We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lot 59A Freeport, Montego Bay Jamaica
26 people are viewing this hotel
Official Site
US$748
View deal
Booking.com
US$748
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$364
View deal
Hotels.comUS$747
Expedia.comUS$747
EtripUS$838
View all 22 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (9327)
Pool & Beach (2445)
Room & Suite (1783)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#20 of 76 hotels in Montego Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
If you’re looking for a luxury all-inclusive resort in Montego Bay, look no further than Secrets St. James Montego Bay. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Harbour Street (1.9 mi) and Blessed Sacrament Cathedral (2.0 mi), guests of Secrets St James Hotel can easily experience some of Montego Bay's most well known attractions. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Secrets St. James Montego Bay offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including room service and a concierge. Guests of Secrets St James Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a pool and breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. If you like barbeque restaurants, Secrets St. James Montego Bay is conveniently located near Pork Pit and MVP Smokehouse. Montego Bay is also known for some great marinas, including Montego Bay Yacht Club and Montego Bay Marine Park, which are not too far from Secrets St James Hotel. The staff at Secrets St. James Montego Bay looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit. We’re committed to redefining your travel journey with our best-in-class CleanComplete Verification™ practices. While health and safety have always been our top priorities, these new protocols further elevate our standards of quality and cleanliness, enabling you to vacation at any AMResorts® property with the ultimate peace of mind. Our 360-degree quality, safety and hygiene system takes into account every aspect of resort operations, backed by the highest-level third-party certification. We will be evolving and innovating our procedures continuously and will share the newest developments as they are implemented. Our protocols begin the moment you start planning a vacation to the time you return home! To learn more about our quality, safety and hygiene practices, please search for AMResorts CleanComplete Verification™ in your favorite browser.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern
8861Reviews1205Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5,553
  • 1,916
  • 817
  • 330
  • 247
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
rob d wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Stayed at Secrets on a business trip for 2 nights. It was the usual high comfort and great service. A piece of advice is use the Amstar desk for your airport transfer as it’s much better value for the short journey than the hotel taxi option. I had an added complication of my flight being cancelled but Patricia McKenzie at the Amstar desk was incredibly helpful and very supportive and got me sorted and on the right transfer bus. Thank you Patricia !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tatyana G wrote a review Yesterday
The bell services and food was amazing. Everyone was super friendly and welcoming. Clean, warm, and all round fantastic service. Bell man Jamaal was so helpful and friendly and made our stay even better!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gary H wrote a review 1 Dec
Monroe, New Jersey49 contributions21 helpful votes
This resort is very big. Most of the restaurants are at the end of the resort. If you happen to be staying at the other end, like we were, be prepared to do a lot of walking between your room and restaurants and entertainment. It seems the bars have a daily limit of bottles of top shelf liquor, when the bottle is empty no more till the next day. The staff are vrey friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elisa L wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very very disappointed in my 4th stay at secrets resort. My first day at the world cafe breakfast buffet I grabbed my plate and put a scoop of veggies and here comes a roach crawling on top of my food. At lunch the next day the area that has the bread on elevated platters had several roaches crawling underneath it. All of the sandwiches at the Coco cafe are made with buffet bread so I couldn't eat any of the bread any time it was served to me, I just couldn't stop seeing those roaches crawling under those trays. At the Jamaican blue mountain cafe, in the same building I shook pepper on to my plate to see if it was salt or pepper and a bug came out but no pepper. The next day I reported the issues in a very quiet and professional manner not to disturb guests or cause a scene and explained the situation in detail and this was my 4th stay here. They thanked me for my patience and promised to resolve it. Overall the food was absolutely terrible. We have never been so hungry. Every meal was a rehash of old buffet items from breakfast and lunch. I had the nicoise salad from Bordeaux and it was a molded pile of mashed potatos from the buffet, 2 black olives, a quarter if a hard boiled egg and a very sad 1 inch piece of raw tuna. The blue mountain restaurant had an ackee spring roll with the marinara from the crappy cheese sticks from room service and balsmic dressing. For $700 a night the food better be good and the room service better be fast and the room service took over an hour and a half every single time we ordered it and when it got there it was so terrible we never even ended up eating it. All of that would have been fine if someone hadn't came into my room when I wasn't there and stolen items out of my room. We left for dinner off the resort for 2 hours when we came to our room we noticed that items were missing and we started panicking and yelling about it we went down to the lobby to try to resolve it and a loss prevention officer ended up coming to our room and telling us that he couldn't do anything about the items that were stolen and that guests have been complaining that we were being loud So right then and there I got the picture that they were not going to help us. The day that we checked out we repeated that someone was in the room and we wanted to see camera footage of who entered our room in the 2 hours that we were gone because we had the do not disturb light on. A manager came and explained to me that no one would have stolen those items from our room and that they needed to search our luggage to make sure that the items were not in in our luggage.We had already packed our luggage and it was sitting out in front where everyone was checking in and they're sitting there putting on a pair of gloves to dig through our luggage and it looked like we stole something. It was extremely humiliating and so my husband told them that they were not going to be able to search our luggage immediately upon saying that the manager stormed away and refused to speak to us yelling the word's case closed while he was walking away. There is another review a few months ago here where a girl was basically interrogated when her items were sold out of her room the same thing happened to us when I got home and read her review I could not believe what I was reading they treated us the exact same way as if we were criminals when items were stolen out of our room there is a camera directly outside of our door they could have easily pulled the camera up however they chose not to and I have asked them to email me the information from when they review the cameras and I've heard nothing back from them I will be going directly to corporate as soon as possible. The management smiles in your face but absolutely only care about keeping appearances and couldn't care less about these issues . They absolutely tried to intimidate us and embarrassed us in front of other guests, in front of people we have met that work there, it was a really sad way to end a very expensive trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tom D wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
19 friends and family went to Secrets St. James in Montego Bay for our daughter's wedding. The best time was had by all. The staff made sure that everyone was taken care of personally. Everything from the accommodations and the food and drinks to the service was outstanding. A very special thank you to Andrae at Bar Manatee, Everet at the Marlin Bar and especially Shakeena at the Coco Cafe who made us the best espresso every day.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Some restaurants claim to require only long pants for men but shorts were accepted everywhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Smith, Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tom, Thank you so much for sharing your review of Secrets St. James. The hotel is pleased to note that you had a lovely stay and we will be sure to pass your kind sentiments to all the staff mentioned. They will be equally pleased to hear that they were able to contribute to your positive experience with us. We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to welcome you back home! Thank you again for visiting Secrets St. James. Kind regards, Serene Lloyd
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shantell B wrote a review Nov 2022
Family trip to help for a much needed getaway. I travelled with (3) couples and we had a blast and will plan to return soon. 1) hotel was clean and rooms were nice. We started off in one room and asked for a change the next day. They quickly honored our request and moved us to the fourth floor to enjoy some of the amazing views sea. The cleaning crews always kept our quarters nice with an abundance of towels and a well stocked mini bar 2) food was ok but I didn’t go there just for the food. There was an array of different restaurants to chose from most of which didn’t require an advance reservation. Only hibachi table needed a reservation so we just sat at regular table. For thanksgiving day, they really brought in foods that catered to the holiday…jerk chicken stations were in an abundance too One thing they could improve on is increasing number of wait staff at the restaurants to minimize your wait. There were many evenings we would have a wait for a table to be seated but the venue had tons of open seating. Perhaps if they had more wait staff, guests could be seated upon arrival with no wait 3) tons of activities to do while at the hotel to cater to your needs. For me, I’m perfectly ok with doing nothing but they had pool side DJ, special parades on Tksgiving, live music and other festive activities including fire performance that ended with fireworks. Since this was an adult only spot, we loved not having any kids running around!! 4) waitstaff was great. Very cordial and always complimentary. They made you feel welcomed, at home and did their best to honor your requests. We just loved “Daniel”, he was our wait staff at the beach. He kept me hydrated with water and Those Miami vice. And we loved Jamaal..the bellman at hostess stand. His smiles, interactions and dialogue with customers helped set the tone for our days. We really felt safe.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Smith, Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Shantell, Thank you so much for sharing the review about your recent stay. It was a pleasure reading your kind words about your stay at Secrets St. James. We are glad we were able to make your vacation a memorable one. The additional feedback that you have provided is greatly appreciated and will be used to make relevant improvements in the areas highlighted. Thank you again for visiting Secrets St. James and we look forward to welcoming you home. Best regards, Serene Lloyd
