We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10,362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 9,331: English reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great service, friendly. Food was very good. The entrainment staff is fabulous. We truly had a great time! The only complaint I had was it was warm in the restaurants, however it was July in Jamaica. The jerk chicken was the best I've ever had, if you go plan on eating lunch everyday at the outdoor buffet that serves the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Duffboatguy
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of our Management and staff here at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to say thank you for your positive comments and we are indeed happy to know that you have enjoyed your vacation to the fullest. We do appreciate that you enjoyed especially the service of our entertainment staff, our famous Jamaican jerk...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked a family vacation at this resort and it was acceptable, however the hotel is at best a very good four-star and definitely not a five-star as they have branded themselves, even on the entrance wall outside the premises. The pictures of the property that are on the Internet and on the hotel’s website are accurate the property is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Orville M
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear User of Trip Advisor, Thank you for taking the time out to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. Your opinion is of great help to us to improve on our facilities and service. We do take note of your concerns regarding the service in the buffet area, time share and maintenance issues...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the outside looking in, fantastic but once you peel back the layers, this place begins to stink. I had a great time vacationing with my neice. But, the food was subpar, the rooms had broken lamp shades, luke warm refrigerator and lastly, we had to keep a key in the slot that controlled the electricity so that the ac...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilove2step
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We would like to extend our apologies for any inconvenience that was cause and take your feedback areas for improvement. Yours Respectfully, Cassandra Gentles Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A few reviews stated the ride from the airport was only 20 minutes, but it is more like 45 - 1 hour. Let me start by saying the people of Jamaica are wonderful, the staff for the most part were extremely friendly. If you arrive early please do not expect your room to be ready anytime before the 3:00 check...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank hd77
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience on Trip Advisor. It is very important for us to know our guests opinion to help us to improve our services and standard of our hotel. We are very sorry for the situations that happen and we do apologize for any inconvenience cause. It is a pleasure...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I travelled to GBP Jamaica to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the main part of the resort (no upgrades). The bus ride to the resort from the airport was about 1.5 hours. The driver was amazing. He spoke very good english and spent the whole trip describing the countryside and telling us about life...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CBJK102
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is very important for us to know all our guests are completely satisfy with their stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the room, beach, Japanese, garden grill, Picasso, palmyra restaurant, gym and entertainment. We also would like to thank you for sharing your...

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent one week at Gran Bahia in April 2014 with 4 other couples. The check-in was quick and organized. We arrived before the room was ready, but they offered us access to the pool, and of course, the bar. The rooms are clean and comfortable, probably 4-star, but quite far from the lobby and breakfast buffet. Prepare to do...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fletchje
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear User of Trip Advisor, First we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica the best resort to stay in Jamaica. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the room, resturants, pool & beach. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed the stay here with us and we are looking forward...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Vee/ Bryan, Toronto, Canada stayed with my husband July 29- August 1, 2014 hotel is very clean everything was at our finger tip. only complain is there was no entertainment on the beach, the main buffet is too small and we have to stand in line until a table was ready. then we were giving a table both my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bryan346
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us and it’s very good to know that you are happy with your stay. We also thank you for your observations and valuable suggestions. It is very good for us to know our guest opinion so that we can improve on our facilities and services....

NY
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Although Bahia Principe is a beautiful resort with lovely people, this is the first time I have been on vacation and couldn't wait to get home. Good points -- pool is huge and beautiful. Beach is nice as well. Most staff proved to be pleasant. Bad points -- WAAAY too hot everywhere. The restaurants need to be air conditioned. Every...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gyrlieNY
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback about your stay with us at our Hotel Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our beach and pool. In regarding your disliked we will be forwarding your comments to the related departments’ heads to take them into consideration. We are deeply sorry for you & your family...

Toronto
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was lovely, the people were lovely. But the place is just too large, and has too many other guests. The Buffet is a sort of rat race, though tasty. The a la carte restaurants --- we went to the "Japanese" one, the Mikado. It was pretty bad, considering. The Japanese restaurant at a 4 star hotel in Cancun,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PedroDeToronto
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for your positive remarks. It is always important to us to know our guest are satisfied with the level of service that we had provided them with. We are pleased to know that apart from the few issues that you have mentioned that you were satisfied otherwise. We do hope that...

Concord, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely resort with excellent food and beautiful grounds, pool and beach. Recommend going to the jerk chicken grill by the beach but was not a fan of the Mikado Japanese restaurant. Special thank you to the waitresses at Orquídea restaurant for making my mom's 65th birthday celebrations so very special. The only reason I did not give this hotel a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison M
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are grateful to know that you had a nice vacation in our hotel and you have enjoyed the beach, pool, jerk chicken, food and the ground. We thank you for vacationing with us and hope to see you again soon, in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. Yours sincerely, Cassandra Gentles Grand Bahia...

11,246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10996)
Viewed
View from Room (661)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2497)
Viewed
Dining (840)
Viewed
Room/Suite (945)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2343)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (169)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (30)
Viewed
Other (3405)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite ocean view (2)
Viewed
Lobby (1)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.0 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
84.7 km away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
62.9 km away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 62 in Montego Bay
6,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
56.6 km away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,710 reviews
44.3 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 8 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 850 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Price Range: €181 - €432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica staff and other travellers.
1,314 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (1314)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View from all rooms seemed good.”
 of 5 bubbles scottmush, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View Rooms”
  • My date was wrong on my camera this was taken on Feb. 13, 2017 from our balcony.
 of 5 bubbles Laurie2132017, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front room is best”
  • Valentines Day
  • great cleaning staff
  • room 11608 view
 of 5 bubbles 153carlys, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont waste your money on the luxury side; just as bad!”
 of 5 bubbles HockeyDude62, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ocean view!”
 of 5 bubbles Sharla65, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5