon
Read more
traceyrhodes20 wrote a review Oct 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom54 contributions7 helpful votes
A very rural hotel, with very accommodating staff even offering to cook me a late meal. The rooms are basic but have everything that you need and was clean and cheerful, nice location for some peace and quiet and in a lovely rural location. The breakfast was brilliant and again very accommodating to times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon P, Owner at Marykirk Hotel
Responded 5 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for the positive review. It is very pleasing to hear that our efforts to accommodate guests needs is appreciated. Thank you.
Read more
brengordon40 wrote a review Oct 2019
Aberdeen, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
Marykirk Hotel has a nice, old-fashioned atmosphere and friendly service. The menu is quite varied and we're specially delighted when the venison appears! We are never disappointed, and we always get good value for our money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Xavia T wrote a review Sep 2019
Tamborine Mountain, Australia27 contributions41 helpful votes
This place is worth stopping in, both the stables and the accommodation ooze old world hospitality. While not massive or luxury accommodation we really enjoyed our stay. We were lucky to be there on the local charity trivia night. The community welcomed us in and we such a great night with them. We wish we could spend more time into the village. We also ate at the restaurant and also found this above reproach and good value. We had the venison which we would recommend.the staff we very accommodating and even got up early to serve us breakfast to facilitate our schedule. Would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon P, Owner at Marykirk Hotel
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Thank you so much for the nice review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Congratulations on doing so well in the quiz, the locals really enjoyed your company. Please come back and see us again anytime. Gordon and Nok
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireMarykirk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marykirk Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Marykirk Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Montrose Air Station Heritage Centre (6.9 km), St Cyrus National Nature Reserve (6.2 km), and House of Dun (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marykirk Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Marykirk Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Marykirk Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marykirk Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Balmakewan Farm Shop, Scots Corner, and Alma.
Is Marykirk Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Marykirk.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marykirk Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Marykirk Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting House of Dun (6.4 km).
Is Marykirk Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.