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My wife and I looked forward to this vacation for an anniversary celebration and added the anniversary package when I made the reservations for out 7th trip to Jamaica. We have stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid two times previously with our sons and their partners. Both trips were fantastic. This trip we could not get the Wild Orchid but received an Oceanview at the St James. When we arrived, we were able to upgrade to an Oceanfront room. All looked promising. We got to our room and started unpacking. We noticed there were 2 robes but there was only 1 pair of slippers. There were no bathroom glasses, no drinking glasses but a full fridge of drinks. We called and asked for these items. That evening we did not receive the Turndown Service. The previous two times we stayed at the resort, all of us received turndown in each of the rooms. I used the AMR app to request the service going forward but it was not until day 7 that we received it. I mentioned that we had the anniversary package, but we had to go and ask for it to be provided. At check-in we were assured that it will be fulfilled during our stay. (Turndown service was also included). We had to ask for the bottle of champagne, the room service breakfast, (the dishes were left in the “Secret Box” for over 20 hours before they were picked up) and no anniversary banner on the door as promised. During this time, we did not receive replacement glasses so we got glasses from the bar and washed them ourselves and hid them so that they would not be taken away. The cushions on the two balcony seats were filthy. We turned them upside down to not sit on the padded side of the seat. The 3 hall lights in the room as we entered did not work, and the privacy light did was out of commission also. When we told them about the problems, the front desk offered the suggestion that the workers did not go in the room because maybe our privacy light was on. Again, I told her, it is also not working. We had to call 3 times and finally they were fixed. Towels and toiletries also were not replaced. There were a couple of times that we returned from the beach and our room was not cleaned(4pm). We were told our room was not on the list and that was because our housekeeper was off! No replacement scheduled?????? We had to keep complaining about each of these service deficiencies for almost 7d ays and even when the front desk manager stepped in and called housekeeping, we still did not have the level of services we had expected. I will say the last four days of the vacation had fewer problems than the first 7 days. All the above happened in a room that we upgraded to. We paid almost $1000 more for this Ocean front room. The view was fantastic but when we went back into the room what we got in service did not warrant the upgrade fee. Other aspects of the resort were OK but not outstanding. The staff at breakfast were not very friendly and we felt that we were bothering them. They were not quick to come to the table in most situations. The staff in the evening seemed to be a little better. The resort did give us a $150 credit to use in their shops along with coffee and a bottle of rum. This gesture was appreciated but we would have preferred to have service like our previous 2 stays. There were some very nice staff members we met. I truly feel that the management of the various departments are not doing a good job (particularly housekeeping) We have travelled all over the Caribbean and stayed in many fine resorts. I really did not see a lot of managers or supervisors interacting with guests. Good managers work along staff when the need arises and not sit back in their offices saying there is problem. You just have to read how many reviews bring up issues such as ours. Very disappointing trip with needless oversights that could be corrected very simply and quickly
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Haley Gonzalez wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Jamaica is definitely a beautiful place so it’s hard to complain. But I will say after being at another secrets resort last year, I had high expectations because of how well we were treated. We came to Montego Bay as an anniversary trip and were super excited. There were some exceptional staff members that took care of us completely like how we were remembered. Jamal, our Bellman, went above and beyond to take care of us and make us feel welcomed and special. After an issue we had, he was thorough in making sure it was corrected for us. Edward was another bellman who took care of my messed up dirty shoes after an excursion and completely cleaned them like they were brand new! Daniel, our bartender, also was very kind and helpful. Some major cons: room service took over 2 hours consistently to be delivered. One time they forgot to deliver room service in the morning before an excursion. We didn’t have time to get food and coffee before leaving for the day so this was a big disappointment. The major thing was planning our breakfast in bed for our anniversary. We verified with two people in registration that it was 11/18 and somehow we weren’t put on the list and the window had passed. They fixed it two days later but that special moment wasn’t the same. Lots of inconsistencies or poor communication amongst staff. We had two reservations (our original booking and then two complimentary nights from our anniversary certificate that was gifted to us from Secrets Maroma Beach) and they spoke to us three different times about it because it wasn’t handled the first time. Housekeeping thought we were late for checkout… it was stressful and frustrating. Room service was inconsistent with the privacy light. When it was on, some would still knock super loud and not put the food in the secrets box. Or the light was off so we expected the knock but they left our food in the box and it stayed there for over an hour without us knowing. Some employees seemed short fused at the Barefoot grill. Not as inviting as we remembered. I love Secrets as a company and believe the customer service can be excellent (Secrets Maroma Beach set a high bar!). I loved Jamaica as well and the beaches were beautiful and lovely. But the service wasn’t as good overall as I had anticipated.