We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Canario by the Lagoon

Save
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (15)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good44%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“front desk”(44 reviews)
“old san juan”(59 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
98
128
52
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
98
128
52
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfront deskold san juanpuerto ricorecommend ellaundry facilitiessmall balconytop floorstay there againcondado beachsmall hotelashford avenueair conditioningmini fridgewalking distancewater pressurerestaurants and shops
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I along with another couple stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend and had absolutely no complaints. We usually stay at 4 and 5 star hotels, but we wanted to save some money on this trip and had to book literally as...More

2  Thank Mistressmars
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I did really like this place, I would describe this place as cheap and cheerful. It was clean and did what it needed which was give us a comfy place to sleep by the beach. I love the location too! However, the old man at...More

1  Thank Jetsetter071
Response from John V, Owner at El Canario by the LagoonResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your business. Your comments are constructive and will be taken into consideration. I am sorry we lost power during your stay. I hope we can make it up to you some time in the future.

Reviewed 27 December 2017

We had the pleasure to stay at the hotel end of June for a week, Hans and the staff are very nice and helpful I would always stay there again, Clean rooms, breakfast was all I needed, great coffee {thanks Hans } and always friendly

Thank Marion S
Response from John V, Owner at El Canario by the LagoonResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you once again.

Reviewed 24 December 2017

I booked a room at El Canario on Expedia back in November, on Dec 06 the hotel informed Expedia that they would not be open due to a lack of power and water, which Expedia didn't inform me or refund my reservation. I called the...More

Thank Bob P
Response from John V, Owner at El Canario by the LagoonResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We have worked very hard during this crisis and certainly appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you once again in the future.

Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

We booked a reservation at this hotel in Aug/17 for our Dec/17 (Christmas week) cruise. Following the two hurricanes, I wanted to give them some time to figure things out and then proactively reached out via their FB page in early Nov/17 because their website...More

Thank Dana C
Response from John V, Owner at El Canario by the LagoonResponded 2 January 2018

I am sorry you had a bad experience. We have been doing the best we can to communicate with our customers and agencies. It is impossible for me to verify exactly what happened in your particular case, but one thing I am certain, we don't...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (15)
Pool & Beach (2)
Amenities (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
grammabeth
27 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Pedro L | Reviewed this property |
Airport is $19 US.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Higher floors will have a better view of the nearby lagoon"
Read review
"For a budget price, this is a good choice for staying in the Condado area."
Read review
"Rooms at the end of the hall away from the elevator are quieter, but there is very little noise anywhere in..."
Read review
"Book one of the rooms on the 5th floor as it comes with an extra room with a full kitchen where you can..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing