We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

San Juan International Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
San Juan International Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 46: English reviews
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2016

first, it feels like being home, a regular house, not like a hotel....I like that, and it has everything you need, strong internet, close to city buses, a walk to walmart, a walk to the movies, a walk to the beaches, the neighborhood is quiet, I even sleep on the balcony and let the breeze blow, and you cannot beat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stevenscott888
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Although the communication from the hostel was great and they accommodated my late night arrival very painlessly with no additional charge, I booked a private room and the room did not have a lock!!!! Not only that, but the hotel room doors are those metal screen doors for houses... So it's like a tiny latch handle and a metal screen...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katelyn G
Puerto R, Manager at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

All our private rooms with private / locked doors More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Fransisco is a real gentleman and super friendly and helpful. The hostel is old with a lot of history, its clean and cosy! The location could be better, its walking distance to la placita, about 10 minutes I would say and 20-30 min walk to the beach. Its close to the bus stop which takes you to both beach old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frida S
Paisley, Reino Unido
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

I see a lot of bad reviews from people who didn't even get to stay here because they cancelled their reservation. Believe me, you are lucky! I stayed there for one horrible night in the girl's dorm close to the balcony. First of all, the location is awful, but oh well, you're only there for a couple of nights, you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vallano
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

Yes; we are as serious as a Heart Attack about our rules and regulations. Among other: quite time; no illegal drugs; no visitors; payment to be completed in accordance to our rules. (So far no, one steal on premises reported; among other due to our strict set of rules). To evaluate potential customers behavior (writing; calls, other), as part of... More 

Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2016

This place is literally in the ghetto. When I got there with my sister, my taxi driver waited for us to make sure we would get in to the place. When we got there it was night time and 4 other people were waiting outside the doors to get in, but no one came when the doorbell was rung. After... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KFox7
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

Although this type of response is accepted by the Trip Advisor webpage, we at SJIHostel do not consider valid or appropriate that people that did not stay with us review our services and facilities. We do know that recently two people made a reservation but refuse to make the corresponding payment in their due time without communicating any special circumstances... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Took our deposit for the room and when we arrived they said "no bed for you" and slammed the door in our faces. 5 people out of a place to stay. Not to mention a rude old lady who wouldn't help us in any way. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. Don't trust these people with your money... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ZachGirgenti
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

As one of our house rules, "payment is to be completed before 7 pm on arrival date". This is to prevent no-shows and also to serve guests that may be requesting for a last-minute accommodation. An electronic invoice is sent upon booking completed as part of the reservation confirmation process and also as a tool to facilitate payment on line... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Absolutely the worst experience I've ever had dealing with a room. Turned away 3 reservations with no explanation after paying a deposit a month in advance.. "We have no room for you" is what they "yelled" at us through the locked gate and shut the door. So I lost my deposit and the door was shut in my face. Good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad H
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

As one of our house rules, "payment is to be completed before 7 pm on arrival date". This is to prevent no-shows and also to serve guests that may be requesting for a last-minute accommodation. An electronic invoice is sent upon booking completed as part of the reservation confirmation process and also as a tool to facilitate payment on line... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

First off, I made a reservation over a month ago for 3 beds to stay there and I even paid a small deposit. The WEBSITE CLEARLY STATES IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 7PM YOU MUST PAY CASH. My friends and I arrived there at 9pm and rang the door bell multiple times. Never got an answer. There were even 2 other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dria T
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

As one of our house rules, "payment is to be completed before 7 pm on arrival date". This is to prevent no-shows and also to serve guests that may be requesting for a last-minute accommodation. An electronic invoice is sent upon booking completed as part of the reservation confirmation process and also as a tool to facilitate payment on line... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2016

San Juan International Hostel is a great place to stay and meet people from all over the world. We, a community service group from Boston, stayed here for a week and enjoyed the facilities and company. Francisco, the person in charge, is extremely kind and accommodating, he helped us out multiple times throughout the week!

Helpful?
Thank Boston111111
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2016

This place is the worst ever! Please be careful with this hostel. They are very dishonest. I booked a room for December 30, 2015 and without any further notice or reason they canceled my reservation. After calling many times, they finally answer and told me "we don't want to do business with you" and hang up on me. They didn't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Israel B
Puerto R, Owner at San Juan International Hostel, responded to this review

Since the beginning of our operation we have been very committed to our customers stay. We are not drive only because of monetary benefit, but to provide the best possible stay for our guests. It is because of this that we do take very seriously to keep the right of admission even if this mean to stop income, don't matter... More 

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.9 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#29 of 46 in San Juan
229 reviews
1.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
5.4 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,503 reviews
2.2 km away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 46 in San Juan
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to San Juan International Hostel! We are a friendly, safe, and clean hostel located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. San Juan International Hostel prides itself on offering the most affordable accommodation on the entire island! Stay one night or many, and you will instantly feel like a local. Nowhere else in San Juan can you escape the crowds and tourist traps while still being able to experience everything the city has to offer! ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Juan International Hostel

Address: 1452 Calle America, San Juan 00909-2651, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: €23 - €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Juan International Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your San Juan International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Juan International Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from San Juan International Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The second floor is more social”
 of 5 bubbles 360Kamil, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get the standard room”
 of 5 bubbles ashishbhatia_ab, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I had the A/C room and would advise it.”
 of 5 bubbles 905sharil, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are bad! No aircon, dirty windows, toilets!!”
 of 5 bubbles BackpackingAlone, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Personally, I would choose one of the rooms with AC. However, there are high powered fans in all of the rooms work great.”
 of 5 bubbles miriahk2015, 21 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay