We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,047: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My son and I loved this hotel and we will definitely be back next year. The check-in was fast and smooth. A young man named Shaun (spelling?) at the front desk was very kind to find a great room for us at the Morning Star. Our room was very clean, updated, and well taken care of. Loved hearing the ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selena43
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We’re delighted to hear you and your son have been inspired to return here! Thank you for this review and mentioning the kindness of Shawn; he will be recognized by our leadership team.

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived after 5pm, no room was available for us and the lobby was an absolute zoo. Overall, the hotel had a family/group/older couples vibe, not ideal for us on our honeymoon. The food was great though and the spa was super clean. Our spa day was definitely the highlight of the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatieC0926
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to hear that Frenchman’s Reef was not your cup of tea. Although we want to be the perfect resort for all guests, we understand that is not always possible. Summer is a great time to visit though it is also a family season. It was nice to read you did enjoy the...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently returned from our honeymoon at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef. The property is spectacular with breathtaking views and all the luxury amenities you could want in a beach getaway. There are tons of pools and restaurants to enjoy. We stayed on the 6th floor of the Frenchman's Reef and our room was beautiful, clean and updated. The views from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oriolesfan1
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed recommendations of your favorite amenities, activities and cuisine here at Frenchman’s Reef! The steak and lobster buffet on the patio of Coco Joe’s is a guest favorite! We’re also very pleased you found your room to be beautiful, clean and updated, a perfect choice for your honeymoon. For guests planning travel with interest in the...

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Well check in is at 4pm we arrived 4:20 our room wasn't ready they gave us a beeper and told us they would page us when ready checked back in at 5:30 it still wasn't ready. Ok 7 pm we checked back in oh the room was ready just they never paged us!!!! Anthony gave us his insincere apologies and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hellakool
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear your check-in was delayed. Please feel free to come down to the Front Desk and ask for Juan Silva (our Front Office Manager) today so we can touch base and assist you. Your satisfaction is our top priority!

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying here, the first time we had an awesome vacation. This time it took over two hours to check in even though we arrived after 5. They gave us a pager then forgot about us even though I checked back a couple of times. They did upgrade us to ocean view. The next morning we...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank James E
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your experience and hope you are feeling better now. Thank you for letting us know the source of your discontent. Our leadership team would welcome the opportunity to be in direct contact with you to determine the details of your stay and investigate any problems that need correcting on our end. We can...

Newburgh, New York
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Probably the best highlight of our trip. Amazing to look at the ocean floor through the glass bottom kayaks. The tour guide Chris and his crew did a wonderful job. The hotel itself was good, checking in took way too long as they don't have many people working the front desk even though the check in line keeps getting bigger....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sam P
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out the fun you had while on the Night Kayaking Tour. We’re happy to hear that, despite the hiccup at check-in, you had a great time with us and felt the service was top notch. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is really awesome, very beatiful location, nice views of the island, an excellent service from all the staff that works in the hotel, lia, sharon, beverly and roniqua are example of the great costumer service, overall the best place to stay in St. Thomas

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jose M
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

We will let Lia, Sharon, Beverly and Roniqua know that you had a five star experience at Frenchman’s Reef! Thank you for posting your review.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I can't say enough about my experience at the Marriott at Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar hotel. I recently traveled there with 25 of my closest family and friends for my wedding. The planning process was relatively easy, and my planner ensured that everything we wanted was a possibility. When we arrived to St. Thomas there were a variety of issues...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifercardoos
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Fantastic! I am so pleased to hear this. What a wonderful way to start your new life together and we thank you for letting us be a part of that!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Marriott Frenchman's reef during our honeymoon, overall we had a good time mostly because we planned nice activities like the night kayaking, st john and st Thomas tours. The activity desk was also very helpful. Now here something's we did not like: although there a few restaurants at the hotel, the food quality was very poor despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing Frenchman’s Reef for this very special occasion. We’re glad you enjoyed your room, our famous views, infinity pools, beach and the Adventure Center’s Night Kayaking Tour. That being said, I am sorry you had a less than satisfying meal at the restaurant. Your comments and suggestions (about the meal and service) will be helpful and...

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

When we first checked in, our room had a gorgeous view and everyone was very nice and polite... However, our room wasn't anything like what is depicted on the Marriott website. It had two full size beds which were very comfortable and the sheets were clean, but the tiles on the floor were cracked and looked like they had been...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sophia T
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay. Although your initial experience was not up to your satisfaction, I am relieved to hear our team was able to successfully move you into a suite and that your service at front desk was warm and friendly. I also appreciate your mentioning areas that need improvement. Guest...

2,787 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2424)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (593)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (505)
Viewed
View from Room (215)
Viewed
Room/Suite (212)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (775)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
8.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
956 reviews
0.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,373 reviews
6.3 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,169 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.9 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: €221 - €621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
237 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (237)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Morning Side rooms are right on the beach - would highly recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles Gordo, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view absolutely, especially with view out over the pool or toward the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles Ylojktfan, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For a quiet room get an upper floor in the Ocean Tower”
 of 5 bubbles 222samuele, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with water view...AMAZING!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles J8587QPnicoleb, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper room with a balcony overlooking the bay or ocean”
 of 5 bubbles baha23, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5