We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hosteria Del Mar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hosteria Del Mar
Hosteria Del Mar
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 346: English reviews
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This small hotel is right on the deep sandy Atlantic Ocean beach in an otherwise residential area, so it's quite safe. It's also on the end of the beach, so there's relatively more privacy than might otherwise be the case. It's only a 15 or 20 minute ride from the airport, but the planes take off in the other direction...

1Thank lautertrails
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I normally don't leave reviews for anything but this place is just terrible.To begging with, the place is in a very nice spot and this is why decided to stay there, although we should have payed attention to the reviews. Service is terrible apart from few girls at the bar, the rooms are so old and need massive upgrade, the...

Thank Jesus M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sits right at the beach. Watch the kite surfers and have a nice meal. A nice menu, great service and reasonable prices for the location! And they get extra points because later that afternoon I went to pay for coffee at another location and had left my credit card behind. A call to the restaurant confirmed they had it and...

Thank kansasrfl
Elsie H, General Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. At Hostería del Mar we are always striving to maintain our facilities and customer service on excellence. We hope to see you back very soon. Thank you.

Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 December 2016

On the positive side it was very clean, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. It was on the beach and the view from the deck/restaurant was beautiful. First reason I was disappointed is the listing mad it look like there would be a view from the room, instead the room had NO windows. Then at check in you are forced...

3Thank mccord278
Elsie H, Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Ms. McCord, Thank you for your frank and direct feedback. We appreciate that You are highlighting certain issues, we are in the process of correcting. The listing on the website does not amplify the fact, that the room You had occupied does not have much of a view. Our premium rooms have beautiful views however that is reflected in...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful view, relaxing atmosphere and great food! We almost didn't come because of a bad review but our service was great and we loved the place! They have really good appetizers, burgers and entrees. The prices were good and even better that at nearby places.

2Thank Degustapr
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I book a room with an ocean when I arrived to check in Gladys the receptionist told me that I didn't have a oceanview room my vice call and make sure you have that Romeo ordered because they will do a room swap on you

2Thank Levi C
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Service was ok, restaurant was a bit pricey, although had beach view - great breakfasts.No parking, no elevator that I remember (stayed on second floor). Portion of beach in front of hotel has a sand bar/rip currents, not a good idea to go swimming right there, but you can walk a couple minutes in any direction and its fine.

1Thank FLEOG
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Coming home after a 4 week overseas trip and finding A blackout with no power was not a dissapointing; same baggage and onto an ocean view hotel in the neighborhood residential area Hosteria del mar in Ocean Park. Checkin and service is slow however the place is very cozy and meets the needs of a world traveler if you enjoy...

1Thank Eileen P
Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for not having electric service, but the power blackout was nationwide. As an eco-friendly hotel we are committed to offer our guests a peaceful and serene ambiance during their stay. Come back and stay with us during the summer where our beach is in its peak. You may enjoy the shoreline...

Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 8 September 2016

A little food served for $60.00 was to expensive, the mofongo with shrimp we ordered I had to clean the guts out, which was nasty and really turned me off, the place is regular not classical, has a good view of the ocean, don't have much to say about this place, I really didn't like it.

Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate your feedback which is very important to us! We are very sorry your visit at our restaurant was not as expected. We are constantly reviewing our menu to meet our client's taste and preferences. Your feedback was taken in notice to improve our services. We would love to have you back as a guest...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Bed and pillow are awful! Uncomfortable My husband and I woke with backaches headache and neck ache whole weekend.They over-sale the place while needs to update all around starting from front staff is not a warming welcome. Even they are Beachfront is like being in the public beach, they don't have beach chair or umbrella we had to sit all...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate your feedback which is very important to us! We are very sorry your visit was not as expected. Since 2013 we are constantly renovating our facilities to meet our guest's needs and train our personnel to offer the best service. Our rooms...

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (192)
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Room/Suite (18)
Bathroom (12)
Hotel & Grounds (32)
View from Room (7)
Dining (13)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Beach (14)
King Room with Ocean Access (27)
King Room with Ocean View (27)
Dining (58)
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 km away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
597 reviews
3.3 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,435 reviews
2.0 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.4 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hosteria del Mar is located on the beach in one of San Juan's top touristic spots. Our ocean front rooms have an unforgettable view to the sea. All rooms have air conditioners, cable TV, Mini Bars and private baths. Try our breakfast, lunch and dinner at UVVA Restaurant where you may enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of local and International cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: €111 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hosteria Del Mar staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
10 months ago
New Milford, Connecticut

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria Del Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor with a balcony and kitchenette, overlooking the beach”
 of 5 bubbles lautertrails, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms with views to the beach - ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles FLEOG, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't see the overnight rooms, only lobby, restaurant, and wash rooms. Right on the ocean. Beautiful and tastefully decorated.”
 of 5 bubbles jmpaule, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Beach front rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ep881, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Not too sure, I think they have rooms on the second floor? Ours was right off the lobby.”
 of 5 bubbles Z9482WKdavidh, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay