We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on Strand Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Inn on Strand Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Inn on Strand Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on the 2nd floor to be exact now u have no kind of privacy when your on your balcony there is a camera seeing everything you do no kind of.privacy that's not cool how can you be comfortable and know that someone or people are watching you not cool all you smell in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5starqueens
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

Thank you for this somewhat confusing and mixed review. -We are a non smoking hotel, so we are interested to know where you smelled cigarette smoke. -We are glad that you found the housekeepers and office staff helpful! -We apologize that you felt unsafe with our security cameras, but they are actually there for your safety. -We are happy that...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Came to the hotel not only to see that there under renovation but i put that aside and got a room but when night falls what I saw was just a complete turn off a well known thief, drug addict and prostitute in the hotel and it was brought to my attention when my.boyfriend when he saw some white boy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ParadiseFlower01
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

We would like to state openly that this is a harsh and untrue review. Please come to the hotel and show us the people smoking crack, the prostitutes, and the white boy with tattoos that you seemed to not like. We can apologize that you did not like your shower head, so if you let us know the room you...

Cruz Bay, St. John
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to find that is been remodeled. The room was dusty, floors dirty and above all room will not accommodate a family of 4. The receptionist was of not help, saying the hotel has a new owner and there was nothing that she could do. We had to move to another hotel. I am sure the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johana P
Proprietor_127A, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

We are thrilled with the much needed remodeling taking place at our establishment and we apologize that you found your floors dusty and dirty. We also apologize that you found the front desk staff to not be helpful. As far as the room not accommodating 4 people, it is up to you to choose a room that will accommodate your...

Cobble Hill, Canada
Reviewed 2 May 2016

It was clean. Is that a good review? No one at the desk to check us in but a note to call a number that didn't work. Coffee maker in the room but no filters and no dish soap or cloth if you did use the kitchen. Booked this room on booking.com and were quoted a cost on CDN dollars...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheila S
RockieFox21, Public Relations Manager at The Inn on Strand Street, responded to this review

Our sincerest apologies for Booking.Com leading you to believe there was a pool. We cannot find where it says that, but we will check into that for you. Keep in mind that booking.com is an online travel agency so we do not have 100% control of the information on their site. We took over the management of the Frederiksted Hotel...

Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a decent hotel for a budget traveler. Very close to the Frederiksted docks. Plenty of scenic and quite beaches within walking distance. Fredericksted itself is pretty dead unless there is a cruise ship around. Hotel's Breakfast is pretty good. The area around the hotel can look very shady at night, but the view and the breeze in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WanderingClicker
Lancaster, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We stayed four weeks in 2016 at the Fredricksted Hotel. The people were great, room was spotless and the breakfast at the hotel was served hot, tasted delicious. Ester is a great cook, we remind her pancakes. Nieves, manager, very helpful and accommodating. We recommend this hotel to anyone. Wonderful place to stay. J & D Peterson, Lancaster MN

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Snowbirds856
Northborough, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Frederiksted Hotel is downtown on the main drag. Older facility than advertises a one week minimum but you can stay for fewer nights, 3 night minimum would be more like it. Our ocean view room is overlooking main street and was fine. Not noisy. Good breakfast. WiFi in public areas and sometimes in room.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Maurice T
Navarre
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Not fancy but clean and the manager bends over backwards to make sure you have everything you need. Great place for divers and it is walking distance from the pier and a dive shop right there. I plan to visit again next year

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FASJR
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

My stay at the hotel, was comfortable, and pleasant. The hotel has a really nice view of the pier, is located in easy walking distance to nearby restaurants, the Frederiksted Fort and other historical sites. The hotel is a little dated but is clean and comfortable and the manager was very attentive, pleasant, and professional. I really enjoyed my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I stayed there two nights with my sister. They put us on a two bed room with sea view. Nieves, the Hotel Manager, was very nice to us. The rooms have a kitchenette and there's everything you need, and if not, Nieves will find it for you, from coffee machines, to wine bottle openers. The hotel is near everything in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ailime55

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
19.5 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
483 reviews
23.2 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
19.4 km away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
207 reviews
24.5 km away
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
426 reviews
21.8 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn on Strand Street (formerly The Frederiksted Hotel) is a locally managed, in town, waterfront, hotel with 32 inviting rooms. All rooms have a small kitchenette for light food preparation and private bathrooms. 16 of our rooms have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea and 4 of our rooms are 1 bedroom, family suites. We have a breakfast only restaurant in our courtyard (breakfast not included in room reservation), and we are within walking distance to a dozen restaurants, shopping, the beach, and the Frederiksted Pier. Bikes are available for guest use, and all of our guests have full access to all amenities and beach at our beachfront, sister hotel, Cottages by the Sea, located 1/4 mile down the road from our Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on Strand Street

Address: 442 Strand Street, Frederiksted 00840-3531, St. Croix (Formerly Frederiksted Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Price Range: €117 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on Strand Street 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn on Strand Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Frederiksted
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on Strand Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Christiansted, St. Croix
over a year ago
Hartford, Connecticut
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
10 months ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on Strand Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend the ocean view rooms.”
elkeinnm, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Chose the second floor with ocean view!”
natashasA1292AN, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on Strand St; high up”
whitly37, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wi-fy works best closest to the office.”
Snowbirds856, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Second floor and above overlooking the sea, the balcony is great in the evenings.”
989jimmyj, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5