We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Coast Road, Colombette, Soufriere St. Lucia
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (653)
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (227)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Soufriere
La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia.Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea.
Read more


Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
West Coast Road, Colombette, Soufriere St. Lucia
Getting there
George F. L. Charles Airport19 kmSee all flights
Hewanorra Airport18 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
512Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 155
  • 41
  • 17
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jasaew wrote a review Mar 2020
Norton, Massachusetts21 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed at La Haut for a short vacation. The hotel is very nice, great views and friendly staff. Room is comfortable, with celling fan and balcony .with views of pitons and water. Infinity pool is great. Restaurant open for lunch and breakfast, food very good. Several good restaurants in town but requires car or taxi. La Haut is. Comfortable but not handicapped accessible I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Eric G wrote a review Mar 2020
Cave Creek, Arizona162 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed in Cashew 1 (room name). The room was very spacious. The back porch was also large with spectacular views of the Pitons. Such views were also accessible at many points on the property. The infinity edge pool was a wonderful way to cool off while enjoying the same views . Breakfast was not buffet but served. We were served a plate of fruit, a basket of toast and given a choice of howto have our eggs prepared. We had a rental car parked right outside the room. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Paul C wrote a review Mar 2020
Roydon, United Kingdom29 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a 2 week stay in a room with a balcony. The veiws were amazing overlooking soufriere & the pitons, the room was large & clean & staff very helpful & friendly. On site was a lovely breakfast area with the same veiws & hummingbirds in trees, while a walk down the wooded site led to a field with donkeys & then a pool with great veiws over the town & pitons. The kitchen area was a bit dated but did not matter as the whole site had character & was not a sterile touristy resort which we did not want. The breakfast was a buffet with a comprehensive choice & staff very efficient & friendly. We loved this area as we were able to go up in the mountains & rain forests to explore the real St lucia off the tourist hot spots, with the local villagers so friendly & readily willing to show you their daily lives. Our most memorable day was visiting Silvalus on the Grand Eden Estate watching the st lucia parrots.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
GW_Hoffman wrote a review Feb 2020
Leola, Pennsylvania32 contributions56 helpful votes
If you want to sleep, this is not the place. - Dogs barking at all hours of the night. Employees talking LOUDLY at night and in the morning. Lots of road noise. Blinding light coming from the "Snack Bar" all night long, shut the curtains to keep out light and noise, also keep out the cool nighttime air, (which I wanted but could not because of all the NOISE and LIGHT) This place not clean either - Spider webs in corner of the shower, they were there all week long and getting bigger. The cleaning lady didn't even show up one day. I even purposely left dirt on the floor to see if it would be cleaned up, nope, did not happen. So what did they do besides make the bed? Customer service? - This is not the place. The check-in lady is there but shows no emotion whatsoever. The "Snack Bar" was supposed to be open every day, except it wasn't. Only open three of the seven nights, one night I watched as employees were talking loudly at the snack bar and someone came by to get something and they turned him away. Did I mention dogs barking and loud employees? How about a dirty pool? Yep, the main pool was dirty, green and hazy. The, clean, infinity pool at the owner's place is only open till 5 PM. This place is run down. Hot water? yes only after you ask for it in our room, another couple had zero hot water for over four days, they complained but said nothing was done about it. The place is run down and needs serious work and renovations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4 Helpful votes
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Gerald Hoffman, Dear Mr Jerry, Thank you for taking the time and posting your review of your experience at La Haut Resort. We value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are sorry to learn that you had issues with quite a number of things which you did not make us aware of at any time during your stay with us, we would have been happy to address them if it was brought to our attention. We are doing everything in our power to ensure that these issues does not occur again with any other guests. It is great to know there was something which you enjoyed which is the infinity pool which is open from 8 am to 5 pm daily. We are currently working on all what you have mentioned in your review to ensure that it does not affect others. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. Best Regards, The La Haut Resort Team.
Read more
Senka T wrote a review Feb 2020
9 contributions
My husband and I stayed 7 days at one of the Cashew rooms. Room is spacious, terrace is large with breathtaking views. WiFi was amazing in our room and on the terrace, a bit off at the restaurant which is not a big deal at all. Our room had everything we needed. We understood this is a 2 star resort, however staying at Cashew room exceeded our expectations and definitely has a great value for money. Having breakfast included felt so great. Every morning we would walk to a something you can describe as a homemade food. Omelette is made in front of you, always great choice of muffins, fruits (I loved watermelon), then juices, coffee, cocoa tea, regular tea, cereals, fruit yogurt... really great selection and we loved the taste of everything. Nothing was pretentious, but very rich and tasty. We liked relaxed island service, no pressure and always with a smile. Resort serves lunch which we have not tried as we were always on the go, but having a snack bar opened until 8pm has been a life savior at moments. We loved ham and cheese sandwich!! And two girls that work there (that we met) were super friendly and nice. Infinity pool is definitely the best spot!! Early morning swim, chilling in the sunset or just being there at any moment- you can never get bored of looking at the pitons. Another great thing is that pool is never too crowded. Staff that works at the property is always friendly, saying hi and always there to help. All in all- one great experience and something that we would recommend for everyone that is looking for a nature inspired stay. Thank you again, Glenda, for making our stay great!! Senka & Niko
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Ms Senkat/Mr Niko, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at La Haut Resort. Thank you so much for the excellent picture you have painted of our property we greatly appreciate it.These are the things we want our guests to experience with us. I am especially proud of you referring to our staff as friendly and that they are what truly makes a difference. Our hotel has a family and home feeling to it and we enjoy the opportunity to make a personal experience for each and every guest. Also, we do appreciate you mentioning everything that made your day special. We were happy we exceeded your expectations and cannot wait to host you in the future. One again thank you for your great recommendation to other travellers. Best Regards, The La Haut Resort Team
Read more
CaribbeanSt. LuciaSoufriere QuarterSoufriere
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Haut Resort
Which popular attractions are close to La Haut Resort?
Nearby attractions include En Bas Saut Trail (1.0 km) and Church of the Assumption (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Haut Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Haut Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Haut Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Haut Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Haut Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Beacon Restaurant, Fedo's, and Orlando's Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Haut Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does La Haut Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, La Haut Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Haut Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to La Haut Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Balenbouche Estate Heritage Site (12.0 km).
Does La Haut Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.