We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windward Passage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

675 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windward Passage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 30 January 2015

I recently went to Tortola to charter sail boats with 24 friends. We all decided to go into St Thomas a day early prior to us departing for our sailing adventure. We reserved a block of rooms for our group. The rooms were fine no problems, clean, quite, and a great location to catch the ferry in the morning, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DCrall2013
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your suggestion has been given to our managment team. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit Regards Pam

Fredericia, Denmark
Reviewed 25 January 2015

We stayed here twice in January. First time we had a room on the fourth floor and next time on the third floor - I would recommend to pay for habourview and ask for a room on one of the top floors, it's worth it! The staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was fine too :) The hotel has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MajaS264
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Guttenberg, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 January 2015

The weather was Good, the hotel was clean but so old, the breakfast was not very good,I miss the fresh fruits, nothing was close, just the green house restaurant, that was my salvation, but outside of this the view from my room was beautiful, the beach was excellent, but every beach you need to take a taxi, if you go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisca F
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with All the department heads which I can assure you they take very seriously. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 23 January 2015

After reading previous reviews I was a bit hesitant about staying here. Although, working in the hotel industry I know people tend to over exaggerate. The curb appeal is inviting along with the courtyard in the middle. I believe this hotel is still undergoing renovations, therefore each room isn't up to its full potential yet.. Unfortunately my family and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Seal Beach, California
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Okay let me start by saying this hotel has gotten a major bad wrap in the reviews. My husband and I booked this place literally a week before flying to St. Thomas, so we were happy just to find a place near town with a bed. I was a little hesitant to book this place because of the reviews, but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MariahGman
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Maine
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We spent a week at Windward Passage, using it as a home base for excursions throughout the islands. The staff, with the exception of the bar, were surly and unpleasant, always giving us dirty looks. We had already heard that the island was racist, but did not expect that sort of treatment at the hotel. We waited 45 minutes at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bethfull
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been passed along to All department Heads and I can assure you they do take them very seriously. My apologies for your inconveniences and hope that one day you will give us another chance. Regards, Pam

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 January 2015

This hotel has many rooms, but rooms with ocean view is the best! In front of the hotel beach is not, but hotel has a shuttle taxi for beach free. Rooms have two large bed. Service is good. But hotel restaurant has not quick and friend waiters. Internet access is very quick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanJonas
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and staying with us. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Pam

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2015

TripAdvisor doesn't let me score a zero but when I approach the check in counter at 3:50 and the woman rudely says give me five minutes... I step back and give her 7 minutes. Than I approach the counter at 4:02 (it had been a long travel day for me) to the new woman coming on shift, she GLARES at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CANADIANOntario
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. The management staff is aware of your comments and be assured they do take them seriously. We hope that one day you will give us another chance. Regards, Pam

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 16 January 2015

The Windward Passage is a fine hotel for the price. Reasonably clean, fairly centrally located and well priced, the hotel is good place for a few nights. Customer service at the front desk is adequate although the wait in the line to check in was long, given only one person was staffing the reception desk. There is a courtyard and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayatravels
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and hope to see you again I the near future. Regards, Pam

Suances, Spain
Reviewed 15 January 2015

I am not sure whether the management of this hotel is serious about the hotel business or they do some other stuff under the cover of the hotel business. I had this feeling as I have never met such unprofessional management team in any hotel. I had a feeling that all the stuff in the hotel are trying in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonas R
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your feedback has been reviewed by the Management team and WE do take all reviews very seriously. We hope that one day you will give us another chance, Regards, Pam

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3.5 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
621 reviews
3.0 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
351 reviews
1.2 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.7 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: €140 - €527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Falmouth, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Granada Hills ,California
Charleston, South Carolina
3 months ago
Falmouth, Massachusetts
4 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you request a bay view room. The views are worth the extra cost.”
justpop56, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor was quiet and over looks the ocean.”
vont2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is what you want.”
MamieKelley, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware of the front desk staff”
KarenGalRI, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are not worth the price. My room had bugs in it”
glorianicholej, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5