We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We originally booked at Sunset on the Beach which was overbooked so we were transferred to Sunset on the Cliffs. June (the owner) took every effort to make sure we were taken care of. Our group of 8 had side by side rooms on the second floor, all with beautiful views. Two of the rooms had a fridge and microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wannagetoutatown
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just wanted to gives a big thank you to the whole Sunset on the Cliffs staff for again making my 5 week stay a complete delight. This was my 7th year back at this resort & as reported by the folks from Vermont it is very relaxing property that yes could have a little touch up here & there, but...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ROOSTA1950
Jericho, Vermont
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Ok so this place needs some tlc, If you are looking for The Ritz Carlton you don't belong here . We visited March 2-9 2014 Our room and it's patio overlook the aqua sea 25 feet away. The dinning area/bar was adjacent to the pool deck was elevated one level next to our block of rooms with the same incredible...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank johnjackgallag
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Room was in sad shape. A/C unit was extremely loud. No coffee available at breakfast. Horribly slow service. Difficult to get waited on. Bar was terrible and seemed like liquor was watered down. Bed was uncomfortable. Only good thing about the place is the view from the cliff it sits on.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NitroxNancy
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry we ran out of coffee temporarily, but this is definitely not the norm. We also apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Sunset on the Cliffs was recently put under new management and we are working very hard to improve standards in every area. Thank you for staying with us.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Don't think that because you booked your reservation 5 months in advance and pre-paid for it through a third party site like Expedia that when you actually arrive you will have a place to stay. They told us when we arrived that they were full and we did not have a room and we would have to stay at their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CCC6601
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry about your experience. We were having problems with our booking system, but are working to correct them. We agree you should have received some compensation for this inconvenience. We have a new manager at Sunset on the Cliffs and he will be working with the team to improve customer service.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This resort is seriously lacking in many areas. Although I paid in advance for 3 people they said I only paid for 2 and then told me I would need to pay again. They tried to sell me an internet card so I could prove that I had a reservation for 3. Staff not very friendly. A/C didn't work in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karen a
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review

If any of our staff members were unfriendly to you, we apologize. We will have a staff meeting with our team to talk about this. Our employees should be respectful and helpful to guests at all times. It would have been good if you had reported this staff member while you were staying with us, so we could have handled...

Negril Harbour, Westmoreland, Jamaica
Reviewed 11 January 2014

well Im glad i went back hear went there in dec 2013.everything good very laid back pool in great shape would recommed it to anybody very good. safe clean people nice been going there for over 10yrs.thanks agian to june.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank unclebuck340
Avon Park
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Upon arrival I was advised that although I did have confirmed reservations for this resort, they were closing the bar, restaurant, and office at 5pm! Wow! I was told I was being moved to the beach resort and that they had been doing this for about 5 months. It would have been nice if they had conveyed this to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leprechaunshag
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Definitely will not recommend. Not too cheap but poor service. I booked Sunset on the Cliffs (and had printed reservation from hotel), but hotel had information I booked Sunset on the Beach. No computers on receptions of both hotels. No lunch in time and lunch is poor. Some girl said she will help us as still no personnel for lunch....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dmytro G
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We agree that poor service is totally unacceptable. As a paying guest, you have a right to expect high standards of customer service and we clearly disappointed you. It would have been good if you had reported the staff member who was unhelpful to our General Manager so we could have handled the situation right...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I spent 5 nights at this resort last week. Reading the reviews I knew what to expect. Upon arrival I was told the restaurant and bar are closed and they had no date as to when it would open. They said I could take a transfer to the beach for breakfast. I specifically requested room 705. Glad I did. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank atw2atl

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
5.2 km away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
383 reviews
2.0 km away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#53 of 84 in Negril
279 reviews
2.4 km away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
183 reviews
1.5 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
1,295 reviews
0.9 km away
The Oasis Resort
The Oasis Resort
#61 of 84 in Negril
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Price Range: €671 - €876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset on the Cliffs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset on the Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Cliffs Hotel Negril
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset on the Cliffs Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset on the Cliffs Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a working A/C and room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles X3848VQmatthewc, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean side rooms are gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles mikesP3646LS, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“DON'T Book here, this hotel does not exist.”
 of 5 bubbles Suzanne0888, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Seaview room”
 of 5 bubbles AddenaS, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are amazing! You're right on the water.”
 of 5 bubbles Bottombet, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5