We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn

09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Eldemire\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 63: English reviews
Germantown, Tennessee
Reviewed 29 July 2015

My husband and I are divers and have been to Grand Cayman Island 11 times in the last 20 years. Once we found Eldemire's we don't want to stay anywhere else! We have stayed 9 times, in June we stayed 10 nights! We always go back because we know we will receive a clean apartment or room off the beaten...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEBM123
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I stayed here for 8 nights and absolutely loved it! The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were clean and fresh, perfect for my stay. Tootie and Bob are really lovely people, so welcoming and friendly, they even showed me around thier home and cooked me dinner! Tootie helped me arrange to go diving and get involved with other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

My girl friend stopped here for two nights and will never go back so let's see the kitchen was full of cockroaches the ac was just worse than useless the manager was rude when they pick up the phone this place should be closed down also an issue with a smoke alarm when the toaster went nuts this place is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank markktw
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am unable to find where someone came and stayed only 2 nights as our minimum booking period is 3 nights. Maybe you stayed somewhere else and not with us? If perchance you did stay, we do not recollect any complaints made to us by you and we are always very strong in encouraging our guests, when they...

Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed at guest house for 4 nights in April. Room was comfy and quiet. A little dated but clean and nice. Staff friendly and very welcoming. Bit of a walk to town if u have no car!! And taxis can work out expensive!! Would stay again if I hired a car. Thanks for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Laura C
Orono, Maine
Reviewed 7 March 2015

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of January while we were in Grand Cayman, we stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay here! It was a cozy little place, with great location to downtown. We had a rental car, which I would suggest as the side walks are pretty narrow (if even there) on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Autumn S
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi We appreciate your kind and honest review about Eldemire's and so happy that you had a good experience staying with us.. So sorry about the minimum amount of TV channels that you saw. This does occur sometimes but we have no control over it as it is the fault of our Cable Company. Wish we could do something but...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed at Eldemire's Inn for 7 days this January, and had a lovely time. As others in the comments say, this is not a place for the mindless tourists who need the comforts of a hotel and the hand-holding of tour managers and all-inclusive packages. This guesthouse is purely a home-base, out of which you organize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eforce617
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Greetings. Thanks you for the wonderful review that you have provided to the travel community, about our Guest House. Yes we do try to the utmost of our ability to provide a calm and nice atmosphere to everyone. A real tropical ambience, as you experienced, whilst you stayed here. Thanks for your observations pertaining to not being able to make...

Reviewed 2 February 2015

ok lets see this place is as bad as it get its not safe no smoke alarms dodgy wiring the bed had fleas my girl friend and i got loads of bights the pool is filthy when you ask for anything we where fobbed off it should be closed as the owner has no manners it stinks of damp and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gordon O
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Dear former guest. I think that maybe you have written this review about another property in that your description of your issues does not match who and what we as owners and description of our property. Firstly, all rooms have to, AND do have smoke alarms in them, as the Fire Department inspectors comes to inspect the rooms a few...

Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2015

If you're the kind of traveler who stays in name-brand hotel chains, has never entered a grocery store in another country, and is used to 5 star accommodation, then Eldemire's Tropical Inn is not for you. If you're the kind of traveler who stays in local B&Bs or hostels, loves exploring local hangouts, and relishes the opportunity to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney W
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your very kind and honest review about us and we are so elated that you had a great time staying at Eldemire's and enjoying the island. As you were aware, we do try our best to ensure that you, our guest, is happy with everything. We hope to see you sometime in the near future again. Much...

Gwynn Oak, Maryland
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Overall it felt like a quiet little private retreat with just a hint of home. The inn is much larger than it appears but you can't really tell because most of the foliage gives many of the unit entrances a feel of secluded privacy when you come and go. We had a late evening arrival so check in for weary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tayoka
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank so much for your lovely review about myself and the Inn. This kind of review gives us a boost to hear nice reviews from our guests and gives us an insight into what our guests like (and don't like) about staying at our place. We are one of the few local Caymanians that are licensed by our own...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Booked one of the apartments for my trip, with private kitchen. In the weeks leading up to my trip, Tootie was always available to answer any questions I had, and once I actually got to Grand Cayman the place wasn't hard to find or get around from. The house was clean and all the staff were friendly- Bob was especially...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathal D
CarolEE E, Owner at Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn, responded to this review

Booked one of the apartments for my trip, with private kitchen. In the weeks leading up to my trip, Tootie was always available to answer any questions I had, and once I actually got to Grand Cayman the place wasn't hard to find or get around from. The house was clean and all the staff were friendly- Bob was especially...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
3.8 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,263 reviews
6.2 km away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,687 reviews
7.6 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4,925 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
32.1 km away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
What words describe Eldemire's best? Friendly, Informal, Simple, Charming, Affordable, Peaceful. Our simple little "Caribbean style" guest house, offers an ambiance of informality and friendliness, and is perfect for "free-spirited" travelers who just want a clean, nice, down to earth place, closely situated to everything. And, not have to spend the kind of money that they would have to, at a big resort. Of course the big resorts have lots of amenities, clean, comfortable, air-conditioned rooms to sleep in, as generally speaking, visitors go exploring and/or diving all day long. So you save lots of $$$$ when you stay with us!!! In the 38 years of being in the tourism accommodation sector, we can truthfully say that most of our guests are those who just like a charming and simple alternative to the bigger, busier, expensive hotels. Instead they would rather spend their vacation dollars on enjoying our beautiful beaches, diving, snorkeling, good restaurants, varied excursions, etc. And a rental car. Our place will feel to you like a "home away from home" where you can relax and feel at home! In 1977, Tootie's Caymanian parents, opened up rooms in their large home (now known as Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn) to visitors coming to Grand Cayman for vacation, or to conduct business. Then in 2000, Tootie and her family took over the business and made a lot of changes which included colorful decor, furnishings, etc. Then a pool and large deck were built and lush tropical vegetation and colorful tropical plants and banana trees were placed all around the pool. So when you sit back and relax by the pool, you experience an authentic peaceful tropical aura. Our location is on the west side of the island, across the road from the ocean, and ten minutes drive from Owen Roberts Airport and famous 7 Mile Beach. Within a short walk is a beautiful white sand beach, the island's best art/craft shop, 2 fabulous oceanfront restaurants, a fitness center, 3 Dive centers, Cathy Church Underwater Photo Center, and Georgetown with lots of shops, restaurants, the Museum, and Duty Free shopping. Our property consists of 4 private 2nd level rooms with private bathrooms, and a large shared kitchen and relaxing lounge downstairs. The 2 comfortable self-contained one bedroom suites have their own private kitchens, lounges and garden entrances. Two Studio Suites have their own private kitchenettes. Our amenities? All rooms and suites are air-conditioned, have private bathrooms with towels and bathroom products, complimentary tea and coffee, Cable TV, FREE WIFI and free on-site parking with security lighting. So, in essence, what we offer is a peaceful, quiet, charming, cheap, "Island style" Guest House, close to everything. A real little "Tropical Oasis". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn

Address: 18 Pebbles Way | Grand Cayman, George Town KY1-1106, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > George Town
Price Range: €96 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldemire`s Tropical Island Hotel George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
7 months ago
conway, sc
1 month ago
Florence, Alabama
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Eldemire's Tropical Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is NOT a Marriot or Ritz. This place is for people who want to really feel island life.”
karyn626, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 1!”
hbennetts, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for apt 1. Right by the pool”
k_wfrost, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For sleeping, make sure to run the a/c and windows closed or chickens will wake you”
jmickschl, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will love Eldemire's if you want a true tropical experience!”
JEBM123, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates