We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Pwll Deri

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trefasser
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Pwll Deri
 Click to rate
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful, remote location that we visited in March. Now, you would think that in winter if the central heating was not working that there would be somebody there very urgently trying to fix it. Oh no, an entire week without central heating on the ground floor and just a couple of portable heaters to replace them! When it rained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlawsterDave
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that we didn’t meet with your expectations on this occasions. We try our best to fix problems as soon as possible however on this occasion that didn’t happen as we had to wait for parts for the heating system. I’m pleased to say that the windows have since been replaced since...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

This hostel is in such a stunning location. This was my second visit and being able to go for a walk in the evening and then wake up to the ocean at your window is just unbeatable. All the staff I've met have been really friendly, it's clean and well maintained, and the view from the breakfast room is unrivalled

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rio m
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay at YHA Pwll Deri. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hostel and surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Stewart T

Palermo, Italy
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stunning location. The views are amazing, perfect if you want to experience Wales in its wildest. The atmosphere was nice and everyone was friendly. Super clean. Self-catering, bring some food with you. Quite remote, I would recommend it if you have a car, maybe not so much if you depend on public transport, even that's how I did it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prionespriones
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review of YHA Pwll Deri. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and enjoyed the hostel location. We hope to see you again when you are next in Pembrokeshire! Regards Stewart

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel has some incredible views! A friend and I stayed for one night on our trip around Wales and now I wish we had stayed more! Plenty of walks easily accessible from the hostel and what a place to relax outside and watch the sunset. We took one of the coastal walks and did a nice little four hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChloeeMaryy
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay at YHA Pwll Deri. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and enjoyed the surrounding area. You will have to come and stay again but for longer next time as there is plenty more to explore! Stewart

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Location was stunning and the hostel was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen was very well organised, clean and very well equipped. Dining area was well laid out and lounge area good too with a great big fire available for winter visitors. All areas were clean and well organised. Toilets were small and lacked sinks but on the whole it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma q
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Diolch / Thank you for your review of YHA Pwll Deri. Sounds as though you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and we hope to see you again at some point. Regards Stewart

Salisbury
Reviewed 19 May 2016

What a location! Everyone walking the Pembrokeshire coastpath should stay here. The night we stayed it was cloudy and gloomy but the view was still fabulous - if you were here for a sunset it would be paradisical. It is completely self-catering, but the kitchen is well provided for, by YHA standards, and the lounge and dining areas were clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil56
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Pity you didn't get a sun set, maybe next time!

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for one night whilst walking The Pembrokeshire Coast Path. A remote hostel right on the cliffs over looking the sea. Very friendly and welcoming staff together with clean and tidy facilities. I note the previous review referred to the squeaky beds and these were something of a problem for us also. The sunset was stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank telldell
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

The views from this hostel make up for any shortcomings as they are spectacular. During our visit the wardens were friendly, kitchen and other facilities good. We visited as a party of 10 so could have overwhelmed what is essentially a small place but aside from some astonishment at the number of bottle filled bags delivered by Tesco there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Echoawaits
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the hostel. I will investigate as to whether we can do anything about the beds. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2016

After a drive along narrow country lanes, it is a relief to arrive at Pwll Deri - even if the car park is a bit hair-raising. My private room was very small, but the bed was comfortable and the ensuite was one of the best I've come across in a YHA, with great water pressure in the shower. The views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank a_recent_visitor_59
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at YHA Pwll Deri. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the view from the hostel. We hope to see you again.

nottm
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Wonderfully located hostel out in the sticks! Run by volunteers and self-catering only. About 6 miles out of Fishguard via minor lanes. Veryfriendly volunteer wardens and other hostellers made for a very pleasant and sociable night in the common room chatting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catme
Stewart T, Manager at YHA Pwll Deri, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of YHA Pwll Deri. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and enjoyed surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefasser
5.6 km away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
383 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#8 of 14 in Cardigan
23 reviews
45.2 km away
YHA Manorbier
YHA Manorbier
#1 of 1 in Manorbier
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
YHA Brecon Beacons
YHA Brecon Beacons
#1 of 1 in Libanus
88 reviews
19.9 km away
Ramsey House
Ramsey House
#2 of 18 in St Davids
423 reviews
8.1 km away
The Old School Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
GreenPartner Learn More
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Pwll Deri

Address: Castell Mawr, Trefasser SA64 0LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Trefasser
Price Range: €9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Pwll Deri 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Pwll Deri staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good”
162emmaq, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room looking out over the coast, wonderful sunsets”
catme, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Just make sure u trake a room with an extra bed for the clothes and more cause theres not much space in the rooms.”
erost975, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The family room; biggest room with a lot of space and excellent view. don't take the room off 8 almost no space”
brancob661, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The room whit 8 beds was not the best one bust the one I liked the most was whit 4 but is was a little small”
yourif125, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5