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Smith, Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, It is with great sadness that we learn of an overall disappointing experience, for which we cannot but offer our sincerest apologies. We would have loved for your sentiments to have been all positive but have noted the factors that have led to this alternate outcome. There are several details in your review that are concerning as they deviate from our normal level of service and attitudes. As part of our process, all leaders have received your feedback and are conducting a thorough review to investigate and address the issues you have shared. We remain focused on providing all our valued guests with excellent service. We are thrilled that you were able to receive great service from the team members you mentioned in your review. I hope in the future you will give us the opportunity to redeem your confidence in our resort and services. Best regards, Serene Lloyd
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos G wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
Our stay here was beautiful, but there were a couple things that were a little bit annoying. Love being in Jamaica. Love the resort, but I think there was communication issues most the time we were here. Our anniversary breakfast did not come on our anniversary because of either mixed miscommunication or someone forgot. Our room service took two hours to get to our room. Then when we would order to get the dishes cleaned up, it would take two days to finally get them to clean. But we would have to call the front desk in order for it to happen. There were some amazing staff here which I would like to commend. Jamal our bellman was amazing. He went above and beyond anything that we needed. Edward, another bellman also went above and beyond for us and clean my wife shoes when he noticed they were covered in mud. Andreen, at the front desk, was super friendly, super helpful, and we appreciate her helping us get our room and everything set up. Daniel ,at the bar, made some amazing things was super funny.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Smith, Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Carlos, Thank you so much for sharing the review about your recent stay. Secrets St. James is pleased to note that you had a lovely stay enhanced by the service quality received from the team members you mentioned. The additional feedback that you have provided is greatly appreciated and will be used to make relevant improvements in the areas highlighted. Thank you again for visiting Secrets St. James and we look forward to welcoming you home. Best regards, Serene Lloyd
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paddy wrote a review Nov 2022
Blackburn, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was our second visit to Jamaica having had a great experience at another hotel. Having just retired we were happy to splash out for an even better experience. The hotel itself is lovely with great rooms and wonderful beach and related activities. Number 1 disappointment was the food - generally poor in every specialty restaurants. Tasteless, mass catered, lack of variety. I was even served what looked like a microwaved watery seafood bouillabaisse. There is no buffet restaurant at this hotel. The cocktails were poor and essentially consisted of a slushy with rum/spirit poured on top. Attitude of staff was sometimes very poor - enough to make a visitor uncomfortable. Would I go to another secret resort - answer - NO
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Smith, Sales at Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you so much for sharing the review about your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read that you found our suites, amenities and property beautiful. The additional feedback that you have provided is greatly appreciated and will be used to make relevant improvements in the areas highlighted. I hope in the future we will have the opportunity to redeem your confidence in our resort and services. Best regards, Serene Lloyd
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$368 - US$714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
secrets st james hotel montego bay
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint James ParishMontego Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
350
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SECRETS ST. JAMES MONTEGO BAY - UPDATED 2022 All-inclusive Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Jamaica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Nearby attractions include Fantasy Tours Jamaica (3.3 km), Rocklands Bird Sanctuary (near Montego Bay) (3.8 km), and Rastafari Indigenous Village (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tokyo Jo's, Juici Patties, and The Houseboat Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Secrets St. James Montego Bay have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Secrets St. James Montego Bay offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Secrets St. James Montego Bay have airport transportation?
Yes, Secrets St. James Montego Bay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Secrets St. James Montego Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Secrets St. James Montego Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.