We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,323: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I treated my husband to a beach resort for his birthday. I am so glad I chose Sonesta Great Bay. First of all it's "Adult Only". Second, it was one of the most peaceful vacations we had in a long time. It's a quiet resort without a lot of loud music. Cleopatra and her staff, including Wendy and Karin, were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so pleased to see that your trip to our resort was your best vacation ever and we hope to see you and your husband again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Hotel was really fantastic all around. The location is excellent, the beach has some rough waves at times but very pretty, and the rooms are clean in great condition. The grounds are fantastic, from the moment you get to the lobby and look out, you feel like you are in tropical paradise. We initially booked at maho stayed one night...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank B G
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear B G, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're pleased to see you had a great experience with us and that your enjoyed our resort overall. We can't wait to see you back again. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Monroe, Michigan
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We came in a little early and they had cool towels and champagne waiting for us while we checked in. We were in the pool with drinks within 20 minutes of arriving and had the option of being in the ocean too. This is a great adult resort and within walking distance to downtown Philipsburg. The staff is very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jimmy S
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy S, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our adults-only resort, the delicious food served and relaxing atmosphere. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Toronto, On
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We (2 couples) stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay in St. Maarten May 28-June 4, 2015. The hotel is rated a 4, I suppose the hotel itself might be a little dated but the friendliness of the staff and the food made it a 6+! We were expecting a smaller resort after viewing the website, it was smaller but, it...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Sandgram
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sandgram, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We are so happy to see you had the best time at our resort and that you will be coming back to see us next year! Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort...

Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I stayed at this lovely resort with my three best friends at the beginning of this month. We had the BEST experience ever! All of the people at Sonesta made us feel so welcomed & safe! By the end of the trip, they felt like our 2nd family & we didn't want to leave! The food, the drinks, the overall...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Corynne P
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Corynne P, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad to see you had an absolutely wonderful time with us and we hope you will be returning soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I had the best vacation here. The staff was so friendly and courteous. The cleanliness of the resort was amazing and the beach is one of the best on the island. It's a short walk to all the shops. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is going away to relax and is looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Rosa D
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rosa D, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so glad to see you and your husband had the best vacation here with us and we hope to see you both back again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

We came to Sonesta Great Bay for a peaceful relaxing vacation and we got exactly that. We have absolutely no complaints. rooms were clean,staff was friendly andattentive, and we loved the food! We had meals in all the places we could and we loved them all. I heard that the one side of the hotel can be quite noisy, but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Palmcoast11
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dear Palmcoast11, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad you had a perfect getaway to our resort and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Overall the resort was good. We did have some issues with the room and checking in. When we checked in the couple with us had a junior suite with a butler after seeing their room we tried to upgrade to what they had but they would not give us what the current internet rate was for that room. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Joel W
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Joel W, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had an overall good time with us and appreciate all of your valuable comments as we have gone over them with our Management Team. We do hope you will come back to see us again in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach...

Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Not too far from the airport. Beautiful resort. We paid for an island view king on an upper floor. We requested a king via email to the hotel directly a couple weeks before. Check-in was a breeze but when I inquired about what type of bed we had and that we requested a king, things changed. I was told by...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Mary0216
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary0216, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're disappointed you did not have a better time with us and assure you we have gone over your review with our Management Team and hope you will come back again so we can restore your confidence in us. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Cleo..Alex..ruby..Yolanda..Germaine..Nigel..Akeem..Michael bartender..francette...jardin...denroi....the gentlemen in casino.. The friendly guy server in the breakfast Buffett.... Always smiling...the jet skii guy... All a plus people everyone was sorry if I forgot some names but whoever worked from July 4 to July 10 was wonderful staff and we had a great honeymoon, good food, good service, and gorgeous view! I loved watching denroi make...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Vrburke
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so glad to see you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our staff, food, service and overall resort. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

3,239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2715)
Viewed
View from Room (258)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (634)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (405)
Viewed
Room/Suite (258)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Dining (173)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (931)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,713 reviews
1.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
10.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: €264 - €557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
494 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (494)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely go for ocean front”
 of 5 bubbles G684XHmaryc, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The bedroom suites all were lovely with fantastic views of ocean .”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenannk2016, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“516 miserable. Very musty smelling. Bathroom fixtures outdated, very uncomfortable. Get Ocean/beach view. Get newly renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles stevenoyes87, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is the best, higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles 135marlar, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the Beach side. Do not stay on the 1st floor..”
 of 5 bubbles matthewbraun33, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5